Office Of Community Living Acronym Glossary

Welcome to the Office of Community Living (OCL) Acronym Glossary!
 

Searching the List

To search the list, type any part of the name or acronym you seek into the search bar at the top of each column. Example: To search for acronyms that have the word "disability" in them, type "disability" above the "Full Text" column to show all relevant acronyms.
 

We Invite Stakeholder Additions or Corrections

Please submit any additions or corrections using this form, or send an email to John Barry or reach him by phone at 303-866-3173.
 

Additional Resource

Long-Term Services and Supports - Benefits and Services Glossary

 

Click any column header to sort the text numerically or alphabetically.    

Acronym
Full Text
Notes
Website Link
AAA Area Agency on Aging    
ACA Affordable Care Act    
ACF Alternative Care Facility    
ACC Accountable Care Collaborative A system redesign initiative by HCPF  
ACO Accountable Care Organization An organization within the ACC project  
ADA Americans with Disabilities Act    
ADAPT American Disabled for Attendant Programs Today An advocacy organization for people living with disabilities  
ADL Activities of Daily Living    
ADRC Aging and Disability Resource Center   https://cdhs.colorado.gov/our-services/older-adult-services/state-unit-on-aging/aging-and-disability-resources-for-colorado
ALR Assisted Living Residences   https://cdphe.colorado.gov/assisted-living-residences
AR Authorized Representative    
Arc An organization that advocates for people living with intellectual or developmental disabilities (IDD). In Colorado, there is the Arc of Colorado at the state level and several local Arcs such as the Arc or Aurora, CO  
ARCH Adult Resources Care and Help Colorado's name for its Aging and Disability Resource Center (ADRC)  
ARPA American Rescue Plan Act of 2021   https://hcpf.colorado.gov/arpa
ASO Administrative Service Organization    
ASMP Attendant Support Management Plan    
AwC Agency with Choice An option for utilizing a Financial Management Service Agency within the CDASS program  
BH Behavioral Health    
BHO Behavioral Health Organization    
BI Brain Injury Waiver Also HCBS-BI https://hcpf.colorado.gov/brain-injury-waiver-bi
BUS Benefits Utilization System   https://hcpf.colorado.gov/long-term-services-and-supports-systems
CAP Corrective Action Plan Also Plan for Correction  
CAPS Colorado Adult Protective Services   https://cdhs.colorado.gov/aps
CBLTC Community-Based Long-Term Care    
CBMS Colorado Benefits Management System    
CCB Community Centered Board   https://hcpf.colorado.gov/community-centered-boards
CCDC Colorado Cross-Disability Coalition   https://ccdconline.org
CCM System Care and Case Management System    
CDAC Children's Disability Advisory Committee   https://hcpf.colorado.gov/childrens-disability-advisory-committee
CDASS Consumer-Directed Attendant Support Services   https://hcpf.colorado.gov/consumer-directed-attendant-support-services
CDCO Consumer Direct of Colorado Training Vendor providing services in the CDASS/IHSS area https://consumerdirectco.com
CDOT Colorado Department of Transportation   https://codot.gov
CDHS Colorado Department of Human Services   https://cdhs.colorado.gov
CDPHE Colorado Department of Public Health & Environment    https://cdphe.colorado.gov
CES Children's Extensive Support Waiver Also HCBS-CES https://hcpf.colorado.gov/childrens-extensive-support-waiver-ces
CFC Community First Choice option   https://hcpf.colorado.gov/community-first-choice-option
CFCM Conflict-Free Case Management   https://hcpf.colorado.gov/conflict-free-case-management
CHFA Colorado Housing & Finance Authority   https://chfainfo.com
CHCBS Children's Home and Community-Based Services Waiver Also HCBS-CHCBS https://hcpf.colorado.gov/childrens-home-and-community-based-services-waiver-chcbs
CHRP Children's Habilitation Residential Program Waiver Also HCBS-CHRP https://hcpf.colorado.gov/childrens-habilitation-residential-program-waiver-chrp
CIR Critical Incident Report   https://hcpf.colorado.gov/hcbs-waiver-critical-incident-reporting
CLAG Community Living Advisory Group Department group that met from 2012-2014  
CLASS Act Community Living Assistance Services and Supports Act    
CLLI Children with Life-Limiting Illness Waiver Also HCBS-CLLI https://hcpf.colorado.gov/children-life-limiting-illness-waiver-clli
CMA Case Management Agency Plural is CMAs  
CMHC Community Mental Health Center    
CMHI Colorado Mental Health Institute    
CMHIFL Colorado Mental Health Institute at Ft. Logan    
CMHIP Colorado Mental Health Institute at Pueblo    
CMHS Center for Mental Health Services Federal https://www.samhsa.gov/about-us/who-we-are/offices-centers/cmhs
CMHS Community Mental Health Supports Waiver Also HCBS-CMHS https://hcpf.colorado.gov/community-mental-health-supports-waiver-cmhs
CMRD Case Management Redesign    
CMS Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services Federal https://www.cms.gov
CMP Civil Money Penalty    
CPA Child Placement Agency    
CO-ACTS Colorado Access to Community Transitions & Services    
CIE Competitive Integrated Employment    
CTS Community Transition Services    
CwA Children with Autism The State of Colorado had an HCBS Children with Autism Waiver which ended in June 2018. These waiver services were incorporated into the state plan and into the Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic and Treatment (EPSDT) benefit - see EPSDT.    
DB101 Disability Benefits 101    
DBH Division of Behavioral Health    
DCW

Direct Care Worker or Direct Care Workforce

   
DCWS Division of Child Welfare Services    
DCR Designated Client Representative    
DD Developmental Disability    
DD Home and Community-Based Services Waiver for Persons with Developmental Disabilities Also HCBS-DD https://hcpf.colorado.gov/developmental-disabilities-waiver-dd
DDD Web DDD Web System A computer data system that provides program administration functions to direct service providers of individuals with intellectual and developmental disabilities, as well as to Department employees https://hcpf.colorado.gov/long-term-services-and-supports-systems
DHHS U.S. Department of Health and Human Services   https://www.hhs.gov
DHS/SS Local County Dept. of Human Services or Social Services Sometimes the state agency, CDHS, is mistakenly referred to as DHS  
DME Durable Medical Equipment    
DSP Direct Support Professional    
DOH Division of Housing Within the Colorado Department of Local Affairs https://cdola.colorado.gov/housing
DOLA Colorado Department of Local Affairs   https://cdola.colorado.gov
DPNA Denial of Payment for New Admissions    
DVR Colorado Division of Vocational Rehabilitation  Within the Colorado Department of Labor and Employment https://dvr.colorado.gov
EBD Elderly, Blind, and Disabled Waiver Also HCBS-EBD https://hcpf.colorado.gov/elderly-blind-disabled-waiver-ebd
EVV Electronic Visit Verification   https://hcpf.colorado.gov/evv
EPSDT Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic and Treatment see CwA note https://hcpf.colorado.gov/early-and-periodic-screening-diagnostic-and-treatment-epsdt
FAS Funds for Additional Services An option that formerly existed in the CDASS pilot program  
F/EA Fiscal Employer Agent model An option for using a financial Management Services agency in the CDASS program  
FFS Fee-For-Service    
FMAP Federal Medical Assistance Percentage    
FMS Financial Management Services A Department-contracted organization that helps Consumer-Directed Attendant Support Services (CDASS) participants with monitoring service allocations, compliance with labor and tax laws, hiring and paying employees, and processing criminal and Board of Nursing background checks.  https://hcpf.colorado.gov/participant-directed-programs
FSSP Family Support Services Program   https://hcpf.colorado.gov/family-support-services-program-fssp
FTP File Transfer Protocol An internet-based, electronic format to move files  
HBU Hospital Back-Up Program   https://hcpf.colorado.gov/nursing-facilities
HCA Home Care Agency A type of license  
HCBS Home and Community-Based Services    
HCBS-BI Brain Injury Waiver also BI https://hcpf.colorado.gov/brain-injury-waiver-bi
HCBS-CES Children's Extensive Support Waiver also CES https://hcpf.colorado.gov/childrens-extensive-support-waiver-ces
HCBS-CHRP Children's Habilitation Residential Program Waiver also CHRP https://hcpf.colorado.gov/childrens-habilitation-residential-program-waiver-chrp
HCBS-CLLI Children with Life-Limiting Illness Waiver also CLLI https://hcpf.colorado.gov/children-life-limiting-illness-waiver-clli
HCBS-CMHS Community Mental Health Supports Waiver also CMHS https://hcpf.colorado.gov/community-mental-health-supports-waiver-cmhs
HCBS-DD Home and Community-Based Services Waiver for Persons with Developmental Disabilities also DD https://hcpf.colorado.gov/developmental-disabilities-waiver-dd
HCBS-EBD Elderly, Blind, and Disabled Waiver also EBD https://hcpf.colorado.gov/elderly-blind-disabled-waiver-ebd-
HCBS-SCI Spinal Cord Injury Waiver also SCI https://hcpf.colorado.gov/spinal-cord-injury-waiver
HCBS-SLS Home and Community-Based Supported Living Services Waiver also SLS https://hcpf.colorado.gov/supported-living-services-waiver-sls
HCPF Colorado Department of Health Care Policy & Financing   https://hcpf.colorado.gov
HMA Health Maintenance Activities    
HPO Health Programs Office An organizational unit within HCPF  
HRC Human Rights Committee A third party resource/mechanism designed to safeguard the rights of persons receiving services  
HRSA Health Resources and Services Administration  A federal agency https://www.hrsa.gov
HUD U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development   https://www.hud.gov
IA Interagency Agreement    
iC Colorado interChange System    
ICAP Inventory for Client and Agency Planning A CHRP waiver assessment  
ICF/IDD Intermediate Care Facility for Individuals with Intellectual and/or Developmental Disabilities This term has been used in Colorado  
ICF/IID Intermediate Care Facility for Individuals with Intellectual and/or Developmental Disabilities This is the current federal term for these facilities  
ICF/MR Intermediate Care Facility for Individuals with Mental Retardation An old term  
ICN interChange Claim Number Formerly TCN  
IDD Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities    
IHSS In-Home Support Services   https://hcpf.colorado.gov/in-home-support-services
IMD Institutions for Mental Disease    
IRS Internal Revenue Service    
IRSS Individual Residential Support Services    
ITN Invitation to Negotiate    
JBC Colorado Joint Budget Committee   https://leg.colorado.gov/committees/joint-budget-committee
LCA Local Contact Agency    
LHA Local Housing authority    
LOC Level of Care    
LTC Long-Term Care    
LTSS Long-Term Services and Supports    
MCD Medicaid    
MCR Medicare    
MDS Minimum Data Set    
MFP Money Follows the Person A federal grant program https://hcpf.colorado.gov/money-follows-person-mfp
MH Mental Health    
MHC Mental Health Center    
MHI Mental Health Institute    
MI Mental Illness    
MMIS Medicaid Management Information System This term is out of date. The current system is called the Colorado interChange System, or interChange or iC.  
MOE Maintenance of Effort    
MS Multiple Sclerosis    
MSB Medical Services Board The MSB adopts the rules that govern the Department's programs. The Board members are appointed by the governor and approved by the Colorado Senate. https://hcpf.colorado.gov/medical-services-board
NF Nursing Facility    
NFAC Nursing Facility Advisory Council   https://hcpf.colorado.gov/nursing-facility-advisory-council
NH Nursing Home    
NEMT Non-Emergent Medical Transportation   https://hcpf.colorado.gov/non-emergent-medical-transportation
NMT Non-Medical Transportation    
NWD No Wrong Door grant A federal grant that assists participating states in improving their assessment and case management systems. Colorado is implementing a No Wrong Door grant. https://hcpf.colorado.gov/no-wrong-door-implementation-grant
OBH Office of Behavioral Health An organizational unit within CDHS https://cdhs.colorado.gov/behavioral-health
OCC Over Cost Containment    
OCL Office of Community Living An organizational unit within HCPF https://hcpf.colorado.gov/office-community-living
OCR Office for Civil Rights An organizational unit within the federal HHS https://www.hhs.gov/ocr
OHCDS Organized Health Care Delivery System    
OLTC Options for Long-Term Care    
PACE Program of All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly   https://hcpf.colorado.gov/program-all-inclusive-care-elderly
PAD-CO Parents of Adults with Disabilities in Colorado   https://www.pad-co.info
PAR Prior Authorization Request    
PASA Program Approved Service Agency    
PASRR Pre-Admission Screening and Resident Review Program   https://hcpf.colorado.gov/pre-admission-screening-and-resident-review-program
PCBA Person-Centered Budget Algorithm   https://hcpf.colorado.gov/person-centered-budget-algorithm-pcba
PCSP Person-Centered Support Plan    
PDPPC Participant-Directed Programs Policy Collaborative   https://hcpf.colorado.gov/participant-directed-programs-policy-collaborative
PERS Personal Emergency Response System    
PETI Post-Eligibility Treatment of Income Related to the patient liability amount found on the Nursing Facility 5615 form, used for HCBS waiver members residing in an ACF or an SLP  
PETI/IME Post-Eligibility Treatment of Income/Incurred Medical Expenses Prior Authorized Expense for Nursing Home Residents for Vision, Hearing, etc.  
PL (or PP) Patient Liability (or Patient Payment) The amount on the Nursing Facility 5615 Form that the resident has to pay the facility prior to Medicaid paying the daily per diem rate to the facility   
PM/PM Per Member/Per Month A payment mechanism within the insurance field, especially the managed care area  
PMIP Professional Medical Information Page    
PNA Personal Needs Account For a LTC facility resident's disposable income, the PNA is where the monthly personal needs allowance funds are deposited for their personal use. PNA can also refer to the dollars set aside for a Member's personal use.  
POC Plan of Care    
PPL Public Partnerships, Limited One of the financial Management Services agencies hired by HCPF for the CDASS program  
PPR Post Payment Review    
PRTF Psychiatric Residential Treatment Facility    
QIO Quality Improvement Organization    
QRTP Qualified Residential Treatment Program    
RAE Regional Accountable Entity    
RC Regional Center    
RCCF Residential Child Care Facility    
RCCO Regional Care Collaborative Organization    
RFI Request for Information    
RFP Request for Proposal    
RS Remote Supports    
SCI Spinal Cord Injury Waiver Also HCBS-SCI https://hcpf.colorado.gov/spinal-cord-injury-waiver
SCRC Systems Change for Real Choices grant     
SE Supported Employment   https://hcpf.colorado.gov/supported-employment-program
SED Serious Emotional Disturbance    
SEP Single Entry Point    
SHHP Division of Supportive Housing and Homeless Programs    
SGF State General Fund    
SIS Supports Intensity Scale    
SL Support Level    
SLP Supported Living Program    
SLR Support Level Review    
State SLS State Supported Living Services A State General Fund program  
SLS Supported Living Services Waiver Also HCBS-SLS https://hcpf.colorado.gov/supported-living-services-waiver-sls
SMI Serious Mental Illness    
SNF Skilled Nursing Facility    
SOC Share of Cost See PL for one definition  
SOW Statement of Work    
SPMI Serious and Persistent Mental Illness    
SSDI Social Security Disability Insurance    
SSI Supplemental Security Income    
SUA Colorado State Unit on Aging An organizational unit within CDHS https://cdhs.colorado.gov/state-unit-on-aging
SUD Substance Use Disorder    
TBRA Tenant-Based Rental Assistance    
TCM-TC Targeted Case Management-Transition Coordination    
TCA Transition Coordination Agency    
TRCCF Therapeutic Residential Child Care Facilities    
UR/UM Utilization Review/Utilization Management    
ULTC-100.2 Uniform Long-Term Care Assessment Form    
WaWD Working Adults with Disabilities    
WPT Wage Pass-Through