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ARTICLE I. PROGRAM OVERVIEW 
Section I.01 What is the Senior Dental Program? 
In 2014, the General Assembly created the Colorado Dental Health Care Program for 
Low-Income Seniors (Senior Dental Program) through Senate Bill (SB) 14-180 to promote 
the health and welfare of low-income seniors. To create the new Senior Dental Program, 
the legislation consolidated services provided by the Colorado Department of Public 
Health & Environment (CDPHE) through the Colorado Dental Care Act of 1977 with other 
dental services for low-income seniors. It also gave the Department of Health Care Policy 
& Financing (the Department) the authority to administer the new Senior Dental Program, 
which resides in Section 25.5-4-402, C.R.S., and provides low-income seniors access to 
patient-centered dental care. The following segment of the SB 14-180 legislative 
declaration illustrates the program’s purpose: 

The general assembly hereby determines, finds, and declares that: 
(b) By relocating and reorganizing the “Colorado Dental Care Act of 1977”, which 
provided dental services to certain eligible seniors, the state department can align 
those dental health care services with adult dental benefits provided through other 
dental health care programs for seniors and thereby target the resources effectively 
to low-income seniors who may not qualify for those programs. 

During fiscal year (FY) 2014-15, CDPHE and the Department transitioned the Colorado 
Dental Care Act of 1977 to the Senior Dental Program at the Department. This transition 
consisted of defining grant criteria, establishing program rules, and awarding grant 
monies to Qualified Grantees. Grants for the Senior Dental Program were issued by the 
Department on July 1, 2015, and qualified seniors could start receiving dental services on 
that date. The Senior Dental Program rules were first established on Jan. 9, 2015, and 
are located at 10 CCR 2505-10, Section 8.960 and on the Department’s website. 
Contingent upon appropriation by the General Assembly the annual funding for the Senior 
Dental Program is $4 million. The Department administers the Senior Dental Program by 
distributing grant funds to Qualified Grantees. Grant funding must be used to provide 
dental services to adults who are 60 years of age or older, at or below 250% of the 
current Federal Poverty Guidelines (FPG), do not qualify for Health First Colorado or the 
Old Age Pension Health and Medical Care Program, do not have private dental coverage, 
and are a Colorado resident. 
Section I.02 Senior Dental Advisory Committee 
SB 14-180 recognized the importance of continuing stakeholder participation in the 
Senior Dental Program and established the Senior Dental Advisory Committee (DAC). 
The DAC is comprised of 11 members appointed by the Department’s executive director 
and consists of the following: 

1. One member representing the Department; 
2. One dentist in private practice providing dental care to the senior population 

who represents a statewide organization of dentists; 
3. One dental hygienist providing dental care to seniors; 
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4. One representative of either an agency that coordinates services for low-
income seniors or the office in the Department of Human Services responsible 
for overseeing services to the elderly; 

5. One representative of an organization of Colorado community health centers, 
as defined in the federal “Public Health Service Act”, 42 U.S.C. sec. 254b; 

6. One representative of an organization of safety-net health providers that are 
not community health centers; 

7. One representative of the University of Colorado, School of Dental Medicine; 
8. Two consumer advocates; 
9. One senior who is eligible for services under the program; and 
10. One representative of a foundation with experience in making dental care 

grants. 

The DAC not only serves as a forum where the Department and the stakeholder 
community can discuss the Senior Dental Program, it also makes recommendations to 
the Medical Services Board regarding rules. 
In 2019, the General Assembly passed House Bill (HB) 19-1326, giving the DAC the 
authority to determine the maximum amount per procedure that can be spent by the 
program’s Grantees. This law also requires that the maximum amount per procedure 
not be less than the reimbursement schedule for fee-for-service dental fees under 
Health First Colorado. 

Section I.03 Definitions 
1. Arrange For or Arranging For means demonstrating established relations with 

Qualified Providers for any of the Covered Dental Care Services not directly 
provided by the applicant. 

2. Colorado Indigent Care Program or CICP means the Colorado Indigent Care 
Program as authorized by state law at Title 25.5, Article 3, Part 1, C.R.S. 

3. Covered Dental Care Services include Diagnostic Imaging, Emergency Services, 
Endodontic Services, Evaluation, Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, Palliative 
Treatment, Periodontal Treatment, Preventive Services, Prophylaxis, Removable 
Prosthesis, and Restorative Services as listed by alphanumeric procedure code in 
Appendix A. 

4. C.R.S. means the Colorado Revised Statutes. 
5. Dental Health Professional Shortage Area or Dental HPSA means a geographic 

area, population group, or facility so designated by the Health Resources and 
Services Administration of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. 

6. Dental Prosthesis means any device or appliance replacing one or more missing 
teeth and associated structures if required. 

7. Department means the Department of Health Care Policy and Financing 
established pursuant to section 25.5-1-104, C.R.S. 
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8. Diagnostic Imaging means a visual display of structural or functional patterns for 
the purpose of diagnostic evaluation. 

9. Economically Disadvantaged means a person whose Income is at or below 250% 
of the most recently published federal poverty guidelines (FPG) for a household of 
that size. 

10. Eligible Senior or Client means an adult who is 60 years of age or older, who is 
Economically Disadvantaged, who is not eligible for dental services under Health 
First Colorado or the Old Age Pension Health and Medical Care Program, and who 
does not have private dental insurance. An Eligible Senior or Client is not ineligible 
solely because he/she is receiving dental benefits under Medicare or Medicare 
Advantage Plans. 

11. Emergency Services means the need for immediate intervention by a Qualified 
Provider to stabilize an oral cavity condition. 

12. Endodontic Services means services which are concerned with the morphology, 
physiology and pathology of the human dental pulp and periradicular tissues, 
including pulpectomy. 

13. Evaluation means an assessment that may include gathering of information 
through interview, observation, examination, and use of specific tests that allows a 
dentist to diagnose existing conditions. 

14. Health Professional Shortage Areas or HPSAs means shortage designation 
identifies an area, population, or facility experiencing a shortage of health care 
services. 

15. Federally Qualified Health Center means a federally funded nonprofit health center 
or clinic that serves medically underserved areas and populations as defined in 42 
U.S.C. section 1395x (aa)(4). 

16. Health First Colorado means the Colorado medical assistance program as defined 
in article 4 of title 25.5, C.R.S. (2022). 

17. Income means any cash, payments, wages, in-kind receipt, inheritance, gift, prize, 
rents, dividends, or interest that are received by an individual or family. Income 
may be self-declared. Resources are not included in Income. 

18. Max Allowable Fee means the total reimbursement listed by procedure for Covered 
Dental Care Services under the Colorado Dental Health Care Program for Low-
Income Seniors in Appendix A. The Max Allowable Fee is the sum of the Program 
Payment and the Max Client Co-Pay. 

19. Max Client Co-Pay means the maximum amount that a Qualified Provider may 
collect from an Eligible Senior listed by procedure in Appendix A for Covered 
Dental Services under the Colorado Dental Health Care Program for Low-Income 
Seniors. 

20. Medicare means the federal health insurance program for people who are 65 or 
older; certain younger people with disabilities; or people with End-Stage Renal 
Disease. 
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21. Medicare Advantage Plans mean the plans offered by Medicare-approved private 
companies that must follow rules set by Medicare and may provide benefits for 
services Medicare does not, such as vision, hearing, and dental care. 

22. Old Age Pension Health and Medical Care Program means the program described 
at 10 CCR 2505-10, section 8.940 et. seq. and as defined in sections 25.5-2-101 
and 26-2-111(2), C.R.S. (2022). 

23. Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery means the diagnosis, surgical and adjunctive 
treatment of diseases, injuries and defects involving both the functional and 
esthetic aspects of the hard and soft tissues of the oral and maxillofacial region. 

24. Palliative Treatment for dental pain means emergency treatment to relieve the 
Client of pain; it is not a mechanism for addressing chronic pain. 

25. Periodontal Treatment means the therapeutic plan intended to stop or slow 
periodontal disease progression. 

26. Preventive Services means services concerned with promoting good oral health 
and function by preventing or reducing the onset and/or development of oral 
diseases or deformities and the occurrence of oro-facial injuries. 

27. Program Payment means the maximum amount by procedure listed in Appendix A 
for Covered Dental Care Services for which a Qualified Grantee may invoice the 
Department under the Colorado Dental Health Care Program for Low-Income 
Seniors. Program Payment must not be less than the reimbursement schedule for 
fee-for-service dental fees under the medical assistance program established in 
Articles 4, 5, and 6 of 10 CCR 2505-10. 

28. Prophylaxis means the removal of dental plaque and calculus from teeth, in order 
to prevent dental caries, gingivitis and periodontitis. 

29. Qualified Grantee or Grantee means an entity that can demonstrate that it can 
provide or Arrange For the provision of Covered Dental Care Services and may 
include but is not limited to: 

a. An Area Agency on Aging, as defined in section 26-11-201, C.R.S. (2022); 
b. A community-based organization or foundation; 
c. A Federally Qualified Health Center, safety-net clinic, or health district; 
d. A local public health agency; or 
e. A private dental practice. 

30. Qualified Provider means a licensed dentist or dental hygienist in good standing in 
Colorado or a person who employs a licensed dentist or dental hygienist in good 
standing in Colorado and who is willing to accept reimbursement for Covered 
Dental Services. A Qualified Provider may also be a Qualified Grantee if the person 
meets the qualifications of a Qualified Grantee. 

31. Removable Prosthesis means complete or partial Dental Prosthesis, which after an 
initial fitting by a dentist, can be removed and reinserted by the eligible senior. 

32. Restorative Services means services rendered for the purpose of rehabilitation of 
dentition to functional or aesthetic needs of the Client. 
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33. Senior Dental Advisory Committee means the advisory committee established 
pursuant to section 25.5-3406, C.R.S. (2022). 
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ARTICLE II. Grant Applications 
Section II.01 Evaluation of Grant Applications 
Grant applications submitted by potential Grantees of the Senior Dental Program are due 
February 1st every year and will be for the following fiscal year. 
Current Grantees of the Senior Dental Program are mandated to complete a new grant 
application every fourth year for renewal into the Senior Dental Program. 
Grant applications will be evaluated by a review panel in accordance with the following 
criteria developed under the advice of the Senior Dental Advisory Committee. 

1. The review panel will be comprised of individuals who are deemed qualified by 
reason of training and/or experience and who have no personal or financial 
interest in the selection of any applicant. 

2. The sole objective of the review panel is to recommend to the Department’s 
executive director those proposals which most accurately and effectively meet the 
goals of the program within the available funding. 

3. Preference will be given to grant proposals that clearly demonstrate the applicant’s 
ability to: 

a. Outreach to and identify Eligible Seniors; 
b. Collaborate with community-based organizations; and 
c. Serve a greater number of Eligible Seniors or serve Eligible Seniors who 

reside in a geographic area designated as a Dental HPSA. 
4. The review panel shall consider the distribution of funds across the state in 

recommending grant proposals for awards. The distribution of funds should be 
based on the estimated percentage of Eligible Seniors in the state by Area Agency 
on Aging region as provided by the Department and past grant fund expenditure, if 
applicable. 

Section II.02 Grant Awards 
The Department’s executive director, or his or her designee, shall make the final grant 
awards to selected Qualified Grantees for the Senior Dental Program. 
A Qualified Grantee that is awarded a grant under the Colorado Dental Health Care 
Program for Low-Income Seniors is required to: 

1. Identify and outreach to Eligible Seniors and Qualified Providers; 
2. Demonstrate collaboration with community-based organizations; 
3. Ensure that Eligible Seniors receive Covered Dental Care Services efficiently without 

duplication of services; 
4. Maintain records of Eligible Seniors serviced, Covered Dental Care Services 

provided, and monies spent for a minimum of six (6) years; 
5. For Eligible Seniors with dental coverage through a Medicare Advantage Plan, bill 

the Medicare Advantage Plan for dental procedures covered by the Medicare 
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Advantage Plan prior to seeking payment from the Department. The Colorado 
Dental Health Care Program is secondary to the Medicare Advantage Plan dental 
coverage; Non-urgent dental services; 

6. Distribute grant funds to Qualified Providers in its service area or directly provide
Covered Dental Care Services to Eligible Seniors;

7. Expend no more than seven (7) percent of the amount of its grant award for
administrative purposes; and

8. Submit an annual report.
Grantees will receive a contract letter informing them of the grant award for the fiscal 
year. A contract will then be sent to all grantees using DocuSign. 

ARTICLE III. APPLICANT ELIGIBILITY FOR SDP 

Section III.01 Age Requirement 
1. All individuals must be 60 or over to qualify for the program.

● Grantees must obtain a photo ID to show proof of age.
2. If an applicant provides an unexpired Colorado Indigent Care Program (CICP) or

Hospital Discounted Care (HDC) card, they must still provide proof of their age.

Section III.02 Income Requirement 
1. All individuals must be 250% of the most currently published Federal Poverty

Guidelines (FPG) for a household their size.
● The FPGs may be obtained at: https://aspe.hhs.gov/topics/poverty-

economic-mobility/poverty-guidelines
2. If an applicant provides an unexpired CICP or HDC card they do not have to

provide any other income information, as they qualify.
3. An applicant should provide an income statement of what their income is per

month. I.e., a Social Security stub, pension stub, etc.
4. If an applicant cannot provide proof of their income, they may self-declare their

income. The Grantee can use a current internal form or type a letter stating the
amount the applicant makes and they may sign the form. The applicant can also
write a letter and sign it stating the amount they make per month or year.
NOTE: We caution that this should only be used in cases when the applicant
cannot provide proof and should not be a standard that is used in all cases.

Section III.03 Colorado Resident 
A Colorado resident is a person who currently lives in Colorado and intends to remain in 
the state. If the applicant is unable to provide actual proof of Colorado residency, they 
are allowed to self-declare their intent to remain in Colorado. 

1. If an applicant provides an unexpired CICP or HDC card they do not have to
provide any other information regarding residency as they qualify.
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2. The following questions can be used to assist in determining if the applicant is a 
Colorado resident: 
● Where is the applicant’s primary home? A primary home is the place of 

residence where a person lives and the place where that person, whenever 
absent, intends to return, regardless of the length of absence. A primary home 
cannot be a business address or a vacant lot or a post office box. 

● Is the applicant employed in the state of Colorado? 
● Is there a current lease, mortgage bill, or utility bill for the applicant’s primary 

home? 
● Does the applicant have a current Colorado Driver’s License or Identification 

Card? 

Section III.04 Health First Colorado or Private Dental Insurance 
1. An applicant cannot qualify for Health First Colorado or have private dental 

insurance. 
● If the applicant is under 65 years of age and meets the income threshold of 

Health First Colorado, they must supply a Health First Colorado denial letter 
to qualify for the Senior Dental Program. 

● If an applicant provides an unexpired CICP card they qualify for the program, 
as long as they are 60 or over. 

2. The Grantee must check the Department’s web portal to see if the individual 
currently is on Health First Colorado. 
● The Grantee can obtain web portal access by contacting the Department. 
● A print screen of the web portal check should be put in the applicant’s file for 

audit purposes. The web portal is different from DentaQuest, a screen print 
of DentaQuest will not be accepted in lieu of the web portal print screen. 

3. If an applicant has a Medicare Advantage Plan (MAP) and dental insurance is 
embedded in the plan, it is not considered private dental insurance. 

4. If an applicant has a MAP but also purchased a supplemental to receive extra 
dental coverage, the supplemental is considered private dental insurance. 

ARTICLE IV. INVOICES 

Section IV.01 Invoice Information 
1. All procedures must be completed prior to billing the Department. Invoices are 

always due by the 15th of the following month. If the 15th falls on a state 
nonwork day the invoice will be due on the previous workday. For example, if the 
15th falls on a Sunday, the invoice will be due on the 13th, the previous Friday. 
Any invoices submitted past the deadline date will be paid the following invoice 
month. 

10 



 
 

    

  
 

  
      

   
 

 

   
   

 
    

 
  

  
 

 

  
 

  
  

  

    

  

  

  
  

 

    
   

  

     
  

 

       

       

2. Grantees may bill the Department the entire treatment plan at once, or they may 
bill procedure by procedure from the treatment plan. No matter how it is billed to 
the Department, the procedures must be completed prior to the Department being 
billed for that procedure. Treatment plans can cross fiscal years. Procedures 
completed within a fiscal year must be paid within that fiscal year, unless the 
Grantee is waiting for a payment on a patient that has Medicare. This will be the 
only time that the Department will pay for a procedure going into the next fiscal 
year. The Grantee must show proof that Medicare was billed prior to the end of 
the fiscal year for the Department to pay for the procedure. 

3. Approximately one month prior to a new fiscal year the Department will upload 
new workbooks into the Grantee’s SharePoint site. The workbook will contain a 
summary page, invoice instructions page, and a tab for each month of the fiscal 
year for the Grantee to submit. It will also contain an updated fee schedule, if 
applicable. Some columns of the invoice are password protected and cannot be 
changed by the Grantee due to auto populated information. To ensure that all 
required cells can be filled in, the Grantee should ensure the “open in desktop” has 
been clicked. If this has not been done it may cause the Grantee the inability to fill 
in cells for tooth numbers, surfaces, and quadrants. 

4. All invoices must be submitted to the Department via the Grantee’s SharePoint 
site. Access to this site may be obtained through contacting the Department. 

Section IV.02 Summary Page 
1. The summary page tab of the “Invoices and Summary” workbook will be populated 

by the Department when the Grantee receives the workbook. This page will show: 
● Grantee name, address, and contact information 
● Expenditures 
● Grant award and running total 

Section IV.03 Invoice Instructions 
The Invoice Instructions tab contains the information that should be entered in each cell 
of the invoices and if it auto populates. 

Section IV.04 Monthly Invoice Tabs 
1. There will be 12 tabs going from July through June, same as the state fiscal year. 
2. The invoice contains the following cells: 

● Client’s name - Must have first, middle initial, and last name. If no middle name 
it must be entered as NMI. Do not use any symbols, this includes commas, 
periods, etc. 

● Gender - Should be entered as M or F. 
● Client’s Zip Code - Should be the zip code of the Client’s home residence. 
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● Date of Birth - Should be entered as xx/xx/xxxx and should match the ID used 
to prove age. 

● Has Medicare - Should be entered as Y or N. 
● Date of Service - Should be the date the procedure was completed and should 

be entered as xx/xx/xxxx. 
● Treating Provider - Should be the name of the individual that completed the 

procedure. 
● Location Zip Code - Should be the zip code of the location of where the 

procedure was performed. 
● Procedure Code - This is a drop-down list of procedures and the correct 

procedure should be selected. 
● Procedure Description - This automatically populates based on the procedure 

code selected. 
● Tooth Numbers - Tooth numbers should be listed if the fee schedule indicates 

it. Tooth numbers are only 1 - 32 and cannot contain letters as baby teeth are 
not covered by the program. 

● Tooth Surfaces - Tooth surfaces should be listed if the fee schedule indicates it. 
● Quadrants - Quadrants should be listed if the fee schedule indicates it. 
● Patient Co-Pay Amt - The max copay amount that is listed on the fee schedule 

would need to be entered into the invoice as it does not automatically update. 
The reason for this is not all Grantees charge a copay. If an amount entered is 
over the max co-pay amount, the procedure will not be added into the total 
amount of the invoice. 

● Max Program Fee - This is the max procedure amount listed on the program’s 
fee schedule, it will auto populate. 

● Amt Less Than Max Fee - If the Grantee is going to bill less than the max 
program fee, this amount would be entered here. 

● Total Max Allowable Fee - This total will be the sum of the co-pay and the max 
program fee, it will auto populate. 

● Amt Billed to HCPF - This is the amount that will be billed to the Department. 
● Total Treatment Costs - This is the sum of all procedures from the “Amt Billed 

to HCPF”. 
● Total Administration Costs (7% of total Treatment Costs) - There is a 7% 

administration fee that will be paid to Grantees. For example, if the total 
treatment costs were $5,000 the 7% fee would be $350.00 ($5,000 x 7%). It is 
up to each Grantee if they will take the 7% or use it on treatments for the 
Clients. 

3. After the invoice is submitted to SharePoint, the Department will review all 
procedures billed. If there are procedures that were billed incorrectly, i.e., double 
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billed on the invoice, was billed prior, not enough time between the same 
procedure, etc., the Department will remove them from the invoice. The 
Department will then inform the Grantee the procedures removed and the new 
invoice amount. 

4. Procedures from the following month cannot be on the invoice. For example, if the 
Grantee submits a February invoice, March procedures cannot be on the February 
invoice. However, past procedures can be on an invoice as long as it is within the 
same fiscal year. For example, if the Grantee is submitting the May invoice, any 
procedures from July through April can be on the May invoice. June will be the 
final invoice for every fiscal year. Grantees can add any procedures to the June 
invoice that did not get billed previously. If any procedures are missed and not put 
on the June invoice, the Grantee will not receive payment. The only exception to 
this is for a Client that is on Medicare and the Grantee is waiting for payment from 
Medicare before billing the Department. For example, if a Grantee bills Medicare 
for a procedure in May but does not hear back from Medicare until August, the 
Grantee can bill the Department for that procedure even though it crossed fiscal 
years. However, the Grantee must provide proof that Medicare was billed for that 
procedure prior to the end of the fiscal year. 

5. If there are numerous errors on the invoice the Department will contact the 
Grantee and let them know of the errors. The errors will need to be corrected and 
then the invoice uploaded again in the Grantee’s SharePoint site. 

6. Grantees will receive an email from the Department when the invoice has been 
paid and when they should see the funds in their accounts. 

ARTICLE  V. Audits 

The Senior Dental Program will conduct an audit once a year. Audits will be performed 
at random times throughout the year and can be performed up to four times per year. 

● The yearly Audit period will reflect the previous fiscal year’s Senior Dental 
Program documents beginning on July 1st through June 30th, unless 
otherwise indicated by the Department. 

● The Department will randomly select Client files for each Grantee and send 
the audit list via email to the approved Grantee contact person on file. 

● Clients that receive Immediate Dentures are automatically added to the audit 
list. 

● The Grantees shall have 30 days to upload this data into their SharePoint 
drive. Extensions may be granted for due cause. 

● All files selected will be reviewed to ensure they were not part of Health First 
Colorado during the time of service. 

1. The SDP program documents required in each Client file for review by the 
Department includes: 
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● An Unexpired CICP or HDC program card. The Client automatically qualifies 
for the Senior Dental Program as long as they are 60 or over, with a valid 
photo ID. 

● Age verification, an unexpired photo Identification card – usually a Colorado 
Driver’s License. 

● Proof of income can be several types of documentation, please see section on 
income. 

● Copy of Medicare and MAP Cards, include fee schedule (if available). 
● The Department web portal verification form. The file must show the patient 

is NOT currently in Health First Colorado or the Old Age Pension Health and 
Medical Care Program. Other dental eligibility web portal forms will not be 
accepted by the Department. 

● Health First Colorado Denial Documentation – If the Client’s age is 60 to 64 
and is at or below 138% FPG (Federal Poverty Guidelines) and is not on 
Health First Colorado or one of the MSP (Medicare Savings Programs), a 
Health First Colorado denial letter is required. 

● Patients 65 years or older do not need a Health First Colorado denial letter. 
● Consent form if Immediate Dentures were delivered, the Informed Consent 

for Immediate Dentures form must be in the Client’s file. The Consent form 
must have both the dentist and Client’s signature on file. 

● Grantee ledger showing the dental services completed. Ledger should match 
what was billed to the Department and should include: 
❖ Client Name 
❖ Client’s zip code 
❖ Date of Service 
❖ Treating Provider 
❖ Location zip code 
❖ Procedure Code 
❖ Tooth Number(s) 
❖ Quadrants 
❖ Patient Copay 
❖ Amount if less than maximum program fee 
❖ Total 
❖ Billed to HCPF 

2. The Department reviews the Client documents for eligibility, accuracy and 
completeness. The items include, but are not limited to: 
● Unexpired CICP or HDC card. 
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● Unexpired photo ID to verify age. 
● The Department web portal verification form. 
● Copies of Medicare & MAP cards, if applicable. 
● Proof of Income. 
● Medicare denial letter, if applicable. 
● Duplicate billing, if a service was previously paid to the same or related. 

provider procedures must be reimbursed back to the Department. 
● Billing the same procedures more than what the fee schedule allows. 
● Overcharge of allowable max Client co-payment fee. 
● Incorrect, missing, or illegible ledger for services provided. 
● Billing prior to the date of service. 

3. A Corrective Action Plan (CAP) will be issued to Grantees to address specific 
discrepancies found during the audit. A review summary and CAP form will be 
completed by the Department showing what the findings were. The Grantee will 
be required to submit the following forms within 30 days of the CAP being 
issued: 
● The completed and signed CAP form. Must provide a detailed outline on the 

action taken to mitigate the issue and to prevent its recurrence. 
● Copies of missing documents (program documents, ledgers, photo ID’s). 

4. If the required SDP program documents listed below cannot be produced, then 
the Client does not qualify for the program, and procedures billed to the program 
must be reimbursed back to the Department. 
● Photo ID to verify program age requirements. 
● Proof of income. 
● Missing procedure ledgers showing service date, procedure codes, tooth 

number, quadrants, amount billed, and co-payments. 
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ARTICLE VI. APPENDIX 

Section VI.01 Senior Dental Program Eligibility and Other Health 
Programs 

The table below illustrates what program categories can and cannot be used in conjunction 
with the Senior Dental Program. 

Health First 
Colorado 
Programs for 
Adults 

Description 
of Programs 

FPG Senior Dental 
Prog
Eligible 

Effective 
Date 

Health First 
Colorado for 
Adults 

Adults age 19 
through 64 
without a 
dependent 
child in the 
home. 

133% FPG No Backdates up 
to 90 days 
from Health 
First Colorado 
application. 

Programs for 
Adults with 
Disabilities 

Description 
of Programs 

FPG Senior Dental 
Prog
Eligible 

Effective 
Date 

Brain Injury Provides home 300% SSI No 
Waiver (BI) or community-

based 
alternative to 
hospital or 
specialized 
nursing facility 
care for 
persons with a 
brain injury. 
Must be 16 
years of age or 
older. 

Colorado Helps transition 133% FPG No 
Choice Health First 
Transitions Colorado 
(CCT) members out 

of nursing 
homes and 
long-term care 
facilities and 
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Programs for 
Adults with 
Disabilities 

Description 
of Programs 

FPG Senior Dental 
Prog
Eligible 

Effective 
Date 

into home and 
community-
based settings. 

Community Provides home 300% SSI No 
Mental Health or community-
Supports based 
Waiver (CMHS) alternative to 

nursing facility 
care for people 
with major 
mental illness. 

Developmental Provides 300% SSI No 
Disabilities people with 
Waiver (DD) developmental 

disabilities 
services and 
supports that 
allow them to 
continue living 
in the 
community. 

Elderly, Blind, Provides an 300% SSI No 
& Disabled alternative to 
Waiver (EBD) nursing facility 

care for 
elderly, blind, 
or physically 
disabled 
persons, as 
well as 
individuals 
living with 
HIV/AIDS. 

Family Support Provides N.A. No 
Services support for 
Program families who 
(FSSP) have children 

with 
developmental 
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Programs for 
Adults with 
Disabilities 

Description 
of Programs 

FPG Senior Dental 
Prog
Eligible 

Effective 
Date 

disabilities or 
delays with 
costs that are 
beyond those 
normally 
experienced by 
other families. 

Health First Buy-In for 450% FPG No Backdates up 
Colorado Buy- adults who are to 90 days 
In Program for 16 through 65 from Health 
Working Adults years of age, First Colorado 
with Disabilities employed, and 

have a 
qualifying 
disability. 
Monthly 
premium based 
on the family’s 
income. 

application 

Spinal Cord Provides home 300% SSI No 
Injury Waiver or community-
(SCI) based 

alternative for 
people with a 
spinal cord 
injury in the 
Denver Metro 
Area 

Supported Provides 300% SSI No 
Living Services supported 
Waiver (SLS) living in the 

home or 
community to 
persons with 
developmental 
disabilities 
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Senior Adult 
Programs 

Description 
of Programs 

FPG CICP 
Eligible 

Effective 
Date 

Old Age Disabled or 65 76.9% FPG No Backdates up 
Pension (OAP)- and over. to 90 days 
A and B- Financial from Health 
Medical payment 

entitles clients 
for a category 
of Medical 
Assistance, 
either Health 
First Colorado 
or Health Care 
Program. 

First Colorado 
application. 

Old Age Not eligible for 76.9% FPG Yes Eligibility 
Pension (OAP- Health First begins date of 
State Only) Colorado. application or 
and HCP-B date eligibility 
State Only is established, 

whichever is 
later. 

Medicare 
Savings
Programs
(MSP) 

Description 
of Programs 

FPG CICP 
Eligible 

Effective 
Date 

Specified Low- State pays for Monthly Yes Backdates up 
Income Medicare Part income of to 90 days 
Medicare B premiums. $1,234 for from 
Beneficiary individuals, application. 
Program $1,666 for 
(SLMB) couples 

Qualified State pays for Monthly Yes Backdates up 
Individual Medicare Part income of to 90 days 
Program (QI1) B premiums. $1,386 for from 

Granted on a individuals, application. 
first-come, $1,872 for 
first-served couples 
basis with 
priority for 
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Medicare 
Savings
Programs
(MSP) 

Description 
of Programs 

FPG CICP 
Eligible 

Effective 
Date 

people who 
received QI the 
previous year. 

Qualified State pays for Monthly Yes 
Disabled and Medicare Part income of 
Working A premium. $2,044 for 
Individual Must be individuals, 
(QDWI) working 

disabled 
person under 
age 65 and not 
receiving other 
medical 
assistance from 
the state 

$2,764 for 
couples 

Qualified State pays for Monthly Yes Effective 1st 

Medicare Part A and B income of day of month 
Beneficiary premiums and $1,032 for following the 
Program (QMB) Medicare 

deductibles, 
coinsurance, 
and copays. 

individuals, 
$1,392 for 
couples 

month of 
eligibility 
determination. 

Medicare- 65 years or 100% FPG No Effective 1st 

Health First older, disabled day of month 
Colorado –QMB status under following the 
(Dual Eligible) Social Security, month of 

or Railroad eligibility 
Retirement determination. 
assistance with 
Medicare 
premiums and 
out of pocket 
Health First 
Colorado 
expenses. 
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	ARTICLE I. 
	ARTICLE I. 
	PROGRAM OVERVIEW 

	Section I.01 What is the Senior Dental Program? 
	Section I.01 What is the Senior Dental Program? 
	In 2014, the General Assembly created the Colorado Dental Health Care Program for Low-Income Seniors (Senior Dental Program) through Senate Bill (SB) 14-180 to promote the health and welfare of low-income seniors. To create the new Senior Dental Program, the legislation consolidated services provided by the Colorado Department of Public Health & Environment (CDPHE) through the Colorado Dental Care Act of 1977 with other dental services for low-income seniors. It also gave the Department of Health Care Polic
	The general assembly hereby determines, finds, and declares that: 
	(b)By relocating and reorganizing the “Colorado Dental Care Act of 1977”, which provided dental services to certain eligible seniors, the state department can align those dental health care services with adult dental benefits provided through other dental health care programs for seniors and thereby target the resources effectively to low-income seniors who may not qualify for those programs. 
	During fiscal year (FY) 2014-15, CDPHE and the Department transitioned the Colorado Dental Care Act of 1977 to the Senior Dental Program at the Department. This transition consisted of defining grant criteria, establishing program rules, and awarding grant monies to Qualified Grantees. Grants for the Senior Dental Program were issued by the Department on July 1, 2015, and qualified seniors could start receiving dental services on that date. The Senior Dental Program rules were first established on Jan. 9, 2
	Contingent upon appropriation by the General Assembly the annual funding for the Senior Dental Program is $4 million. The Department administers the Senior Dental Program by distributing grant funds to Qualified Grantees. Grant funding must be used to provide dental services to adults who are 60 years of age or older, at or below 250% of the current Federal Poverty Guidelines (FPG), do not qualify for Health First Colorado or the Old Age Pension Health and Medical Care Program, do not have private dental co

	Section I.02 Senior Dental Advisory Committee 
	Section I.02 Senior Dental Advisory Committee 
	SB 14-180 recognized the importance of continuing stakeholder participation in the Senior Dental Program and established the Senior Dental Advisory Committee (DAC). The DAC is comprised of 11 members appointed by the Department’s executive director and consists of the following: 
	1. 
	1. 
	1. 
	One member representing the Department; 

	2. 
	2. 
	One dentist in private practice providing dental care to the senior population who represents a statewide organization of dentists; 

	3. 
	3. 
	One dental hygienist providing dental care to seniors; 

	4. 
	4. 
	One representative of either an agency that coordinates services for low-income seniors or the office in the Department of Human Services responsible for overseeing services to the elderly; 

	5. 
	5. 
	One representative of an organization of Colorado community health centers, as defined in the federal “Public Health Service Act”, 42 U.S.C. sec. 254b; 

	6. 
	6. 
	One representative of an organization of safety-net health providers that are not community health centers; 

	7. 
	7. 
	One representative of the University of Colorado, School of Dental Medicine; 

	8. 
	8. 
	Two consumer advocates; 

	9. 
	9. 
	One senior who is eligible for services under the program; and 

	10. 
	10. 
	One representative of a foundation with experience in making dental care grants. 


	The DAC not only serves as a forum where the Department and the stakeholder community can discuss the Senior Dental Program, it also makes recommendations to the Medical Services Board regarding rules. 
	In 2019, the General Assembly passed House Bill (HB) 19-1326, giving the DAC the authority to determine the maximum amount per procedure that can be spent by the program’s Grantees. This law also requires that the maximum amount per procedure not be less than the reimbursement schedule for fee-for-service dental fees under Health First Colorado. 

	Section I.03 Definitions 
	Section I.03 Definitions 
	1. 
	1. 
	1. 
	Arrange For or Arranging For means demonstrating established relations with Qualified Providers for any of the Covered Dental Care Services not directly provided by the applicant. 

	2. 
	2. 
	Colorado Indigent Care Program or CICP means the Colorado Indigent Care Program as authorized by state law at Title 25.5, Article 3, Part 1, C.R.S. 

	3. 
	3. 
	Covered Dental Care Services include Diagnostic Imaging, Emergency Services, Endodontic Services, Evaluation, Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, Palliative Treatment, Periodontal Treatment, Preventive Services, Prophylaxis, Removable Prosthesis, and Restorative Services as listed by alphanumeric procedure code in Appendix A. 

	4. 
	4. 
	C.R.S. means the Colorado Revised Statutes. 

	5. 
	5. 
	Dental Health Professional Shortage Area or Dental HPSA means a geographic area, population group, or facility so designated by the Health Resources and Services Administration of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. 

	6. 
	6. 
	Dental Prosthesis means any device or appliance replacing one or more missing teeth and associated structures if required. 

	7. 
	7. 
	Department means the Department of Health Care Policy and Financing established pursuant to section 25.5-1-104, C.R.S. 

	8. 
	8. 
	Diagnostic Imaging means a visual display of structural or functional patterns for the purpose of diagnostic evaluation. 

	9. 
	9. 
	Economically Disadvantaged means a person whose Income is at or below 250% of the most recently published federal poverty guidelines (FPG) for a household of that size. 

	10. 
	10. 
	Eligible Senior or Client means an adult who is 60 years of age or older, who is Economically Disadvantaged, who is not eligible for dental services under Health First Colorado or the Old Age Pension Health and Medical Care Program, and who does not have private dental insurance. An Eligible Senior or Client is not ineligible solely because he/she is receiving dental benefits under Medicare or Medicare Advantage Plans. 

	11. 
	11. 
	Emergency Services means the need for immediate intervention by a Qualified Provider to stabilize an oral cavity condition. 

	12. 
	12. 
	Endodontic Services means services which are concerned with the morphology, physiology and pathology of the human dental pulp and periradicular tissues, including pulpectomy. 

	13. 
	13. 
	Evaluation means an assessment that may include gathering of information through interview, observation, examination, and use of specific tests that allows a dentist to diagnose existing conditions. 

	14. 
	14. 
	Health Professional Shortage Areas or HPSAs means shortage designation identifies an area, population, or facility experiencing a shortage of health care services. 

	15. 
	15. 
	Federally Qualified Health Center means a federally funded nonprofit health center or clinic that serves medically underserved areas and populations as defined in 42 U.S.C. section 1395x (aa)(4). 

	16. 
	16. 
	Health First Colorado means the Colorado medical assistance program as defined in article 4 of title 25.5, C.R.S. (2022). 

	17. 
	17. 
	Income means any cash, payments, wages, in-kind receipt, inheritance, gift, prize, rents, dividends, or interest that are received by an individual or family. Income may be self-declared. Resources are not included in Income. 

	18. 
	18. 
	Max Allowable Fee means the total reimbursement listed by procedure for Covered Dental Care Services under the Colorado Dental Health Care Program for Low-Income Seniors in Appendix A. The Max Allowable Fee is the sum of the Program Payment and the Max Client Co-Pay. 

	19. 
	19. 
	Max Client Co-Pay means the maximum amount that a Qualified Provider may collect from an Eligible Senior listed by procedure in Appendix A for Covered Dental Services under the Colorado Dental Health Care Program for Low-Income Seniors. 

	20. 
	20. 
	Medicare means the federal health insurance program for people who are 65 or older; certain younger people with disabilities; or people with End-Stage Renal Disease. 

	21. 
	21. 
	Medicare Advantage Plans mean the plans offered by Medicare-approved private companies that must follow rules set by Medicare and may provide benefits for services Medicare does not, such as vision, hearing, and dental care. 

	22. 
	22. 
	Old Age Pension Health and Medical Care Program means the program described at 10 CCR 2505-10, section 8.940 et. seq. and as defined in sections 25.5-2-101 and 26-2-111(2), C.R.S. (2022). 

	23. 
	23. 
	Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery means the diagnosis, surgical and adjunctive treatment of diseases, injuries and defects involving both the functional and esthetic aspects of the hard and soft tissues of the oral and maxillofacial region. 

	24. 
	24. 
	Palliative Treatment for dental pain means emergency treatment to relieve the Client of pain; it is not a mechanism for addressing chronic pain. 

	25. 
	25. 
	Periodontal Treatment means the therapeutic plan intended to stop or slow periodontal disease progression. 

	26. 
	26. 
	Preventive Services means services concerned with promoting good oral health and function by preventing or reducing the onset and/or development of oral diseases or deformities and the occurrence of oro-facial injuries. 

	27. 
	27. 
	Program Payment means the maximum amount by procedure listed in Appendix A for Covered Dental Care Services for which a Qualified Grantee may invoice the Department under the Colorado Dental Health Care Program for Low-Income Seniors. Program Payment must not be less than the reimbursement schedule for fee-for-service dental fees under the medical assistance program established in Articles 4, 5, and 6 of 10 CCR 2505-10. 

	28. 
	28. 
	Prophylaxis means the removal of dental plaque and calculus from teeth, in order to prevent dental caries, gingivitis and periodontitis. 

	29. 
	29. 
	29. 
	Qualified Grantee or Grantee means an entity that can demonstrate that it can provide or Arrange For the provision of Covered Dental Care Services and may include but is not limited to: 

	a. 
	a. 
	a. 
	An Area Agency on Aging, as defined in section 26-11-201, C.R.S. (2022); 

	b. 
	b. 
	A community-based organization or foundation; 

	c. 
	c. 
	A Federally Qualified Health Center, safety-net clinic, or health district; 

	d. 
	d. 
	A local public health agency; or 

	e. 
	e. 
	A private dental practice. 



	30. 
	30. 
	Qualified Provider means a licensed dentist or dental hygienist in good standing in Colorado or a person who employs a licensed dentist or dental hygienist in good standing in Colorado and who is willing to accept reimbursement for Covered Dental Services. A Qualified Provider may also be a Qualified Grantee if the person meets the qualifications of a Qualified Grantee. 

	31. 
	31. 
	Removable Prosthesis means complete or partial Dental Prosthesis, which after an initial fitting by a dentist, can be removed and reinserted by the eligible senior. 

	32. 
	32. 
	Restorative Services means services rendered for the purpose of rehabilitation of dentition to functional or aesthetic needs of the Client. 

	33. 
	33. 
	Senior Dental Advisory Committee means the advisory committee established pursuant to section 25.5-3406, C.R.S. (2022). 




	ARTICLE II. 
	ARTICLE II. 
	Grant Applications 

	Section II.01 Evaluation of Grant Applications 
	Section II.01 Evaluation of Grant Applications 
	Grant applications submitted by potential Grantees of the Senior Dental Program are due February 1every year and will be for the following fiscal year. 
	st 

	Current Grantees of the Senior Dental Program are mandated to complete a new grant application every fourth year for renewal into the Senior Dental Program. 
	Grant applications will be evaluated by a review panel in accordance with the following criteria developed under the advice of the Senior Dental Advisory Committee. 
	1. 
	1. 
	1. 
	The review panel will be comprised of individuals who are deemed qualified by reason of training and/or experience and who have no personal or financial interest in the selection of any applicant. 

	2. 
	2. 
	The sole objective of the review panel is to recommend to the Department’s executive director those proposals which most accurately and effectively meet the goals of the program within the available funding. 

	3. 
	3. 
	3. 
	Preference will be given to grant proposals that clearly demonstrate the applicant’s ability to: 

	a. 
	a. 
	a. 
	Outreach to and identify Eligible Seniors; 

	b. 
	b. 
	Collaborate with community-based organizations; and 

	c. 
	c. 
	Serve a greater number of Eligible Seniors or serve Eligible Seniors who reside in a geographic area designated as a Dental HPSA. 



	4.
	4.
	 The review panel shall consider the distribution of funds across the state in recommending grant proposals for awards. The distribution of funds should be based on the estimated percentage of Eligible Seniors in the state by Area Agency on Aging region as provided by the Department and past grant fund expenditure, if applicable. 



	Section II.02 Grant Awards 
	Section II.02 Grant Awards 
	The Department’s executive director, or his or her designee, shall make the final grant awards to selected Qualified Grantees for the Senior Dental Program. 
	A Qualified Grantee that is awarded a grant under the Colorado Dental Health Care Program for Low-Income Seniors is required to: 
	1.
	1.
	1.
	 Identify and outreach to Eligible Seniors and Qualified Providers; 

	2.
	2.
	 Demonstrate collaboration with community-based organizations; 

	3.
	3.
	 Ensure that Eligible Seniors receive Covered Dental Care Services efficiently without duplication of services; 

	4.
	4.
	 Maintain records of Eligible Seniors serviced, Covered Dental Care Services provided, and monies spent for a minimum of six (6) years; 

	5.
	5.
	5.
	 For Eligible Seniors with dental coverage through a Medicare Advantage Plan, bill the Medicare Advantage Plan for dental procedures covered by the Medicare 

	Advantage Plan prior to seeking payment from the Department. The Colorado Dental Health Care Program is secondary to the Medicare Advantage Plan dental coverage; Non-urgent dental services; 

	6.
	6.
	Distribute grant funds to Qualified Providers in its service area or directly provideCovered Dental Care Services to Eligible Seniors;

	7.
	7.
	Expend no more than seven (7) percent of the amount of its grant award foradministrative purposes; and

	8.
	8.
	Submit an annual report.


	Grantees will receive a contract letter informing them of the grant award for the fiscal year. A contract will then be sent to all grantees using DocuSign. 


	Part
	H3
	ARTICLE III. APPLICANT ELIGIBILITY FOR SDP 

	Section III.01 Age Requirement 
	Section III.01 Age Requirement 
	1.All individuals must be 60 or over to qualify for the program.
	●Grantees must obtain a photo ID to show proof of age.
	2.If an applicant provides an unexpired Colorado Indigent Care Program (CICP) orHospital Discounted Care (HDC) card, they must still provide proof of their age.

	Section III.02 Income Requirement 
	Section III.02 Income Requirement 
	1.All individuals must be 250% of the most currently published Federal PovertyGuidelines (FPG) for a household their size.
	●The FPGs may be obtained at: 
	economic-mobility/poverty-guidelines
	https://aspe.hhs.gov/topics/poverty
	-


	2.
	2.
	2.
	If an applicant provides an unexpired CICP or HDC card they do not have toprovide any other income information, as they qualify.

	3.
	3.
	An applicant should provide an income statement of what their income is permonth. I.e., a Social Security stub, pension stub, etc.

	4.
	4.
	If an applicant cannot provide proof of their income, they may self-declare theirincome. The Grantee can use a current internal form or type a letter stating theamount the applicant makes and they may sign the form. The applicant can alsowrite a letter and sign it stating the amount they make per month or year.NOTE: We caution that this should only be used in cases when the applicantcannot provide proof and should not be a standard that is used in all cases.



	Section III.03 Colorado Resident 
	Section III.03 Colorado Resident 
	A Colorado resident is a person who currently lives in Colorado and intends to remain in the state. If the applicant is unable to provide actual proof of Colorado residency, they are allowed to self-declare their intent to remain in Colorado. 
	1.
	1.
	1.
	If an applicant provides an unexpired CICP or HDC card they do not have toprovide any other information regarding residency as they qualify.

	2. 
	2. 
	2. 
	The following questions can be used to assist in determining if the applicant is a Colorado resident: 

	● 
	● 
	● 
	Where is the applicant’s primary home? A primary home is the place of residence where a person lives and the place where that person, whenever absent, intends to return, regardless of the length of absence. A primary home cannot be a business address or a vacant lot or a post office box. 

	● 
	● 
	Is the applicant employed in the state of Colorado? 

	● 
	● 
	Is there a current lease, mortgage bill, or utility bill for the applicant’s primary home? 

	● 
	● 
	Does the applicant have a current Colorado Driver’s License or Identification Card? 





	Section III.04 Health First Colorado or Private Dental Insurance 
	Section III.04 Health First Colorado or Private Dental Insurance 
	1. An applicant cannot qualify for Health First Colorado or have private dental insurance. 
	● 
	● 
	● 
	If the applicant is under 65 years of age and meets the income threshold of Health First Colorado, they must supply a Health First Colorado denial letter to qualify for the Senior Dental Program. 

	● 
	● 
	If an applicant provides an unexpired CICP card they qualify for the program, as long as they are 60 or over. 


	2. The Grantee must check the Department’s web portal to see if the individual currently is on Health First Colorado. 
	● 
	● 
	● 
	The Grantee can obtain web portal access by contacting the Department. 

	● 
	● 
	A print screen of the web portal check should be put in the applicant’s file for audit purposes. The web portal is different from DentaQuest, a screen print of DentaQuest will not be accepted in lieu of the web portal print screen. 


	3. 
	3. 
	3. 
	If an applicant has a Medicare Advantage Plan (MAP) and dental insurance is embedded in the plan, it is not considered private dental insurance. 

	4. 
	4. 
	If an applicant has a MAP but also purchased a supplemental to receive extra dental coverage, the supplemental is considered private dental insurance. 


	ARTICLE IV. 
	INVOICES 


	Section IV.01 Invoice Information 
	Section IV.01 Invoice Information 
	1. 
	1. 
	1. 
	All procedures must be completed prior to billing the Department. Invoices are always due by the 15th of the following month. If the 15th falls on a state nonwork day the invoice will be due on the previous workday. For example, if the 15th falls on a Sunday, the invoice will be due on the 13th, the previous Friday. Any invoices submitted past the deadline date will be paid the following invoice month. 

	2. 
	2. 
	Grantees may bill the Department the entire treatment plan at once, or they may bill procedure by procedure from the treatment plan. No matter how it is billed to the Department, the procedures must be completed prior to the Department being billed for that procedure. Treatment plans can cross fiscal years. Procedures completed within a fiscal year must be paid within that fiscal year, unless the Grantee is waiting for a payment on a patient that has Medicare. This will be the only time that the Department 

	3. 
	3. 
	Approximately one month prior to a new fiscal year the Department will upload new workbooks into the Grantee’s SharePoint site. The workbook will contain a summary page, invoice instructions page, and a tab for each month of the fiscal year for the Grantee to submit. It will also contain an updated fee schedule, if applicable. Some columns of the invoice are password protected and cannot be changed by the Grantee due to auto populated information. To ensure that all required cells can be filled in, the Gran

	4. 
	4. 
	All invoices must be submitted to the Department via the Grantee’s SharePoint site. Access to this site may be obtained through contacting the Department. 



	Section IV.02 Summary Page 
	Section IV.02 Summary Page 
	1. The summary page tab of the “Invoices and Summary” workbook will be populated by the Department when the Grantee receives the workbook. This page will show: 
	● 
	● 
	● 
	Grantee name, address, and contact information 

	● 
	● 
	Expenditures 

	● 
	● 
	Grant award and running total 



	Section IV.03 Invoice Instructions 
	Section IV.03 Invoice Instructions 
	The Invoice Instructions tab contains the information that should be entered in each cell of the invoices and if it auto populates. 

	Section IV.04 Monthly Invoice Tabs 
	Section IV.04 Monthly Invoice Tabs 
	1. 
	1. 
	1. 
	There will be 12 tabs going from July through June, same as the state fiscal year. 

	2. 
	2. 
	2. 
	The invoice contains the following cells: 

	● 
	● 
	● 
	Client’s name -Must have first, middle initial, and last name. If no middle name it must be entered as NMI. Do not use any symbols, this includes commas, periods, etc. 

	● 
	● 
	Gender -Should be entered as M or F. 

	● 
	● 
	Client’s Zip Code -Should be the zip code of the Client’s home residence. 

	● 
	● 
	Date of Birth -Should be entered as xx/xx/xxxx and should match the ID used to prove age. 

	● 
	● 
	Has Medicare -Should be entered as Y or N. 

	● 
	● 
	Date of Service -Should be the date the procedure was completed and should be entered as xx/xx/xxxx. 

	● 
	● 
	Treating Provider -Should be the name of the individual that completed the procedure. 

	● 
	● 
	Location Zip Code -Should be the zip code of the location of where the procedure was performed. 

	● 
	● 
	Procedure Code -This is a drop-down list of procedures and the correct procedure should be selected. 

	● 
	● 
	Procedure Description -This automatically populates based on the procedure code selected. 

	● 
	● 
	Tooth Numbers -Tooth numbers should be listed if the fee schedule indicates it. Tooth numbers are only 1 -32 and cannot contain letters as baby teeth are not covered by the program. 

	● 
	● 
	Tooth Surfaces -Tooth surfaces should be listed if the fee schedule indicates it. 

	● 
	● 
	Quadrants -Quadrants should be listed if the fee schedule indicates it. 

	● 
	● 
	Patient Co-Pay Amt -The max copay amount that is listed on the fee schedule would need to be entered into the invoice as it does not automatically update. The reason for this is not all Grantees charge a copay. If an amount entered is over the max co-pay amount, the procedure will not be added into the total amount of the invoice. 

	● 
	● 
	Max Program Fee -This is the max procedure amount listed on the program’s fee schedule, it will auto populate. 

	● 
	● 
	Amt Less Than Max Fee -If the Grantee is going to bill less than the max program fee, this amount would be entered here. 

	● 
	● 
	Total Max Allowable Fee -This total will be the sum of the co-pay and the max program fee, it will auto populate. 

	● 
	● 
	Amt Billed to HCPF -This is the amount that will be billed to the Department. 

	● 
	● 
	Total Treatment Costs -This is the sum of all procedures from the “Amt Billed to HCPF”. 

	● 
	● 
	Total Administration Costs (7% of total Treatment Costs) -There is a 7% administration fee that will be paid to Grantees. For example, if the total treatment costs were $5,000 the 7% fee would be $350.00 ($5,000 x 7%). It is up to each Grantee if they will take the 7% or use it on treatments for the Clients. 



	3. 
	3. 
	3. 
	After the invoice is submitted to SharePoint, the Department will review all procedures billed. If there are procedures that were billed incorrectly, i.e., double 

	billed on the invoice, was billed prior, not enough time between the same procedure, etc., the Department will remove them from the invoice. The Department will then inform the Grantee the procedures removed and the new invoice amount. 

	4. 
	4. 
	Procedures from the following month cannot be on the invoice. For example, if the Grantee submits a February invoice, March procedures cannot be on the February invoice. However, past procedures can be on an invoice as long as it is within the same fiscal year. For example, if the Grantee is submitting the May invoice, any procedures from July through April can be on the May invoice. June will be the final invoice for every fiscal year. Grantees can add any procedures to the June invoice that did not get bi

	5. 
	5. 
	If there are numerous errors on the invoice the Department will contact the Grantee and let them know of the errors. The errors will need to be corrected and then the invoice uploaded again in the Grantee’s SharePoint site. 

	6. 
	6. 
	Grantees will receive an email from the Department when the invoice has been paid and when they should see the funds in their accounts. 




	ARTICLE  V. 
	ARTICLE  V. 
	Audits 

	The Senior Dental Program will conduct an audit once a year. Audits will be performed at random times throughout the year and can be performed up to four times per year. 
	● 
	● 
	● 
	The yearly Audit period will reflect the previous fiscal year’s Senior Dental Program documents beginning on July 1st through June 30th, unless otherwise indicated by the Department. 

	● 
	● 
	The Department will randomly select Client files for each Grantee and send the audit list via email to the approved Grantee contact person on file. 

	● 
	● 
	Clients that receive Immediate Dentures are automatically added to the audit list. 

	● 
	● 
	The Grantees shall have 30 days to upload this data into their SharePoint drive. Extensions may be granted for due cause. 

	● 
	● 
	All files selected will be reviewed to ensure they were not part of Health First Colorado during the time of service. 


	1. The SDP program documents required in each Client file for review by the Department includes: 
	● 
	● 
	● 
	An Unexpired CICP or HDC program card. The Client automatically qualifies for the Senior Dental Program as long as they are 60 or over, with a valid photo ID. 

	● 
	● 
	Age verification, an unexpired photo Identification card – usually a Colorado Driver’s License. 

	● 
	● 
	Proof of income can be several types of documentation, please see section on income. 

	● 
	● 
	Copy of Medicare and MAP Cards, include fee schedule (if available). 

	● 
	● 
	The Department web portal verification form. The file must show the patient is NOT currently in Health First Colorado or the Old Age Pension Health and Medical Care Program. Other dental eligibility web portal forms will not be accepted by the Department. 

	● 
	● 
	Health First Colorado Denial Documentation – If the Client’s age is 60 to 64 and is at or below 138% FPG (Federal Poverty Guidelines) and is not on Health First Colorado or one of the MSP (Medicare Savings Programs), a Health First Colorado denial letter is required. 

	● 
	● 
	Patients 65 years or older do not need a Health First Colorado denial letter. 

	● 
	● 
	Consent form if Immediate Dentures were delivered, the Informed Consent for Immediate Dentures form must be in the Client’s file. The Consent form must have both the dentist and Client’s signature on file. 

	● 
	● 
	Grantee ledger showing the dental services completed. Ledger should match what was billed to the Department and should include: ❖ Client Name ❖ Client’s zip code ❖ Date of Service ❖ Treating Provider ❖ Location zip code ❖ Procedure Code ❖ Tooth Number(s) ❖ Quadrants ❖ Patient Copay ❖ Amount if less than maximum program fee 


	❖ Total ❖ Billed to HCPF 
	2. The Department reviews the Client documents for eligibility, accuracy and completeness. The items include, but are not limited to: 
	● 
	● 
	● 
	Unexpired CICP or HDC card. 

	● 
	● 
	Unexpired photo ID to verify age. 

	● 
	● 
	The Department web portal verification form. 

	● 
	● 
	Copies of Medicare & MAP cards, if applicable. 

	● 
	● 
	Proof of Income. 

	● 
	● 
	Medicare denial letter, if applicable. 

	● 
	● 
	Duplicate billing, if a service was previously paid to the same or related. provider procedures must be reimbursed back to the Department. 

	● 
	● 
	Billing the same procedures more than what the fee schedule allows. 

	● 
	● 
	Overcharge of allowable max Client co-payment fee. 

	● 
	● 
	Incorrect, missing, or illegible ledger for services provided. 

	● 
	● 
	Billing prior to the date of service. 


	3. A Corrective Action Plan (CAP) will be issued to Grantees to address specific discrepancies found during the audit. A review summary and CAP form will be completed by the Department showing what the findings were. The Grantee will be required to submit the following forms within 30 days of the CAP being issued: 
	● 
	● 
	● 
	The completed and signed CAP form. Must provide a detailed outline on the action taken to mitigate the issue and to prevent its recurrence. 

	● 
	● 
	Copies of missing documents (program documents, ledgers, photo ID’s). 


	4. If the required SDP program documents listed below cannot be produced, then the Client does not qualify for the program, and procedures billed to the program must be reimbursed back to the Department. 
	● 
	● 
	● 
	Photo ID to verify program age requirements. 

	● 
	● 
	Proof of income. 

	● 
	● 
	Missing procedure ledgers showing service date, procedure codes, tooth number, quadrants, amount billed, and co-payments. 



	ARTICLE VI. 
	ARTICLE VI. 
	APPENDIX 

	Section VI.01 Senior Dental Program Eligibility and Other Health Programs 
	Section VI.01 Senior Dental Program Eligibility and Other Health Programs 
	The table below illustrates what program categories can and cannot be used in conjunction with the Senior Dental Program. 
	Health First Colorado Programs for Adults 
	Health First Colorado Programs for Adults 
	Health First Colorado Programs for Adults 
	Description of Programs 
	FPG 
	Senior Dental ProgEligible 
	Effective Date 

	Health First Colorado for Adults 
	Health First Colorado for Adults 
	Adults age 19 through 64 without a dependent child in the home. 
	133% FPG 
	No 
	Backdates up to 90 days from Health First Colorado application. 


	Programs for Adults with Disabilities 
	Programs for Adults with Disabilities 
	Programs for Adults with Disabilities 
	Description of Programs 
	FPG 
	Senior Dental ProgEligible 
	Effective Date 

	Brain Injury 
	Brain Injury 
	Provides home 
	300% SSI 
	No 

	Waiver (BI) 
	Waiver (BI) 
	or community-based alternative to hospital or specialized nursing facility care for persons with a brain injury. Must be 16 years of age or older. 

	Colorado 
	Colorado 
	Helps transition 
	133% FPG 
	No 

	Choice 
	Choice 
	Health First 

	Transitions 
	Transitions 
	Colorado 

	(CCT) 
	(CCT) 
	members out of nursing homes and long-term care facilities and 

	Programs for Adults with Disabilities 
	Programs for Adults with Disabilities 
	Description of Programs 
	FPG 
	Senior Dental ProgEligible 
	Effective Date 

	TR
	into home and community-based settings. 

	Community 
	Community 
	Provides home 
	300% SSI 
	No 

	Mental Health 
	Mental Health 
	or community-

	Supports 
	Supports 
	based 

	Waiver (CMHS) 
	Waiver (CMHS) 
	alternative to nursing facility care for people with major mental illness. 

	Developmental 
	Developmental 
	Provides 
	300% SSI 
	No 

	Disabilities 
	Disabilities 
	people with 

	Waiver (DD) 
	Waiver (DD) 
	developmental disabilities services and supports that allow them to continue living in the community. 

	Elderly, Blind, 
	Elderly, Blind, 
	Provides an 
	300% SSI 
	No 

	& Disabled 
	& Disabled 
	alternative to 

	Waiver (EBD) 
	Waiver (EBD) 
	nursing facility care for elderly, blind, or physically disabled persons, as well as individuals living with HIV/AIDS. 

	Family Support 
	Family Support 
	Provides 
	N.A. 
	No 

	Services 
	Services 
	support for 

	Program 
	Program 
	families who 

	(FSSP) 
	(FSSP) 
	have children with developmental 

	Programs for Adults with Disabilities 
	Programs for Adults with Disabilities 
	Description of Programs 
	FPG 
	Senior Dental ProgEligible 
	Effective Date 

	TR
	disabilities or delays with costs that are beyond those normally experienced by other families. 

	Health First 
	Health First 
	Buy-In for 
	450% FPG 
	No 
	Backdates up 

	Colorado Buy-
	Colorado Buy-
	adults who are 
	to 90 days 

	In Program for 
	In Program for 
	16 through 65 
	from Health 

	Working Adults 
	Working Adults 
	years of age, 
	First Colorado 

	with Disabilities 
	with Disabilities 
	employed, and have a qualifying disability. Monthly premium based on the family’s income. 
	application 

	Spinal Cord 
	Spinal Cord 
	Provides home 
	300% SSI 
	No 

	Injury Waiver 
	Injury Waiver 
	or community
	-


	(SCI) 
	(SCI) 
	based alternative for people with a spinal cord injury in the Denver Metro Area 

	Supported 
	Supported 
	Provides 
	300% SSI 
	No 

	Living Services 
	Living Services 
	supported 

	Waiver (SLS) 
	Waiver (SLS) 
	living in the home or community to persons with developmental disabilities 

	Senior Adult Programs 
	Senior Adult Programs 
	Description of Programs 
	FPG 
	CICP Eligible 
	Effective Date 

	Old Age 
	Old Age 
	Disabled or 65 
	76.9% FPG 
	No 
	Backdates up 

	Pension (OAP)
	Pension (OAP)
	-

	and over. 
	to 90 days 

	A and B-
	A and B-
	Financial 
	from Health 

	Medical 
	Medical 
	payment entitles clients for a category of Medical Assistance, either Health First Colorado or Health Care Program. 
	First Colorado application. 

	Old Age 
	Old Age 
	Not eligible for 
	76.9% FPG 
	Yes 
	Eligibility 

	Pension (OAP-
	Pension (OAP-
	Health First 
	begins date of 

	State Only) 
	State Only) 
	Colorado. 
	application or 

	and HCP-B 
	and HCP-B 
	date eligibility 

	State Only 
	State Only 
	is established, whichever is later. 


	Medicare SavingsPrograms(MSP) 
	Medicare SavingsPrograms(MSP) 
	Medicare SavingsPrograms(MSP) 
	Description of Programs 
	FPG 
	CICP Eligible 
	Effective Date 

	Specified Low-
	Specified Low-
	State pays for 
	Monthly 
	Yes 
	Backdates up 

	Income 
	Income 
	Medicare Part 
	income of 
	to 90 days 

	Medicare 
	Medicare 
	B premiums. 
	$1,234 for 
	from 

	Beneficiary 
	Beneficiary 
	individuals, 
	application. 

	Program 
	Program 
	$1,666 for 

	(SLMB) 
	(SLMB) 
	couples 

	Qualified 
	Qualified 
	State pays for 
	Monthly 
	Yes 
	Backdates up 

	Individual 
	Individual 
	Medicare Part 
	income of 
	to 90 days 

	Program (QI1) 
	Program (QI1) 
	B premiums. 
	$1,386 for 
	from 

	TR
	Granted on a 
	individuals, 
	application. 

	TR
	first-come, 
	$1,872 for 

	TR
	first-served 
	couples 

	TR
	basis with 

	TR
	priority for 

	Medicare SavingsPrograms(MSP) 
	Medicare SavingsPrograms(MSP) 
	Description of Programs 
	FPG 
	CICP Eligible 
	Effective Date 

	TR
	people who received QI the previous year. 

	Qualified 
	Qualified 
	State pays for 
	Monthly 
	Yes 

	Disabled and 
	Disabled and 
	Medicare Part 
	income of 

	Working 
	Working 
	A premium. 
	$2,044 for 

	Individual 
	Individual 
	Must be 
	individuals, 

	(QDWI) 
	(QDWI) 
	working disabled person under age 65 and not receiving other medical assistance from the state 
	$2,764 for couples 

	Qualified 
	Qualified 
	State pays for 
	Monthly 
	Yes 
	Effective 1st 

	Medicare 
	Medicare 
	Part A and B 
	income of 
	day of month 

	Beneficiary 
	Beneficiary 
	premiums and 
	$1,032 for 
	following the 

	Program (QMB) 
	Program (QMB) 
	Medicare deductibles, coinsurance, and copays. 
	individuals, $1,392 for couples 
	month of eligibility determination. 

	Medicare
	Medicare
	-

	65 years or 
	100% FPG 
	No 
	Effective 1st 

	Health First 
	Health First 
	older, disabled 
	day of month 

	Colorado –QMB 
	Colorado –QMB 
	status under 
	following the 

	(Dual Eligible) 
	(Dual Eligible) 
	Social Security, 
	month of 

	TR
	or Railroad 
	eligibility 

	TR
	Retirement 
	determination. 

	TR
	assistance with 

	TR
	Medicare 

	TR
	premiums and 

	TR
	out of pocket 

	TR
	Health First 

	TR
	Colorado 

	TR
	expenses. 






