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Overview 

The Department of Health Care Policy & Financing (the Department) is offering interim 
primary care provider payments to help stabilize Colorado’s safety net health system and 
preserve access to care in communities across the state during the novel coronavirus (COVID-
19).  
  
Through a unique public-private partnership with five local Colorado health foundations, 
eligible providers receive a lump sum interim payment that totals their 4th Quarter 2019 
Health First Colorado revenue. Thanks to funding from Caring for Colorado, The Colorado 
Health Foundation, Delta Dental of Colorado Foundation, Rocky Mountain Health Foundation 
and Rose Community Foundation, half of the interim payment will not need to be repaid by 
providers. The other half of the interim payment is funded by the federal government and 
will need to be repaid. The interim payment received is in addition to regular claims 
reimbursement, which is paid in a lump sum the quarter after the interim payment is 
received. Providers will have close to a year to repay half of the interim payment, with a 0% 
interest rate. Payments will go to individual clinic sites and providers to preserve access to 
care for Health First Colorado members. 
 
In October 2020, the Department distributed nearly $600,000 in interim payments to 
providers known to have experienced revenue loss as a result the COVID-19 emergency. In 
February 2021, the Department will release another round of interim payments to a new set 
of eligible primary care providers. 

Interim Payment Example 

Eligible providers will receive an interim payment totaling their Q4 2019 Health First Colorado revenue.    

 

Example: $50,000 Interim Payment 

to Provider (based on Q4 2019 revenue)

$25,000 Grant=

Funded by local health 
foundations, no 

repayment required

$25,000 loan=

0% interest loan with a 
one-year repayment 

period

Regular Claims 
Reimbursement

Providers continue to 
bill for services 

provided and receive 
payment for those 

services the following 
quarter.
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The Model 

Payment  

Primary care clinic sites that meet program requirements (see below) will be eligible for an 
interim, lump-sum payment based on their pre-COVID Q4 2019 total Health First Colorado 
revenue. Providers will receive their interim payment through a Gainwell (previously DXC,) 
transmittal during February 2021 that acts as 90-day payment of all fee-for-service claims 
between Feb-April 2021. Providers still need to submit claims during the timeframe they 
receive the interim payment. Federal law requires that all regular claims reimbursement 
be halted during the interim payment period (February-April 2021), however regular 
reimbursement will resume in May 2021 and the provider will be reimbursed for all 
services provided to Health First Colorado during the interim payment period.  
 
The example below demonstrates how an interim payment will work. 

Provider Interim Payment Example 
Interim Payment 
distributed to providers 
in February 2021 

Example: 
$50,000  
Lump Sum 
Interim Payment 

The paid amount is equal to claims paid for Q4 
2019 by Health First Colorado for fee-for-service. 
Half of this amount is a grant, and half is a no-
interest loan. 

Provider bills normally 
for Feb-April 2021, but 
payment will be held. 

$0 
Claims Payment 

FFS payments are held by the Department during 
this time, but payments from managed care 
payments will continue. 

Feb-April 2021 claims 
payment made in May 
2021 

$40,000 
FFS Claims 
Payment 

Provider receives the payment held by the 
Department after the quarter closes. These are the 
FFS payments that were not paid during Feb-April 
2021. The payment is made through the normal 
claims payment process. 

Total Paid to Provider 
for Feb-April 2021 

$90,000 
Total Payments 

Provider received February 2021 Interim Payment 
plus actual claims billed Feb-April 2021. Repayment 
of the loan portion of the interim payment does not 
begin for 6 months- allowing providers to have 
more cash immediately on hand. 

Repayment Process starts October 2021 
Amount provider received 
for claims 

$40,000  
FFS Claims 
Amount Paid 

The payment is made through the normal claims 
payment process in May 2021. 

Amount provider receives 
as grant 

$25,000 
Grant 

Half of the February 2021 Interim Payment 

Amount provider owes to 
HCPF 

($25,000) 
Federal Loan 

Starting October 2021, the provider will have 
multiple options for repayment as described in the 
next section. Full repayment is due August 2022. 

Net Benefit for Q4 2020 $65,000 Provider's Net is $25,000 more than would have 
been paid that quarter without this program. 

Repayment 
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To ease administrative burden for providers, the Department will be responsible for 
reconciling the federal portion of the interim payment and will work with the provider to 
ensure they understand and agree with the amount of their repayment obligation. The 
Department is currently working directly with primary care providers to develop an efficient 
and easy to understand reconciliation process.  

Options to Repay 

Providers will select an option to repay the federal portion of the loan.   

• Accounts receivable balances can be deducted from the weekly claims payment 
displayed on the remittance advice between Oct. 2021-August 2022. 

 OR 

• Send a single check or four quarterly installments. 
 

In October 2021, the Department will begin the repayment process based on the repayment 
option selected by the provider. The repayment process will begin in October 2021 and must 
be completed no later than August 31, 2022. 

The reconciliation process will take into consideration the federal funds paid through the 
February 2020 Interim Payment calculated at Colorado’s State Plan Rate, excluding any 
enhanced federal fund match authorized through the Family First Act, and the federal match 
rate that should have been paid based on the member’s eligibility category.  

 

Who is Eligible? 

Over the last decade, the Department and the Colorado philanthropic community have 
invested significantly in supporting integrated care with a focus on behavioral health and 
dental care in primary care settings. To build upon this investment in whole person care, the 
interim payment program will be available to primary care providers who had Health First 
Colorado member attribution in FY 2019-20 and who provided integrated health services.  

In February 2021, the Department will release additional interim payments to primary care 
clinic sites that meet program eligibility as follows: 

✓ Contracted Health First Colorado (Colorado’s Medicaid Program) and Regional 
Accountable Entity (RAE) provider 

✓ Provides integrated behavioral health or dental care as demonstrated through billed 
claims or through a partner relationship with a provider co-located at your clinic site* 

✓ Agrees to continue to see the same number of Health First Colorado members, not file 
bankruptcy or lay off staff during the interim payment period (Feb-April 2021) 

✓ Attests that any Federal COVID-19 relief funding received will not exceed expected 
revenue during interim payment period (Feb-April 2021) 
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✓ Billed less than $105,000 in Health First Colorado (Medicaid) claims in Quarter 4 of 
Calendar Year 2019 

✓ Payer mix includes at least 30% Health First Colorado (Medicaid), Child Health Plan 
Plus, and uninsured payor mix in a rural area OR 40% Health First Colorado (Medicaid), 
Child Health Plan Plus and uninsured payer mix in an urban area. 

✓ Submits a quick & easy program application* 

* Provider Interim Payments Contingent upon federal model approval. 

 
Providers that already received an interim payment during Round 1 are not eligible to 
apply again. 

 

Timeline 

Below is the estimated timeline for key decisions and actions.  

What By When 

Deadline for providers to submit applications for interim payments January 18, 2021 

Awards designated January 25, 2021 

Providers continue to submit claims as usual, but payment will be 
held   

Feb. 1, 2021- 
April. 30,2021 

Funds distributed    By Feb. 5, 2021 

End of claims hold   April 30, 2021 

Payments for claims 2/1/2021-4/30/2021 will be processed (in 
addition to the interim payment- providers will receive claims 
payment) 

May 3, 2021 

Department completes the reconciliation process  Aug. 2021 

Providers will receive notice of owed amount and will have 30 
days to appeal    

Sept. 2021 

Collection of loan of federal portion will begin      Oct. 2021 

All federal funds will be recouped and returned to CMS   Aug. 31, 2022 

 

Frequently Asked Questions 

1. Where can I apply? 

A: The application is here. 

2. What can these funds be used for? Are there any restrictions? 

A: The intention of these funds is help preserve access to care to Health First 

Colorado members. These funds can be used for general operations of the Primary 

Care Provider so the practice can continue to see Health First Colorado members and 

https://forms.gle/41hEhD8RyDTPCwPm7
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prevent staff layoffs during the public health emergency. Once the federal funds have 

been returned any surplus can be used at the providers’ discretion.   

3. Will there be technical assistance for this application and reconciliation process? 

How can I tell if my practice will be eligible?  

A: Yes. The Regional Accountable Entities (RAE) will be providing direct outreach to 

potentially eligible sites and can provide technical assistance for completing 

applications and later to understand the reconciliation process. Providers should 

reach out to their Provider Relations contact below for more information.  

To find the RAE for your region please visit the website at: 

https://www.colorado.gov/hcpf/accphase2  

• Rocky Mountain Health Plans (Dale Renzi): 970-248-5132 

• Northeast Health Partners (Alma Mejorado): 719-529-1468 

• Colorado Access (Aaron Brotherson): 303-810-8784 

• Health Colorado (Brian Hill or Julia Duffer): 1-888-502-4187 

• Colorado Community Health Alliance (Josie Dostie or Andrea Skubal):303-256-1717 
 

 
 

 

For more information visit 
https://www.colorado.gov/hcpf/integrated-care-provider 

https://www.colorado.gov/hcpf/accphase2
https://www.colorado.gov/hcpf/integrated-care-provider

