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‭January 2025‬

‭The Department of Health Care Policy and Financing (HCPF) invites feedback on proposed‬
‭revisions to the state’s Medicaid Disproportionate Share Hospital (DSH) payment qualification‬
‭requirements.‬

‭This document includes the current DSH qualification policy, proposed revisions to the DSH‬
‭qualification policy, and background information.‬

‭Feedback‬
‭Feedback may be provided via email to‬‭hcpf_CICPCorrespondence@state.co.us‬‭or during‬
‭public comment at the following meetings where this proposal will be presented:‬

‭●‬ ‭January 13th at 11 am:‬ ‭Hospital Discounted Care‬‭stakeholder‬‭meeting‬‭via Zoom‬
‭●‬ ‭January 27th at 1 pm:‬‭CICP Stakeholder Advisory Council‬‭meeting‬‭via Zoom‬
‭●‬ ‭February 25th at 3 pm:‬‭Colorado Healthcare Affordability‬‭and Sustainability Enterprise‬

‭(CHASE) Board‬‭meeting‬‭via Zoom‬

‭Current DSH Requirements‬
‭Today CICP participating hospitals are funded through the DSH payment that is part of the‬
‭CHASE. Under‬‭current rules‬‭, to qualify for a DSH payment‬‭a Colorado hospital must meet the‬
‭federal minimum requirements and‬

‭●‬ ‭Participate in CICP, or‬
‭●‬ ‭Be a Critical Access Hospital, or‬
‭●‬ ‭Be a hospital that must receive DSH payments under federal law, i.e., a Medicaid‬

‭utilization at least one standard deviation above the mean for hospitals in the state‬
‭that receive Medicaid payments or a low-income inpatient utilization in greater than‬
‭25%‬

mailto:hcpf_CICPCorrespondence@state.co.us
https://hcpf.colorado.gov/hospital-discounted-care
https://zoom.us/j/95345321601
https://hcpf.colorado.gov/colorado-indigent-care-program-stakeholder-advisory-council
https://zoom.us/j/92802859784
https://hcpf.colorado.gov/colorado-healthcare-affordability-and-sustainability-enterprise-chase-board
https://hcpf.colorado.gov/colorado-healthcare-affordability-and-sustainability-enterprise-chase-board
https://us06web.zoom.us/j/83328861503?pwd=SUFPaHNYQ1lOMHF4TVU2eDZsZ2IyUT09
https://www.sos.state.co.us/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=3270&deptID=7&agencyID=69&deptName=Department%20of%20Health%20Care%20Policy%20and%20Financing&agencyName=Medical%20Services%20Board%20(Volume%208;%20Medical%20Assistance,%20Children%27s%20Health%20Plan)&seriesNum=10%20CCR%202505-10%208.3000
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‭Proposed DSH Requirements effective July 1, 2025‬
‭With changes from current policy highlighted in yellow, HCPF proposes to qualify for a DSH‬
‭payment a Colorado hospital must meet the federal minimum requirements, and:‬

‭●‬ ‭Have‬‭an approved charity care program‬‭, or‬
‭●‬ ‭Be a Critical Access Hospital or‬‭Sole Community Hospital‬‭located in a rural county‬‭, or‬
‭●‬ ‭Be a hospital that must receive DSH payments under federal law, i.e., a Medicaid‬

‭utilization at least one standard deviation above the mean for hospitals in the state‬
‭that receive Medicaid payments or a low-income inpatient utilization greater than 25%‬

‭An approved charity care program‬‭must include at a‬‭minimum:‬

‭●‬ ‭Discounted hospital services for uninsured patients with incomes up to and including‬
‭250% of the federal poverty guideline.‬

‭●‬ ‭A sliding fee scale consisting of a tiered co-payment system with at least three tiers‬
‭that determines the level of patient’s financial participation.‬

‭○‬ ‭The sliding fee scale shall guarantee that the highest co-payment tier for‬
‭patient financial participation is below the rates established for‬‭Hospital‬
‭Discounted Care‬‭.‬

‭○‬ ‭Factors considered in establishing the tiered co-payment system shall only be‬
‭the patient's income and the number of members in the patient’s family unit.‬

‭○‬ ‭The patient’s co-payment determination must be good for at least one year‬
‭from the date of income determination.‬

‭○‬ ‭Payment plans must be allowed and shall not exceed the amount and duration‬
‭established in‬‭Hospital Discounted Care‬‭.‬

‭○‬ ‭The sliding fee scale must include the following hospital services at a‬
‭minimum: emergency department visits, inpatient stays, laboratory services,‬
‭imaging services, and hospital dispensed pharmaceuticals.‬

‭●‬ ‭A policy exempting patient debt from any permissible collection action for those who‬
‭qualify for the hospital's charity care program.‬

‭Background‬

‭House Bill (HB) 24-1399‬
‭HB24-1399‬‭sunsets the CICP effective July 1, 2025.‬‭As directed in the legislation, in‬
‭consultation with the CHASE Board, HCPF will present rules for the Medical Services Board’s‬
‭consideration to revise the DSH payment qualification policy. Subject to the federal‬
‭requirements, the DSH payment policy must direct funding to hospitals serving a greater‬
‭proportion of Medicaid and uninsured patients compared to other hospitals and offering‬
‭financial assistance to lower-income Coloradans.‬

https://hcpf.colorado.gov/hospital-discounted-care
https://hcpf.colorado.gov/hospital-discounted-care
https://hcpf.colorado.gov/Hospital-Discounted-Care-Rates
https://leg.colorado.gov/bills/hb24-1399
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‭CICP Advisory Council‬
‭In contemplating the sunset of the CICP, the CICP Advisory Council developed‬‭a proposal for‬
‭the future of the CICP‬‭in May 2022. The Council recommendations‬‭included adjusting DSH‬
‭rules to reflect the current minimum requirements of CICP related to hospital charity care‬
‭programs and allocate funding to hospitals providing services to Coloradans making up to‬
‭250% of the federal poverty guideline.‬

‭Federal Requirements‬
‭Federal law‬‭requires that state Medicaid programs‬‭make DSH payments to qualifying‬
‭hospitals that serve a large number of Medicaid and uninsured individuals.‬

‭States have broad flexibility in both determining which hospitals receive DSH payments and‬
‭in how the payments are calculated. However, states must make DSH payments to deemed‬
‭DSH hospitals, which must meet one of two criteria specified in federal statute:‬

‭●‬ ‭A Medicaid utilization at least one standard deviation above the mean for hospitals in‬
‭the state that receive Medicaid payments, or‬

‭●‬ ‭A low-income inpatient utilization in excess of 25 percent‬

‭States may designate other hospitals to receive DSH payments as long as they have a‬
‭Medicaid utilization rate of at least one percent and, with certain exceptions, at least two‬
‭obstetricians with staff privileges that treat Medicaid enrollees.‬

‭As a result, states may designate a wide range of hospitals as DSH hospitals, as long as those‬
‭meeting the specified minimum criteria are included. A state’s DSH payment methodology is‬
‭specified within its Medicaid State Plan.‬

‭Additional References‬
‭●‬ ‭Medicaid Disproportionate Share Hospital (DSH) Payments‬
‭●‬ ‭Disproportionate share hospital payments - MACPAC‬
‭●‬ ‭Medicaid Base and Supplemental Payments to Hospitals | MACPAC‬

‭For more information contact‬

‭hcpf_CICPCorrespondence@state.co.us‬

https://hcpf.colorado.gov/sites/hcpf/files/CICP_Program_Future_Proposal%20%285-23-22-clean-final%29.docx.pdf
https://hcpf.colorado.gov/sites/hcpf/files/CICP_Program_Future_Proposal%20%285-23-22-clean-final%29.docx.pdf
https://uscode.house.gov/view.xhtml?hl=false&edition=prelim&req=granuleid%3AUSC-1999-title42-section1396r-4&num=0
https://www.medicaid.gov/medicaid/financial-management/medicaid-disproportionate-share-hospital-dsh-payments/index.html
https://www.macpac.gov/subtopic/disproportionate-share-hospital-payments/
https://www.macpac.gov/wp-content/uploads/2020/03/Medicaid-Base-and-Supplemental-Payments-to-Hospitals.pdf
mailto:hcpf_CICPCorrespondence@state.co.us

