

Dear Private Duty Nursing Providers,

Prior Authorization Requests (PARs) for Private Duty Nursing (PDN) were to be submitted as part of the 10-month phased-in implementation from November 1, 2021 - August 30, 2022, to the Colorado PAR program via the online PAR portal.

Effective for dates of service beginning September 1, 2022, all members receiving PDN services are required to have an approved PAR in order to continue to receive services. Providers may receive a denial for submitted claims if there is not a matching PAR with the same dates, codes and member ID. This was published in the November 2021 Provider Bulletin.

The list of PDN codes can be found on the Home Health and PDN Fee Schedule.

Visit the <u>ColoradoPAR: Health First Colorado Prior Authorization Request Program web</u> <u>page</u> or contact <u>Kepro's Customer Service</u> for any questions regarding submitting PARs to Kepro. Email <u>hcpf_um@state.co.us</u> for escalated concerns or questions about the Department of Health Care Policy & Financing (the Department) PAR program.

Private Duty Nursing (PDN) Services for Adult Members

There was a recent change to the <u>Private Duty Nursing (PDN) benefit</u> to allow for an exception to the 16 hours per day of PDN service limit when the PAR is determined to be medically necessary. The PDN benefit provides skilled nursing services to members who require more individualized and continuous care than is available from a visiting nurse. Current regulations allow PDN to be performed for up to 16 hours per day for adults.

Colorado statute prohibits authorization of the full 24 hours for adults. The new PDN exception process will allow for Health First Colorado members to receive up to 23 hours per day if criteria are met.

This change was in effect as of August 12, 2022, upon the approval of emergency promulgation of regulations at the Medical Services Board (MSB).

Providers may request a maximum of 23 hours per day for adult members.

- PARs will be reviewed for medical necessity on a case-by-case basis.
- The PDN Tool, the Plan of Care (POC), the Physician order (PA order) and all supporting documentation remains required for all PDN PARs.
- New PAR: For adult members who do not have an active PAR in place, a new PAR should be submitted. Please note, as of September 1, 2022, PARs are required for all PDN services.

For members who currently have an active PDN PAR:

- Requests for increase of hours on PARs already in place should be submitted as a PAR Revision, also called a PAR Modification, to the current PAR.
- The start date should be updated to August 12, 2022, but no changes should be made to the PAR's original end date.
- Requests to back date the PAR prior to August 12, 2022, will be denied.
- Please do not submit a new PAR, as this would increase the likelihood the claim will deny for duplication of services.
- The prior authorization order (POC), the PDN tool and any additional
 documentation must appropriately reflect the hours requested. If the
 documentation from the original PAR does not reflect the hours requested in the
 modification, ensure the updated documents are submitted. Failure to upload
 these documents may result in the PAR Pended for additional information.
- Because this is a PAR Revision, an updated physician order is not required if the date spans on the PAR Revision include a start date of August 12, 2022, to the (original) PAR end date.

Contact Kepro at com for more information on how to properly submit these cases as a PAR Revision.

Contact the UM Team at hcpf um@state.co.us with questions about the PAR process.

Contact the Office of Community Living PDN Benefit Management Team at <a href="https://www.hcbs.gov/hc

Thank you,

Department of Health Care Policy & Financing