Prenatal Plus Program
(PN+): Provider
Information

*Last reviewed August 2025

® COLORADO
. w Department of Health Care
A Policy & Financing



P
f ) *ﬁ\
v ’&'im Rl

DB TR SN\

Our Mlssmn

Improving health care equity, access and outcomes
for the people we serve while saving Coloradans
money on health care and driving value for Colorado.
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What We Do

The Department of Health Care Policy &
Financing administers Health First Colorado
(Colorado’s Medicaid program), Child Health Plan
Plus (CHP+) and other health care programs for
Coloradans who qualify.
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Prenatal Plus (PN+)
Program

* Prenatal Plus (PN+) is an enhanced perinatal service
program for high-risk, pregnant members of Health
First Colorado (Colorado’s Medicaid Program).

* |In addition to their obstetric care, eligible members are
provided the services of a:

o care coordinator
o dietitian
o behavioral health professional
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Program Goals

e Reducing the incidence of low-birthweight babies
e Decreasing Colorado’s infant mortality rate

e Improving maternal behavioral health.
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Program Outcomes

Prenatal Plus, when delivered at full fidelity (Full Plus
Package Type), has improved outcomes when compared
with the rest of Colorado and Medicaid, including:

e Lower rate of low birth weight

e Lower preterm birth rates

e Higher (but decreasing) NICU Admission Rates
e Lower Infant Mortality rates

e Higher referral rate to WIC
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Participant Eligibility

e Pregnant individuals who are Health First Colorado
(Colorado Medicaid) members.

« Individuals who are experiencing ANY of the risk
factors according to our Intake Form.
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https://hcpf.colorado.gov/sites/hcpf/files/PN%2B%20Inkate%20Form%20Aug%202023-F2.pdf

Eligibility Intake Form

Medicaid member is at risk of poor maternal and/or infant health outcome(s)
due to at least one (1) of the following (check all that apply):

1 History of previous low birth weight infant

1 Age 18 or younger at time of conception

1 Age 35 or greater at time of conception

1 Recent or current alcohol use

1 Recent or currentillicit drug use

1 Recent or current smoker

1 Pre-pregnancy BMI less than 18.5 kg/m2

1 Pre-pregnancy BMI greater than or equal to 30 kg/m2

1 Recent delivery (12 months prior)

1 Inadequate prenatal weight gain

1 Education level less than appropriate for age

1 Single parent

1 Cognitive or developmental disability

1 Member does not desire the pregnancy or has unresolved feelings regarding the pregnancy
1 Experienced a pregnancy loss

1 History of or current mental health disorder, including depression

1 History of or current domestic violence

1 History of abuse in childhood

1 Incarcerated within the past year, currently on probation or received a felony conviction within past 25 years
1 Has been homeless within the past 12 months

1 Moved to the U.S. within past 6 months as a refugee or political asylee

1 English spoken as a 2nd language or lives in a household where English is not the primary language
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Eligibility Intake Form cont.

Medicaid member is at risk of poor maternal and/or infant health outcome(s)
due to at least two (2) of the following in the last twelve months (check all that

apply):

1 The member had the death of someone very close to them
[ Their partner went to jail
1 Someone very close to them has had drug or alcohol problems
1 A close family member was very sick and had to go into the hospital
1 They are/were separated or divorced from their partner
1 They have moved to a new address in the last 12 months
1 Their partner lost his/her job
1 Lost their job
1 They argued with their partner more than usual
[ The partner said he/she didn’t want the member to be pregnant
1 The member had a lot of bills that they couldn’t pay
1 The member was in a physical fight
1 The member lacks social support
Total stress factors in the last 12 months

**End form here if the member does not qualify for the program.

COLORADO

Department of Health Care
Policy & Financing




PN+ Providers
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Provider Eligibility

 Must be a CO Medicaid Provider enrolled as one of the
following billing provider types:

o Clinic, Federally Qualified Health Center, Rural
Health Center, Non-Physician Practitioner Group,
Physician, Nurse Practitioner, Certified Nurse-
Midwife, or Physician’s Assistant;

* Provider Participation Agreement
* Manage a Multidisciplinary team

« Retain records of patients
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Benefits for Providers

Despite being an increased risk population, Prenatal Plus
members who receive the most intensive package have:

e Lower prematurity rates than all of Colorado

o Have lower low birth weight rates than the rest of
Health First Colorado

Many counties and obstetric practices are looking for
ways to be reimbursed for co-located physical and
behavioral health services—PN+ can provide a mechanism
for this as well as a dietitian’s services.
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New PN+ Site Applications

The Prenatal Plus application process has been updated
and should be submitted on the Prenatal Plus New Site
Application Form link.

Email hcpf_maternalchildhealth@state.co.us for more

program information or how to enroll as an eligible
provider.
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https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSffB8R8Aerfkzh_FrDSpiU_r8zGyIhhpkjpj5AD8MxxeOGLqA/viewform
https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSffB8R8Aerfkzh_FrDSpiU_r8zGyIhhpkjpj5AD8MxxeOGLqA/viewform

New Provider Checklist

1 Meet with HCPF staff for an introduction to the program

1 Read and review the program billing manual

1 Become a Medicaid enrolled provider (if not already)
1 Establish your local care coordination team

1 Sign and submit a completed site application form through
the Prenatal Plus New Site Application Form submission

link.
1 Email hepf maternalchildhealth@state.co.us for more

program information or how to enroll as an eligible
provider.
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https://hcpf.colorado.gov/prenatalPlus-ffs
https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSffB8R8Aerfkzh_FrDSpiU_r8zGyIhhpkjpj5AD8MxxeOGLqA/viewform
mailto:hcpf_maternalchildhealth@state.co.us

PN+ Care Team

The program provides eligible members with:

« A registered dietician: who can provide pregnant
members with nutrition education and
Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women,
Infants, and Children (WIC) support.

A mental health professional: who can address
their psychosocial needs and increase resiliency.

* A care coordinator: to provide members with
support throughout the pregnancy and advocate
for services based on their individual needs.
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PN+ Care Team cont.

1. Care Coordinator: The care coordinator(s) shall, at
minimum, hold a bachelor’s degree in a relevant human/social
services discipline or be a registered nurse

2. Registered Dietitian: A registered dietitian(s) who is
currently registered with the Commission on Dietetic
Registration as a registered dietitian, or a dietetic intern(s) in
an internship accredited by the American Dietetic Association
and supervised by a registered dietitian who has agreed to
serve as a preceptor for the dietetic intern;

Code of Colorado Requlations pages 27-31
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https://www.sos.state.co.us/CCR/GenerateRulePdf.do?ruleVersionId=6687
https://www.sos.state.co.us/CCR/GenerateRulePdf.do?ruleVersionId=6687
https://www.sos.state.co.us/CCR/GenerateRulePdf.do?ruleVersionId=6687

PN+ Care Team
(continued)

3. Mental Health Professional: A mental health
professional(s) who, at minimum, is a master’s level
professional in the field of social work, marriage and family
therapy, professional counseling, or other mental health
specialty, or an intern(s) in an accredited mental health
internship and supervised by a master’s level mental health
professional; or the Prenatal Plus Program Provider must have
a consistent, documented referral relationship with a mental
health provider(s) not part of the multidisciplinary team but
participating with the Colorado Medicaid Community Mental
Health Services Program.

4. Colorado Medicaid-enrolled physician, nurse practitioner,
certified nurse midwife, or physician’s assistant who is the
rendering provider that delegates the provision of Prenatal
Plus Program services to the multidisciplinary team.
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PN+ Billing
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PN+ Package Types

Prenatal Plus is delivered in a fee-for-service package
model that has four different levels:

- Partial: 1-4 member interactions with a provider,
starting in third trimester

« Partial Plus: 5-9 interactions with a provider,
starting in third trimester

« Full: 10 interactions with a provider, starting in
first or second trimester

« Full Plus: 11+ interactions with a provider,
starting in first or second trimester
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PN+ Package Types cont.

Package Procedure Required Condition(s) Under Which Code Can Be Billed
Type Code Modifier(s)
Partial H1005 TH and 52 Member enrolls at 28 or more weeks gestation and receives one (1)-four (4) contacts, at least one (1) of which must be a face-to-face contact,
or

Member enrolls in the first or second trimester (prior to 28 weeks) and receives one (1)-four (4) contacts, at least one (1) of which must be a
face-to-face contact, but withdraws from the program before delivery or does not meet the criteria for the other package categories.

Partial Plus H1005 TH and TF Member enrolls at 28 or more weeks gestation and receives five (5)-nine (9) contacts, or

Member enrolls in the first or second trimester (prior to 28 weeks) and receives five (5)-nine (9) contacts but withdraws from the program
before delivery or does not meet the criteria for the Full package categories.

With appropriate documentation, one (1) telephone call can be counted as one (1) contact.

Calls to reschedule an appointment or to make an appointment with a member cannot be considered a contact.

Full H1005 TH Member enrolls at 27 or fewer weeks gestation,
A minimum of one (1) case conference is held, and
Member receives a total of 10 contacts over the course of the pregnancy and through the end of the second month following the month in
which the member delivered.
With appropriate documentation, one (1) telephone call can be counted as a contact.
Calls to reschedule an appointment or to make an appointment with a member cannot be considered a contact.

Full Plus H1005 TH and TG Member enrolls at 27 or fewer weeks gestation, A minimum of one (1) case conference is held, and
Member receives a minimum of 11 contacts over the course of the pregnancy and through the end of the second month following the month in
which the member delivered.
With appropriate documentation, one (1) telephone call can be counted as a contact.
Calls to reschedule an appointment or to make an appointment with a member cannot be considered a contact.

PN+ Billing Manual
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https://hcpf.colorado.gov/prenatalPlus-ffs

Billing more than once in a
9 month period

The Colorado interChange System allows for one billing per
member in a nine-month period using Prenatal Plus billing codes.
However, the following exceptions may be made:

1) A member is seen for an initial pregnancy, subsequently
has either a miscarriage or an abortion, and becomes
pregnant again within a nine-month period. In this case,
the provider may bill for the second pregnancy within the
nine-month period.

2) A member receives a Partial or Partial Plus package
from one provider, then moves from the area and re-
enrolls with a new provider. In this case, the first
provider may bill a Partial or Partial Plus package, and
the second provider may bill either a Partial, Partial Plus,
Full or Full Plus package depending on the level of
services provided (i.e., if all requirements for a Full
package have been met, the provider can bill a Full
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Billing more than once in a
9 month period cont.

3) If a member leaves the program and then re-enrolls with
the same provider during the same pregnancy, the
provider must request that the claim for the previously
billed service package be voided out of the interChange.

Billing for the new service package can be done once the
criteria for the new package are met. An agency cannot
bill the Health First Colorado for two separate packages
for the same member during the same pregnancy.
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Questions?

Reproductive Health Team:
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