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September 14, 2020  
 
 
Anne Marie Costello  
Acting Deputy Administrator & Director, Center for Medicaid & CHIP Services  
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services  
7500 Security Blvd.  
Baltimore, MD 21244  
 
 
Dear Ms. Costello:   
 
On behalf of the Colorado Department of Health Care Policy & Financing, the state’s 
Medicaid Agency, I am writing with three requests to help the Department plan for the end 
of the COVID-19 Public Health Emergency (PHE) in a way that best meets the needs of 
our Health First Colorado (Colorado’s Medicaid program) and Child Health 
Plan Plus (CHP+, Colorado’s Children’s Health Insurance Program) members and 
providers. Specifically, we respectfully request that Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services  
(CMS):  

1) Provide at least 60 days’ notice before and at least 90 days after the end of the 
PHE for the state to notify members and providers of 
changes. The Department originally made this request to CMS and Regional Director of 
the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) for Region VIII on July 1, 
2020 and August 3, 2020 so we can comply with all federally required noticing and 
appeals procedures. This will allow time to notify and connect members who are no 
longer eligible to other coverage options and disenroll them from coverage for which 
they no longer qualify, where appropriate.   

2) Issue additional guidance on CMS’s policy, legal, and operational requirements for 
states when redetermining and, where appropriate, disenrolling Health First 
Colorado members covered under the Families First Coronavirus 
Response Act’s Continuous Coverage and Maintenance of Effort provisions.  

3) Issue additional guidance that aligns CHP+ redetermination timeframes with Health 
First Colorado timeframes to allow for noticing to members whose coverage may 
change at the end of the PHE. Because changes to CHP+ were submitted by a state 
plan amendment rather than a waiver, the Continuous Coverage for that program 
is set to expire the day the PHE ends, rather than the end of the month in which the 
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PHE ends. We request that redetermination timeframes for children and pregnant 
women covered by CHP+ be aligned with the timeframes for those enrolled in Health 
First Colorado.    

 
The Department has at least 40 Medicaid projects and 65 Home and Community Based 
Services (HCBS) items that will need to be reversed with the end of the PHE. Some of the 
40 projects are significant, with claims processing and eligibility system changes that take 
time to implement and will have unintended consequences if rushed. To best serve our 
members and providers, and to comply with federal and state requirements, it is critical 
that the Department have enough time to reverse the programmatic changes that have been 
implemented due to the PHE, including:  

• Implementing changes to claims and eligibility systems.  

• Updating operational and policy changes authorized through Colorado’s 1135 waiver, 
State Plan Amendments, blanket waivers, state rule changes, verification plan, and 
Appendix K amendments.  

• Complying with federal due process requirements for noticing and state fair 
hearings for member disenrollment or reduction in coverage when the Continuous 
Coverage and MOE provisions are no longer in effect.  

• Accounting for eligibility technicians’ increased workloads--technicians will have to 
redetermine eligibility for hundreds of thousands of members, ensure members are 
enrolled in programs that they are eligible for and disenroll members who are no 
longer eligible.  

• Helping disenrolled members secure healthcare coverage through our Connect for 
Health Colorado Individual Exchange, which will necessitate time for communications 
with affected individuals and enrollment into available commercial plans.    

 
Additional details about the first two requests are outlined below.   
  
Sufficient Notice Before and Time to Implement Changes After the End of the Public 
Health Emergency (PHE)  

 
Provide States With at Least 60 Days' Notice Before the End of the PHE  

 
The Department requests that the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) and 
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) provide at least 60 –days' notice before the 
end of the PHE if the emergency period will not be extended. As you know, the Continuous 
Coverage and Maintenance of Effort (MOE) requirements under the Families First Coronavirus 
Response Act (P.L. 116-127) are linked to the end of the PHE. We estimate that the end of 
the PHE may affect up to 332,000 Coloradans if the PHE ends in October 2020.    
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Without this notice provided at least 60 days before the end of the PHE, our 
members may receive a redetermination notice that would be inaccurate if the PHE is 
extended again. This notice from HHS is necessary to avoid miscommunications 
to members and the resubmissions of required information to determine eligibility. In 
addition, hundreds of thousands of cases would need to be reworked by 
our state’s understaffed and underfunded counties during this recession.  
 
Further, the Department has implemented many operational and policy changes authorized 
through the 1135 waiver, State Plan Amendments, blanket waivers, state rule changes, and 
Appendix K amendments that have impacts on providers. Many of these authorizations end 
immediately with the expiration of the PHE. These changes require system changes to the 
Department’s eligibility and claims processing systems, state regulations changes, and 
noticing to providers. Once again, without at least 60 days' notice before the federal 
decision to end the PHE, the Department will not have the time to reverse these processes. 
There is significant risk that the Department would continue to operate without federal 
authority if adequate federal notice is not given to states.  
 
Without at least 60 days’ notice before the end of the PHE, the potential unintended and 
avoidable consequences include states’ failure to meet due process requirements, the 
payment of claims by states for ineligible individuals, and an increase in individuals who 
do not have health care coverage during the COVID-19 global pandemic.   

 
Provide States With at Least 90 Days After the End of the PHE to Complete Continuous 

Coverage Disenrollment if the PHE ends in October 2020  
 
In addition to the federal government providing states at least 60 days’ notice before the 
end of the PHE, the Department requests a minimum of 90 days after the PHE 
ends to disenroll individuals covered under the Continuous Coverage requirement who are no 
longer eligible for Medicaid or CHIP coverage. The Department is currently requesting 90 
days to complete the redetermination and noticing process for Medicaid and CHIP members 
that may be subject to disenrollment. This will allow time to connect these members to 
other coverage options. However, if the PHE is extended, additional time beyond the 90 
days may be required since the caseload covered under the Continuous Coverage will 
increase. The state’s eligibility workforce to process these changes will not increase as 
caseload increases, so the disenrollment process will require additional time if the 
PHE continues to be extended beyond the current October date.    
 
Our goal is to ensure our members have appropriate notice to prevent a loss of 
healthcare coverage. Furthermore, federal law requires Colorado – and all other states – to 
properly notice members during the disenrollment process and to provide them with the 
opportunity for a hearing when requested. Because many members request and qualify 
for continuation of benefits during the appeals process, states will need continuing Federal 
Financial Participation (FFP) for these members until their appeals are final.   
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The Department requests that CMS specify that the FFP remain available for services 
provided to those covered under a continuation of benefits during the 
appeal process, until the disenrollment process is complete. This includes the time 
necessary to complete appeal hearings, which, to be clear, will extend beyond the 
requested 90 days because of due process requirements and a backlog of appeals 
that occurs when a large number of members are disenrolled at the same time.  
 
Guidance on Outstanding Policy, Legal, and Operational Questions  
 
We are requesting additional guidance on policy, legal, and operational requirements for 
states when redetermining and disenrolling Health First Colorado members covered under 
the Continuous Coverage and Maintenance of Effort provisions.  In particular, we seek your 
guidance on the following questions:  
 

• What flexibility do states have to stagger redeterminations and renewals following 
the end of the PHE to make the workload more manageable?  

 
• Will FFP continue for members covered under the Continuous Coverage provisions if 

the state is making a good faith effort to complete the process within 90 days 
and then continue FFP beyond the 90 days if the state can’t complete 
all disenrollment’s within that goal?    

 
• Will FFP continue until appeals are final for members who appeal disenrollment after 

the PHE ends?  
  

Thank you for your consideration of these requests. If you have any questions or would like 
to meet to discuss further, please contact the Department’s Deputy Chief of Staff Chris 
Underwood at Chris.Underwood@state.co.us.  
 
 
Sincerely,  
 

 
 
Kim Bimestefer  
Executive Director  
  
Cc: Tracy Johnson, Medicaid Director  
      Susan Beckman, Region 8 Director, Health and Human Services  


