
Navigating the Behavioral
Health System

A Resource Guide for Caseworkers Serving 
Health First Colorado Members



Immediate advice on health, contact Health First Colorado 
(Colorado's Medicaid Program) Nurse Advice Line by calling 800-283-3221. The Nurse Advice 
Line provides free around-the-clock access to medical information and advice. 

•Available free of charge, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year.

•Nurses will answer medical questions, provide care advice and help determine if the 
   member should be seen by a doctor right away.

•Help with medical conditions, such as diabetes or asthma.

•Advice on the type of doctor that may be right for specific medical conditions.

 Health First Colorado Members who 
need Medical Advice should call the 

Nurse Advice Line at:

800-283-3221

1-844-493-TALK (8255)

If the Health First Colorado member is having a behavioral health crisis and is in need 
of urgent help, contact the Colorado Crisis Services.    

If it is an emergency situation and you feel like the member is going to hurt themselves
or others, call 911.   

If the Health First Colorado member needs general information regarding their health, 
provide them with information on the nurse advice line.    

Nurse Advice Line
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How to assist Health First Colorado members in  
getting behavioral health services.  

Justice involved youth, 
turn to page 31

Is child  in a crisis situation?

Turn to page 12, for detailed 
guidance on how to access
 behavioral health services

Who can pay for
 behavioral health

services?
Page 6

Does child have Health First 
Colorado Insurance (Medicaid)

Check to see if child is up to date
with their screenings.

 Need Assistance Accessing 
Behavioral Health Services?Contact child’s Behavioral 

Health Organization for a
screening, Page 7

Does child have a behavioral 
health concern

Turn to page 23 for
additional resources

No

No

Yes

Yes

Call The Crisis Hot Line (1-844-493-TALK) 

Turn to page 32 for additional crisis information

https://www.healthfirstcolorado.com/apply-now/
Apply online 

Or call
1-800-221-3943 / State Relay: 711

Additional 
Funding Sources

Yes

No

Community Mental Health 
Centers or Independent
Provider Information

Behavioral Health Plans
Benfits

Resolving problems 
behavioral health services

Prior Authorizations 

Example of covered topics

Example of availabe resources

Need addtional resources that are 
provided for children in Colorado 

to treat behavioral health concerns?

Child Mental Health Treatment 
Act

Waivers

Early Childhood  Mental Health 
Specialist Program

Early Intervention

EPSDT

Special Connections

Child Welfare

              3



Defining Behavioral Health, 
Mental Health and 
Substance Use  1
Below are definitions that will help you understand all the different 
behavioral health language used.  

MENTAL HEALTH is a sign of a child’s overall emotional well-being. Mental health can be difficult to 
understand, because it can be related to medical, social, or behavioral issues that a child may have. In 
general, mental health refers to a child’s ability to:

   Adapt well to his or her environment in ways that are healthy;

   An ability to identify and express feelings and emotions in an age appropriate way and; 

   Handle day-to-day stresses, problems, challenges and being able to create strong relationships 
   with parents, family members and peers. When children are not comfortable with how they are feeling,
   have difficulties dealing with problems, and cannot get along with others, it is possible that they could 
   have a mental health issue.

A MENTAL HEALTH ISSUE  is a problem that impacts a child’s emotional well-being. An issue could develop
from dealing with trauma such as a bully at school or death of a loved one. It could be a short-term problem 
or long-term mental illness. Mental health issues usually impact a child’s ability to interact and handle
day-to-day tasks and result in changes in mood and/or behavior .

MENTAL ILLNESSES are medical conditions that can disrupt a child’s mood, thinking, feelings, and ability to 
interact with and relate to others in his or her life. These disruptions can be emotional changes, behavioral 
changes, or both. For the majority of children, a change in mood, feelings, and behavior is a natural part of
child development. However, when these changes begin to impact a child’s ability to function on a daily
basis, a mental illness may be the cause of these changes. If this is the case, the child may need mental 
healthcare.

SUBSTANCE MISUSE/USE DISORDERS occur when the recurrent use of alcohol and/or drugs causes clinically
and functionally significant impairment, such as health problems, disability, and failure to meet major 
responsibilities at work, school, or home.

PRESCRIPTION DRUG MISUSE is when someone takes a medication that was prescribed for someone else or
takes their own prescriptions in a way not intended by a doctor or for a different reason such as to get high.
When prescription drugs are abused, they can be addictive and put the person at risk for other harmful 
health effects, such as overdose.

BEHAVIORAL HEALTH is used to describe mental health and substance use. The words behavioral health 
and mental health are both used to describe how a child is doing with their emotions and/or behaviors. 
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2
Helpful Tips for 
Caseworkers who are 
Working With Families 

Below are some tips that can help reduce a child’s risk of developing behavioral health issues in a family 
that is going through a tough time: 

             • Knowledge that parent has an mental health illness, just like being sick, and that they are not to blame
             • Help and support from family members
             • A stable home environment
             • Psychotherapy for the child, the parent(s) and any siblings
             • A sense of being loved by the parent that has a behavioral health problem
             • Positive self-esteem
             • Good coping skills in the child
             • A strong relationship with a caring adult
             • Friendships, positive peer relationships
             • Interest in and success at school
             • Healthy interests outside the home for the child
             • Help from outside the family to improve the family environment
             • Protection from traumatic events 

If a member of a family has a mental health illness and/or a problem with substance use/misuse, encourage 
them to seek treatment for the health of the entire family.  The child of the family should also be seen by a 
doctor for a behavioral health screening. The sooner the family is seen by health professionals, the 
better the family’s health and well being will be.

If you are a Caseworker for a Health First Colorado member that needs assistance in navigating the behavioral 
health system, this toolkit can provide guidance on how to access those services. 
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Behavioral Health Funding 
Hierarchy   3
Below is a map of funding streams for individuals who need behavioral health 
services.   

Private Health
Insurance

Medicare
& TriCare

Health First
Colorado

(Medicaid)

Use

Use

Use

Yes No

No

No

Yes

Yes

Use Yes

Go to

No Go to

Go to

Go to

Does the person have:

O�ce of Behavioral Health Community 
Programs (Indigent Budget Line), 

Child Mental Health Treatment Act, 
Community Mental Health Block Grant, 

Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment Block Grant, 
Comprehensive Family Treatment Services (AFS), 
Asset Forfeiture Dollars, Detox Services Funding

Is the person eligible for:

O�ce of Children, Youth & Families 

The Collaborative Management Program
(HB1451), SB94 (other juvenile justice

funding), or The Core Services Program
as the payer of last resort.

For information on 
how to navigate

Health First Colorado
turn to the 

next pages.  
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4Understanding the Health 
First Colorado Structure
Once the member is enrolled into Health First Colorado, they will be able to use 
the health care system and get the necessary services that they need. To help 
families access and navigate the health care system, Health First Colorado has 
partnered with organizations that provide support and assistance in navigating 
the health care system. These organizations can help the member find a doctor, 
assist them with transitions of care, or even arrange transportation for a health 
related matter. The following pages provide an overview of the responsibilities of 
the organizations and how they interact with each other.  

 

For Health First Colorado
Benefits and Coverage

Click Here:
https://www.healthfirstcolorado.com/

wp-content/uploads/2017/01/
Health-First-Colorado-
Member-Handbook.pdf

Health First Colorado
mapped out
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Patient-Centered Medical Home

Healthy Communities

Regional Care Collaborative 
Organizations (RCCOs)

Behavioral Health 
Organizations (BHOs)Coordination

Healthy Communities are 
located in the community

Healthy Communities is a program that helps families sign up for Health First Colorado/CHP+. They can help with 
the application process, provide education on available benefits and services, and connect the member to other 
community resources. They are the starting point for getting health care. Healthy communities services:   

        Help with Health First Colorado/CHP+ re-enrollment
        Inform members on preventative health care services 
        Help members find a medical home 
        Help members find community resources

The medical home where the child or family will receive health care

Finding specialists.
Connecting members to community services in their area.
Making sure that everyone who is involved in the members 
care is talking to each other and working as a team.
Connecting members to a primary care physician.
Follow up on the members referrals.
Helping memebers obtain behavioral health services.

Finding a mental health professionals. 
Filing a grievance or an appeal.
Follow up on members referrals.
Making sure that the members physical and mental 
health providers work together so that the 
most effective treatment is provided.

A RCCO is responsible for coordinating physical health services. 
A RCCO can also help with:

A BHO is responsible for coordinating mental health 
services.  A BHO can also help with:

START

The role of Primary Care

Provide mental health care 
and substance use services
Crisis services 24/7 for members
Case Management
Intensive Out-Patient Services
Psychiatric Assessment 
Medication Management
And much more

The role of a Community  
Mental Health Center

Community
 Mental Health CenterPrimary Care

Hospital

Coordinated  Care

Preventative care
Screenings and health 
risk assessments
Health promotion/education
Evaluation of medical 
problems and referrals
Diagnosis and 
treatment of
acute chronic
illnesses 

Patient-centered Care Comprehensive Care

              8



Guiding steps to help Caseworkers get care for 
Health First Colorado members

Once the person is approved for Health First Colorado, they can be connected with 
Healthy Communities (page 10) to help them find a primary care or behavioral 
health provider. They can also assist in locating other services like Women, Infants 
and Children (WIC) or programs for children with special health care needs.

Step1

If the Health First Colorado member needs assistance in coordinating their 
physical and behavioral health care, for example, help with making appointments, 
finding transportation to the doctor, or getting connected to community   
resources, you can connect them with their Regional Care Collaborative Organiza-
tion (RCCO), their BHO, or Healthy Communities. Organizations working with 
Helath First Colorado should have a no wrong door system. 

If the Health First Colorado member is having behavioral health problems, they 
can directly see a behavioral health specialist. Their Behavioral Health Organiza-
tion (BHO) (page 11) can help locate a behavioral health specialist. See section 6 
for detailed information on navigating the behavioral health care system.

Step 2

Step 3

Healthy Communities,
RCCO, and BHO contact
information. 
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RCCO contact information

RCCO 1 - Rocky Mountain Health Plans

RCCO 2- Colorado Access

RCCO 3- Colorado Access

RCCO 4- Integrated Community Health Partners

RCCO 5- Colorado Access

RCCO 6- Colorado Community Health Alliance

RCCO 7- Community Care of Central Colorado

Health First Colorado members are enrolled into RCCOs based on their home address. Check the map
below to see which RCCO serves the member’s county.

RCCO 2- Colorado Access

RCCO 4- Integrated Community Health Partners

RCCO 6- Colorado Community Health Alliance

RCCO 1 - Rocky Mountain Health Plans

RCCO 3- Colorado Access

RCCO 5- Colorado Access

RCCO 7- Community Care of Central Colorado

970-254-5771, 800-667-6434
acc.rmhp.org/Home 

303-368-0035, 855-267-2094
www.coaccess-rcco.com 

303-368-0037, 855-267-2095
www.coaccess-rcco.com 

855-959-7340
www.ichpcolorado.com

303-368-0037, 855-267-2095
www.coaccess-rcco.com 

303-256-1717, 855-627-4685
cchacares.com/en-us/home.aspx  

719-314-2560, 866-938-5091
http://www.mycommunitycare.org/ 

RCCO Region Contact Information

Resources
Up-to-date contact and RCCO 
regions can be found here:
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/
hcpf/regional-care-collaborative-organizations

Family Health Coordinators can help Health First Colorado members apply for the Healthy Communities Program. To find 
the members local Family Health Coordinator, go to Colorado.gov/hcpf/healthy-communities. Or call the Health First 
Colorado Member Contact Center at 800-221-3943 (State Relay 711). 

Healthy Communities Contact Information
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BHO contact information

Colorado Access/Access Behavioral Care Northeast (ABC)

Behavioral Health, Inc (BHI)

Colorado Health Partnership (CHP)

Foothills Behavioral Health Partners (FBHP)

Colorado Access/Access Behavioral Care Denver (ABC)

Health First Colorado members are enrolled into BHOs based on their home address. Check the map
below to see which BHO serves the member’s county. 

Behavioral Health, Inc (BHI)

Foothills Behavioral Health Partnership (FBHP)

Colorado Access/Access Behavioral Health Northeast (ABC)

Colorado Health Partnership (CHP)

Colorado Access/Access Behavioral Health  Denver (ABC)

(303) 751-9030 or (800) 984-9133 toll free
www.coaccess.com/access-behavioral-care

(303) 361-8100
www.bhicares.org/

(800) 804-5008 toll free
www.coloradohealthpartnerships.com

(303)-432-5950 or (866) 245-1959 toll free
www.fbhpartners.com/

(303) 751-9030 or (800) 984-9133 toll free
www.coaccess.com/access-behavioral-care

BHO Contact Information

For detailed information
on receiving mental health 

care or substance use 
disorder treatment turn

 to the next page               11



5Navigating the Behavioral
Health Care System
The following pages provide Caseworkers an overview on how to access and 
navigate behavioral health services for Health First Colorado members.   
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Guiding steps to help Caseworkers get behavioral health care for 
Health First Colorado members

Locate a behavioral health provider that can help the Health First Colorado 
member.  Lists of available providers can be found by contacting the BHO or 
visiting their website.Step1

Providers have specialties – some work with children who are in the child welfare 
system, others work with children under the age of 3.  Please be sure you look at 
the additional provider information when making  provider selection.

Call the provider and tell them what the member needs.Step 2
Health First Colorado members must be seen for their initial assessment appointment 
within 7 days.  If they do not get an appointment in that time, call the BHO and have 
them connect you with the Office of Family and Consumer Affairs for assistance.  

Step 3
If the member is not found to be eligible for services under the BHO, there are 
other options for services.  The BHO is responsible to assist the member in finding 
other treatment options.

Further information on
accessing behavioral 
health services
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Case Worker Decision Tree for Obtaining 
Behavioral Health Services for Children/Adolescents

Is the need 
urgent?

Proceed with
treatment!

Notify Caseworker
 

Case worker calls the 
BHO where the child welfare

 office is located, that 
BHO calls BHO where 
the child now resides 
to arrange services. 

Allow up to 3 days for
 this to occur. 

  File an Appeal With BHO

Due within 30 days of denial
Can be in person, by phone, 

or writing. Page 21

Inquire about 
Fee for Service option from 

BHO. Page 20

 File grievance with a BHO 

Client and Family Advocate 
at your BHO can help here 

if needed, just ask for them.
Page 21

Told by BHO that youth is 
“not eligible”

Told treatment is
not medically necessary?

Told that youth’s needs are 
not a “covered diagnosis”

 or “covered service”

Other concerns:
Excessive wait time for intake,

 told there are no providers for a needed 
service, or other issues

Call The Crisis Hot Line (1-844-493-TALK) 
Start

Yes

This worked

No call back from BHO 
within 3 business days?

Still have 
unresolved concerns 
after 3 business 
days?

No

I’m having problems getting an intake

Turn to page 32 for additional crisis information.

Call the BHO and Request a Mental Health Intake

Call the Ombudsman for Medicaid Managed Care

1-877-435-7123 outside of Denver 
303-830-3560 in the Denver Metro area
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 How can Health First Colorado Members Access
 Mental Health or Substance Use Services
Health First Colorado members are automatically enrolled into one of the five Behavioral Health Organizations (BHO) 
based on county of residence. The BHO will arrange behavioral health services for the member as well as provide care 
coordination and assistance with any grivences or appeals.

The BHOs have a network of behavioral health providers in their region.  These providers are either clinicians at a 
Community Mental Health Center (CMHC) or clinicians in the independent provider network (IPN).

The member can directly contact the CMHC or IPN without the need of a referral from a primary care provider.
If the member has any problems getting behavioral health care, please contact their BHO for assistance.

Community Mental Health Centers-  provide mental health and substance use services. There are 17 CMHCs , 
serving all areas of Colorado. Each CMHC has a number of mental health specialists that can provide treatment
for various symptoms and diagnosis. A CMHC will connect the member to the right specialist that serves
their needs.
For a comprehensive list of services please contact the local CMHC. 
http://www.cbhc.org/find-help/find-a-community-mental-health-provider/
  
Independent Provider Networks- are individual  providers that are trained in providing mental health and 
substance use services. The BHOs can help find the right provider for the member who needs services. 

Behavioral Health Service Providers

Accessing  mental health and substance use services

BHO Contact 
Information

Turn to 
Page

11

Community
 Mental Health Center

Or

Independent Provider Network

BHO

Call the BHO
or visit their
website for
provider 
information.

BHOs coordinate the members mental health care
and put them in touch with a CMHC
or an Independent Provider.

Call the CMHC or the independent 
provider network. As long as they 
accept Health First Colorado they 
will see the member.  
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Community Mental Health Centers in Colorado

AllHealth Network
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Appointment Wait Times for Behavioral Health Services 

Health First Colorado members have the right to get behavioral health services in a timely manner.  Some Health First 
Colorado members may need special help to get the most from their behavioral health services. If they have a disability 
and need special assistance, please let their BHO or provider know to help them schedule an appointment. If they need 
an interpreter for a non-English language or a sign language interpreter, please let their provider know so they can 
arrange translational services for them. 

For Mental Health Services:

For Substance Use Disorder Services:

Appointments for regular, ongoing therapy will be scheduled within 2 weeks from when the member had their first 
appointment with a provider. Regular ongoing therapy services include being assigned to a therapist, one-to-one 
counseling and group therapy.

Initial assessments must be offered within 7 days.
 
Appointments for urgent mental health problems have to be offered within 24 hours. 

Mental health emergencies can be handled through BHO on-call providers within one hour if the 
member lives in a city. If they live in a rural area, they will be seen within two hours.

If the member does not have a relationship with a CMHC or is unable to reach their provider, connect 
them to Colorado Crisis Services at 800-273-TALK (800-273-8255).

Initial assessments must be offered within 7 days.

Appointments for urgent subtance use  problems have to be offered within 24 hours.

If the member has substance use crisis and is unable to reach their provider, connect them to 
Colorado Crisis Services at 800-273-TALK (800-273-8255).

If the member has a medical related substance use emergency, they should call 911 or go to the 
nearest emergency room. 

TIP
If the member cannot be seen within the times 
mentioned above, call their BHO. They can help the
member get connected to a specialist or file a 
grievance if they are having difficulties accessing care.               17



Every member who has Health First Colorado is automatically enrolled into a behavioral health plan. The table below 
explains the behavioral health benefits covered under the Behavioral Health Plan. Services that are not covered under 
the Behavioral Health Plan may be covered by Health First Colorado, but only if they are medically necessary . (The 
EPSDT program for children, requires that any services be provided if they are medically necessary. Medical necessity 
is determined by the provider. For a definition of medically necessary please turn to page 25. It is important to note 
that court ordered services are not always medically necessary.) 

Available Mental Health and Substance Use Services
 for Health First Colorado Members

Behavioral health benefits covered 
under the Behavioral Health Plan

Case
 Management

 Services

These are services that help the member stay in the community. They include 
service planning, outreach, referral, and coordination of services. Routine
case management is part of the services provided by their care coordinator.

Emergency
Care

Emergency care is the treatment of a substance use disorder that is life
threatening. It is life threatening to the person who is having the crisis. 

Inpatient
Hospital

Inpatient services are those mental health services that need to be given in
a hospital. 

Medication
Management

This is when a doctor, or other licensed prescriber, prescribes and monitors
the members psychiatric medications.

Outpatient
Treatment

These are services the member gets in an office or another place in the 
community. Services include individual, grief, family, and group therapy.

Psychosocial
Rehabilitation

Psychosocial rehabilitation programs help people with serious mental illness.
They teach people the skills they need to live in the community. 

These services may be provided by a recovery coach or a peer specialist.  
This is someone who has had a personal experience with mental illness and/or 
drug or alcohol addiction, who is now in recovery and has received special 
training to help others with their recovery.  These individuals are may be part of
a treatment team at the CMHC or SUD clinic. 

These are services provided in an outpatient Substance Use Disorder setting.
They include administration of Methadone or another approved controlled
substance to a person who is opiate dependent in order to decrease or do
away with dependence on opiates. It also may include counseling to help the
member focus on their recovery without having to deal with the symptoms
of withdrawal.

Medication Assisted
Therapy

More benefits on the next page
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Resources
For a full list of benefits please visit
this link:
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/hcpf/
colorado-medicaid-benefits-services-overview

Other required services that are covered under the Behavioral Health Plan

Residential
Treatment

A residential treatment program is a 24-hour living situation for the treatment
of a mental health disorder. It provides care when a member does not need
to be in the hospital, but still needs help and structure 24-hours a day.
Residential treatment can be for adults or children.

Note that inpatient and residential substance use disorder (SUD) services are not covered services.
Inpatient and residential SUD services, may be covered under fee-for-service Health First Colorado.

School Based
Services

School-based services are for children and youth with special mental health
care needs. They are provided in the school setting. Services may include
smaller classrooms, specially trained staff, counseling, and other services to
help the child succeed.

Social Detox Services
These are services that help people who are withdrawing from drugs or alcohol. 
They will monitor the members vital signs, assess their motivation for treatment, 
provide daily living needs and do a safety assessment.

The following behavioral health services may be covered by the BHO if they are deemed medically necessary. To 
learn more, call the Behavioral Health Organization. The Behavioral Health Organizations contact information is 
listed on page 11.

Alcohol and/or drug assessments
Alcohol and/or drug services, group counseling 
by a clinician
Alcohol and/or drug services, targeted case 
management
Assertive community treatment programs
Clubhouses
Drop-in centers
Drug screening & monitoring
Early childhood intervention services
Family support, education and training services
Home-based services for children and adolescents
Intensive case management
Medication-assisted treatment
Mental Health and Substance Use Disorder - Inpatient 
hospital

Mental Health and Substance Use Disorder - Outpatient hospital & physician
Multi-systemic therapy
Peer mentoring for children and adolescents
Peer services and support services
Pharmacologic Management
Prevention services and early intervention activities
Recovery services
Respite services
Special services for adoption issues
Supported employment
Vocational and employment services
Warm (telephone support) lines

SUD

SUD

SUD

SUD

SUD

SUD

SUD

SUD

SUD

SUD

SUD

SUD

SUD

SUD

SUD

SUD = Services also covered if the member has a substance use disorder

Behavioral Health Plan benefits continued:
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Some medically necessary services may not be covered by the BHO, but can be accessed through Medicaid’s 
fee-for-service in the following ways:
 
 1. The BHO will coordinate services that the member needs with their provider of choice. 
 2. The member can directly go to a Health First Colorado enrolled provider.
 3. The member can go to a primary care physician that provides mental health and substance use disorder            
      services  within their office. 

The BHO will help coordinate mental health and substance use disorder services that fall outside of the BHO benefit. 
Providers outside of the BHO that provide mental health and substance use disorder services can be located using the 
Health First Colorado provider search engine: https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/hcpf/find-doctor
  

Services that are not covered under the behavioral 
health benefit
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If a member is unhappy with any part of their behavioral health service, they have the right to file a grievance (com-
plaint). They also have the right to appeal any action (decision) that they disagree with. Each BHO has an Office of 
Member and Family Affairs (OMFA) that can help the member with any grievance or appeal. The member can also 
contact their BHO to start an appeal process. 
 

Action: An Action is when a BHO:
  1. Denies or limits all or part of a requested service, including the type or level of service.
  2. Reduces, changes or ends treatment that was already approved.
  3. Denies payment in whole or in part for a service.
  4. Does not provide services in a timely manner.
  5. Does not act within approved time frames for grievances and appeals.
  6. Denies a request to obtain treatment outside the network in rural areas.

Appeal: When the member disagrees with an Action by their BHO and asks for a review of the Action. 

Designated Client Representative (DCR): A person the member chooses to file their grievance or appeal for them. 
The member must put this choice in writing. This person can be a provider, friend or a family member.

Grievance: A complaint about a members mental health or substance use services, their provider or staff. The 
member can file a grievance if they are unhappy about any service or staff person. This includes things like the 
quality of their care, or failure to respect their rights. 

Notice of Action: This is a letter that the BHO sends to the member explaining the Action they are taking and the 
members Appeal rights.

State Fair Hearing Process: This is a hearing before a state administrative law judge. It is available for Appeals only.
 

  

Definitions 

Resolving Problems with Behavioral Health Services

How to file a grievance?

How to file an appeal?

Who can help the member file a grievance or an appeal?

The member has 30 calendar days from the date of the event to file a grievance.The member can file an appeal by 
phone, in person or in writing. The Client and Family Advocate at the Behavioral Health Organization can help the 
member file a grievance.  

The member must file an appeal within thirty (30) calendar days from the Notice of Action was sent.  The member can 
file an appeal by phone, in person or in writing.
 

If the member needs help filing a grievance or an appeal, they can contact an Ombudsman to help them through the process. The 
ombudsman is an independent organization that provides free services to Health First Colorado members. 

Ombudsman for Medicaid Managed Care
1-877-435-7123 outside of Denver

303-830-3560 in the Denver Metro area
TTY 1-888-876-8864 for hearing impaired

Additional Information               21



Prior Authorization Request  (PAR)

Prior Authorization Requests (PARs) ensure items and services requested meet medical necessity guidelines and are 
within Health First Colorado’s policies.

Health First Colorado members have the right to appeal and ask for a hearing if they do not agree with the PAR 
decision. They will have an appeal hearing with an Administrative Law Judge. They may represent themselves, or have a 
lawyer, a relative, a friend, or other spokesperson assist them as their authorized representative. 

How to Appeal:

Must request an appeal in writing. This is called a Letter of Appeal. 
 
Letter of Appeal must include: 
 1. Member name, address, phone number, and Medicaid number; 
 2. Why they need the hearing; and
 3. A copy of the front page of the Notice of Action (letter notifying the member of the PAR   
                       decision) they are appealing. 

The member may ask for a telephone hearing rather than appearing in person. 
 
Mail or fax their Letter of Appeal to: 

 The letter of appeal must be received by the Office of Administrative Courts no later than   
 thirty (30) calendar days from the date of the members Notice of Action (denial letter). The  
 date of the Notice of Action is located on the front of the denial letter. 

The Office of Administrative Courts will contact the member by mail with the date, time, and place of 
their hearing. 

Office of Administrative Courts 
1525 Sherman Street, 4th Floor 
Denver, CO 80203 
Fax 303-866-5909
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6Additional Resources for 
Families to get Care
A child’s health is one of the most important investments for Colorado. Due to 
many different types of needs that children in Colorado may have, additional 
resources and programs are made available to safeguard their health and 
well-being. Some of these programs are automatically available the second a 
child is enrolled into Health First Colorado or CHP+, while others require that a 
child has a specific health condition or disability. The following pages explain 
some of the additional resources children in Colorado may be eligible for.    
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Why is it important to use the EPSDT benefit?

Early

Periodic

Screening

Diagnostic

Treatment

Assessing and identifying problems early.

Checking children's health at periodic, age-appropriate intervals. Colorado has adopted the American 
Academy of Pediatrics Bright Futures Periodicity schedule. 

Providing physical, mental, developmental, dental, hearing, vision, and other screening tests to detect 
potential problems. Screening Services included: 

    Comprehensive health and developmental history
    Comprehensive unclothed physical exam
    Appropriate immunizations
    Laboratory tests (including lead toxicity test)
    Health Education (anticipatory guidance including child development, healthy lifestyles, and 
    accident and disease prevention)

Performing diagnostic tests to follow up when a risk is identified. Diagnostic tests should always be done
if a problem has been identified during screening. 

Control, correct or reduce health problems found. Necessary health care services must be made 
available for treatment of all physical and mental illnesses or conditions discovered by any screening
and diagnostic procedures.

Children should be screened for any potential health problems so that they can be quickly treated. The earlier the child
is screened the faster the health professionals can provide treatment and make sure that they stay on a correct path of growth
and development. EPSDT ensures that children who are Health First Colorado members have access to services that
protect their health and well-being. 

Breakdown of EPSDT 

Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic and Treatment
Health First Colorado automatically gives child and youth members special health care services called Early and Periodic 
Screening, Diagnostic, and Treatment  (EPSDT). It makes sure they get the right preventive, dental, mental health, develop-
mental and specialty services. It is required by law that these  services are provided for the child in order to keep them healthy.
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Children and youth under age 20 as well as adults who are pregnant, are automatically covered by this benefit once they are 
enrolled into Health First Colorado. Children and pregnant women on CHP+ do not qualify for the EPSDT benefit. 

Medical services and supplies must be medically necessary for  Health First Colorado or CHP+ to pay for them.

What does it mean for medical services and supplies to be medically necessary? 

For children (0-20 years-of-age), medical necessity starts by looking at the individual health care needs of a specific child. 
What may be medically necessary for one child may not be for another. This process starts with the doctor or other health 
care professional evaluating the child’s needs and prescribing treatment or supplies if they have been determined to help 
improve or sustain the child’s health. The medical professional should be able to find information on which orders/prescriptions
need to receive prior approval by Health First Colorado or CHP+.

Just because a doctor says something is medically necessary, however, doesn’t automatically mean it meets Health First Colorado
and CHP+ rules for medical necessity. For the  medical services and supplies to be medically necessary they also must be 
considered appropriate for the specific needs (sometimes referred to as normal course and treatment) and have a good chance of
helping the condition be addressed or at least prevent the condition from worsening. This also means the ordered treatment cannot 
be considered experimental by the medical community.
 
Medical necessity also requires that the treatment, etc., cannot be ordered solely for the benefit of a child’s caretaker or health 
care provider. Respite care, for example, is to give a caretaker a break so it would NOT be considered medically necessary. However, 
some services such as respite may be available under a Health First Colorado Waiver program explained on page 26. 

In addition, once the medical services and supplies have been determined to be medically necessary for a child, Health First 
Colorado or CHP+ cannot  impose arbitrary limits on how many or how often these medical services or supplies can be provided.  
 

 

Who qualifies?

What is medical necessity and how will it affect the child’s benefits?

              25



Additional information

Health First Colorado Waiver Program
Health First Colorado Home and Community Based Waivers (HCBS) provide additional benefits to specific individuals who
have special health care needs. Waivers allow people to receive services in their home or communities. A member who 
receives services through a waiver is also eligible for all basic Medicaid covered services except nursing facility and 
long-term hospital care. Colorado offers 12 HCBS waiver programs that focus on different health conditions.

DHS

CCB

CCB

CCB

CCB

Single Entry Point (SEP) Agencies provide case management, care planning, and make referrals to 
other resources for clients. To find the SEP Agency in your county, click on the link below:
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/hcpf/single-entry-point-agencies  

County Department of Social/Human Services (DHS) administer certain waivers with the oversight
of the Department of Health Care Policy and Financing. To find your local County Department of Social/
Human Services click this link: https://sites.google.com/a/state.co.us/humanservices/home/services-by-county

Community Centered Boards (CCBs) coordinate services to clients in the least restrictive setting 
possible with the goal of keeping them in their homes and communities as an alternative to 
institutional care.  CCB contact information: https://www.colorado.gov/hcpf/community-centered-boards
 

Depending on which waiver the member is applying for, they will have to go through the following agencies:

Each waiver has an enrollment capacity and may have a waiting list. People can apply for more than one waiver, but can get services 
through one waiver at a time. 

To qualify for any of these waivers, a child has to be “at-risk” of institutionalization in an intermediate care facility
as well as meet financial, medical and care needs. Parental income is not considered for eligibility. Only the child’s 
assets or income is considered. 

Eligibility requirements differ for each waiver. Please visit the Health First Colorado  website for detailed description and
eligibility information for each waiver. 
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/hcpf/programs-individuals-physical-or-developmental-disabilities#forchildren 

Brain Injury Waiver
Children’s Home and Community-Based Services Waiver
Children’s Extensive Support Waiver
Children with Life Limiting Illness Waiver
Children With Autism Waiver
Supported Living Services Waiver

Children's Habilitation Residential Program Waiver
Developmental Disabilities Waiver
Community Mental Health Supports Waiver
Elderly, Blind, or Disabled Waiver
Spinal Cord Injury Waiver
Persons Living with AIDS/HIV Waiver

Apply for HCBS Waivers

Who qualifies?

SEP

SEP

SEP

SEP

SEP

Signifies which organization the member needs to apply through
to be placed on the waiver program. More information below.

DHSCCB SEP

DHS

CCB

SEP

SEP

For more questions about the HCBS waivers please contact the Medicaid Customer Contact Center
Toll Free: 1-800-221-3943 | State Relay: 711 | Fax: 303-866-4411
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Child Mental Health Treatment Act (CMHTA)

Who Qualifies?

Benefits and Services

How to apply?

For children without Health First Colorado, the Child Mental Health Treatment Act helps pay for mental health treatment for 
at-risk children who cannot afford the care. For Children with Health First Colorado, the Act provides additional protections to 
families seeking residential care for their child.

Only a custodial parent may apply for services under the Child Mental Health Treatment Act. If the child is a member of Health 
First Colorado, contact the Behavioral Health Organization in the members county of residence (page 11 for contact informa-
tion).

If the member loses Health First Colorado insurance or does not have Health First Colorado and cannot afford needed mental 
health treatment, contact the Office of Behavioral Health at 303-866-7400 for a list of contacts of the Community Mental 
Health Center. The mental health center will provide an assessment to determine the child’s eligibility. The Child Mental 
Health Treatment Act may be able to help fund treatment.

For additional questions or assistance regarding the Child Mental Health Treatment Act, please contact the CMHTA Program 
at  (303) 866-7422. 

Children without Health First Colorado who are either non-insured or have commercial insurance:

      The child has a mental illness
      The child is under the age of 18
      No other funder is available for treatment
      And be at risk of out-of-home placement or 

Children who have Health First Colorado:

      When a family requests residential treatment for their child, the Act mandates that a full assessment is completed
      If the child is denied residential treatment the family gains an additional appeals process through the Act

The CMHTA can pay for the following services for children without Health First Colorado::

      Outpatient therapy
      Family Therapy
      Intensive In-home Therapy 
      Day Treatment
      Community services
      Psychiatry 
      Residential Treatment
      Respite and Many Others
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Special Connections

Who Qualifies?

Benefits and Services

How to Apply?

Special Connections is a program for pregnant women on Health First Colorado (Colorado's Medicaid Program) who have 
alcohol and/or drug abuse problems. Special Connections helps women have healthier pregnancies and healthier babies by 
providing case management, individual and group counseling, and health education during pregnancy and up to one year 
after delivery. Special Connections services are in addition to the prenatal care a woman receives from her doctor or 
nurse-midwife.

The member can apply for Health First Colorado online (https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/hcpf/how-to-apply), on the phone, in 
person, or through the mail.

Where to Get These Services?
Members can all the Department of Human Services' Division of Behavioral Health at 303-866-7400 or see a list of   
providers:
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/sites/default/files/Special%20Connections%20Women%27s%20Services%20Contact%20Master%20List.pdf

For more information about this program, members should contact the Health First Colorado Member Contact Center.
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/hcpf/contact-hcpf

Women who are:

   Eligible for Health First Colorado

   Pregnant or within one year after delivery (Only women who were in Special Connections before they delivered are eligible for      
   Special Connections services after they deliver) and 

   At risk of having an unhealthy pregnancy and unhealthy baby because of alcohol and/or drug abuse problems. (A risk  
   screening is done by a Special Connections provider to see if a woman meets the risk criteria).

Services can be outpatient or residential depending on a woman’s level of risk. Services include:

   Case management

   Group health education with other pregnant women

   Group substance abuse counseling with other pregnant women  

   In-depth risk screening

   Individual substance abuse counseling

   Referral to appropriate aftercare and ongoing support

   Urine screening and monitoring
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Early Childhood Mental Health Specialist Program

ECMHS in Colorado

Program Services

The purpose of the Early Childhood Mental Health Specialist (ECMHS) program is to help parents and other caregivers, like 
child care providers, to better understand and respond to young children’s social, emotional, and developmental needs.  The 
Specialists are trained mental health professionals and they provide consultation and coaching/training to early learning 
programs, like child care or Head Start, and to families. The ECMHS program focuses on developing and strengthening the 
social emotional environment for children 0- 8 years and helps young children develop on track through timely screening and 
assessment, increasing the parent and the child care provider’s ability to address challenging or puzzling behaviors, and by 
connecting families to other community resources, like mental health counseling or treatment.

ECMH Specialists are based out of either the Community Mental Health Centers or other community organizations across 
Colorado. The ECMHS provides services in the early learning environment, the home, and the community. 

There is no charge to families or child care programs for these services.

To find the Community Mental Health Center, turn to page 16.

Developmental Screening – Screening can help detect potential social emotional, health, and developmental difficulties early 
on. It typically entails the use of a screening tool and observation.

Developmental Assessment/Evaluation – Developmental assessments are completed using parental input, teacher observa-
tions, and the child observation. The assessment will aid in the discovery of learning, developmental, and other delays or 
behavior challenges and can be used as a guide for future actions.

Consultation – Consultation services are individualized according to the family’s need and situation. They are collaborative in 
nature and provided by a professional with expertise in early childhood mental health. Consultation is provided in a natural 
setting for the family or child such as the home or early learning environment. Consultation is also provided to early care and 
learning providers to help create social and emotionally healthy classroom environments and to help child care providers 
manage their stress so that they can do their best when working with the children in their classrooms.

Parent Services – Early Childhood Mental Health Specialists provide training to parents in a group setting or one-on-one
coaching either in the community or in the home. The ECMHS can help bridge the gap between the child care or educational 
setting and the home.

Kindergarten Readiness – Research shows that children who have pro-social skills tend to have a more positive school
experience which leads to better and more productive learning. The ECMHS work with children to enhance their ability to
make friends, share and take turns, follow directions, care about other people’s feelings, and regulate emotions. 

What this program can offer
Improved early learning environment 
Improved child and family relationships
Decrease in expulsion from early learning programs
Children will be socially and emotionally ready for kindergarten and school success
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Early Intervention for developmental delays

How to access Early Intervention

Step by step flow chart.

The Early Intervention (EI) Colorado program provides developmental supports and services to children from birth through two 
years of age who have special developmental needs. It can help improve a child’s ability to develop and learn. It can also help 
the family learn ways to support and promote their child’s development, within their family activities and community life. The 
EI Colorado program provides EI services, such as occupational, speech or physical therapy, to help infants and toddlers grow 
and develop, and to help their family in this process. It is a voluntary program and does not discriminate based on race, 
culture, religion, income level, or disability. 

The child’s primary care physician is usually the person who performs developmental screenings. If they find that a child has 
any developmental delays, they will provide them with a referral to the Early Intervention Program. Caseworkers can also 
assist Health First Colorado members by contacting the Early Intervention program at 1-888-777-4041 or visiting www.eicol-
orado.org, and clicking on the “Local Early Intervention Contacts” icon and choosing the appropriate city, county or zip code. 

Members can request a free evaluation and/or assessment of the child’s development. They can answer questions about the 
child’s development, and determine whether they may benefit from the Early Intervention services and supports offered 
through the Early Intervention Colorado program.
 

The flowchart explains all the steps within the Early 
Intervention Colorado program, from the initial referral and 
determining eligibility through planning the transition out of 
the Early Intervention Colorado program.

Meeting the Service Coordinator

Developmental Screening (when appropriate)

The family has rights within
each area of the process

No later than the child’s third birthday should  
they leave the Early intervention program  

Evaluation and/or
Assessment 

completed within 45 days
of referral date

Not eligible

Eligible- Individualized Family Service Plan (IFSP)

Developed within 45 days of referral date to determine 
which Early Intervention service will be provided. (Your 
child’s IFSP is reviewed at least every six months and 

the IFSP is rewritten every year)
Early Intervention services documented on your child’s 

IFSP must start within 28 days of your consent 

Evaluation Team
and/or service 
coordinator will

refer to other
appropriate

supports and
services

Transition planning
 

(occurs between two years three months and two years 
nine months of age)

An IFSP meeting is held to develop a transition plan
The local school district will be notified if the child is 
potentially eligible for preschool special education 

services, unless they opt out of this notification.
With the approval a transition conference is held. 

If they have
a renewed 

concern

Referral

TIP
Health First Colorado (Colorado’s Medicaid 
Program) pays for most Early Intervention
Services that are provided, but only if they are 
medically necessary.

For more information please contact the
Community Center Board (CCB), which 
oversees the Early Intervention Program.

https://www.colorado.gov/hcpf/community-centered-boards 

CCB
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8
Children and Adolescents 
Involved in the Justice 
System

Children who are in the criminal justice system are at a higher risk of 
having poor health. They are more likely to misuse substances and 
develop a mental illness. It is important that they immediately get 
health insurance at the time of their release back to the community, 
so that a health professional can identify and treat any problems that 
the child might have. If left untreated, these health conditions can 
contribute to reoffending, re-arrest and re-incarceration.  

Justice involved children may be eligible for Health First Colorado (Colorado’s Medicaid 
program).

A child’s eligibility will depend on family size and income. To check if the member qualifies for  
Health First Colorado, call at 1-800-221-3943. Eligibility will also depend on the following:  

Eligible Not Eligible
on bond

on diversion

on probation

on parole

not living in a halfway
house (non-
residential
status)

off paper

in jail or prison

living in a halfway house

on work release from
jail

 

For additional information go to: http://takecarehealthmatters.org/for-criminal-jus-
tice-and-health-agencies/eligibility

              31



9Crisis Situations

Call this toll-free number
1-844-493-TALK (8255) 
or text TALK to 38255 to 

get help.

If a Health First Colorado member is in a crisis or in 
need of immediate mental health, substance use or 
emotional help contact COLORADO CRISIS 
SERVICES. They provide confidential and immediate 
support, help manage an emergency situation, and 
connect members to further resources. They are 
available every day, at any time of the day.

When calling Colorado Crisis Services, Health First 
Colorado members will be connected to a crisis 
counselor or trained professional with a master’s or 
doctoral degree. They offer translation services for 
non-English speakers, they engage in immediate 
problem solving, and they always make follow-up 
calls to ensure the member receives continued care. 
 
  

Health First Colorado members can also visit any of 
the Walk-in Crisis Centers if they are having a crisis 
or need help dealing with one.  They are open 
24/7/365, and offer confidential, in-person crisis 
support, information and referrals to anyone in 
need. 

If the member cannot reasonably access the Crisis 
Service Walk-in Centers, a mental health profes-
sional can be sent out to their location to provide 
support if they need face-to-face help. The member 
will need a referral from a Crisis Service Clinician to 
have someone come out to their location. Call 
1-844-493-TALK (8255) for more information on 
accessing this service for members

Respite care can only be initiated by a Crisis
Services Clinician after an in-person meeting.
Those needing safe, peer-managed stabilization
and support can stay voluntarily for 1-14 days
to get the help they need. 

Crisis Support Line

Crisis Walk-In Centers/Stabilization Units Locations

Crisis Walk-In Centers/Stabilization Units 

Mobile Care

Respite Care

Metro Denver Region

Northeast Region

Southeast Region

Western Slope Region

Westminster Walk-In Crisis Services
2551 W 84th Avenue
Westminster, CO 80031

Lakewood Walk-In Crisis Services
12055 W. 2nd Place
Lakewood, CO 80228

Littleton Walk-In Crisis Services
6509 S. Santa Fe Drive
Littleton, CO 80120

Boulder Walk-in Crisis Services
3180 Airport Road
Boulder, CO 80301

Denver Walk-In Crisis Services
4353 E. Colfax Avenue
Denver, CO 80220

Aurora Walk-in Crisis Services
2206 Victor Street
Aurora, CO 80045

Pueblo Walk-In Crisis Services
1302 Chinook Lane
Pueblo, CO 81001

Colorado Springs Walk-In Crisis Services
115 S Parkside Drive
Colorado Springs, CO 80910

Fort Collins Walk-In Crisis Services
1217 Riverside Ave
Fort Collins, CO 80524

Grand Junction Walk-In Crisis Services
515 28 3/4 Road
Grand Junction, CO 81501

Greeley Walk-In Crisis Services
928 12th Street
Greeley, CO 80631
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10
Appendix: 
Contact Information for 
Caseworkers  

Health First Colorado members can change or choose their physical health plan and Primary Care 
Provider (PCP) by calling 303-839-2120, or 888-367-6557. For TDD/TTY, call 888-876-8864. Call 
Monday to Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m

Children and pregnant women can get help finding a provider by contacting their local Healthy Commu-
nities Family Health Coordinator https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/hcpf/family-health-coordinator-list

Health First Colorado members can update their address or income information or to get other social 
service by logging into PEAK at Colorado.gov/PEAK or by calling their local county office. Local county 
offices can be found by going to Colorado.gov/HCPF/Counties. 

For questions about co-pays, benefits and billing, visit our website at Colorado.gov/HCPF. Or call the 
Health First Colorado Member Services Contact Center at 800-221-3943 (State Relay 711) Monday to 
Friday, 7:30 a.m. to 5:15 p.m.

For dental questions, call DentaQuest Member Services at 855-225-1729 (State Relay 711) Monday to 
Friday, 7:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Or go to DentaQuest.com/Colorado or HealthFirstColorado.com/find-doc-
tors.

To talk to a registered nurse who can answer medical questions, give care advice and help decide if  a 
provider should be seen right away, call the Nurse Advice Line 24 hours a day, every day of the year at 
800-283-3221.

In an emergency, call 911 or have the member go to the nearest emergency room.

If the Health First Colorado member has a behavioral health crisis and can’t reach their provider or 
Behavioral Health Organization, or if they are suicidal, call Colorado Crisis Services at 800-273-TALK 
(800-273-8255). Colorado Crisis Services are available 24 hours a day, every day of the year.
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