COLORADO PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION Limited Regulation Passenger Carrier Permit Application Information

Rules	The PUC's Rules Regulating Transportation by Motor Vehicle, 4 CCR 723-6, and Rules of Practice and Procedure, 4 CCR 723-1, are available on the PUC's website at: www.colorado.gov/dora/pucrules.
	The Colorado State Patrol's (CSP) Minimum Standards for the Operation of Commercial Vehicles, 8 CCR 1507-1, are available at http://www.sos.state.co.us/CCR/Welcome.do
Permit Required	Colorado law requires limited regulation passenger carriers obtain a permit from the Public Utilities Commission (PUC) prior to beginning service. An existing carrier applying to change its business structure (e.g., sole proprietorship to LLC, etc.) must re-apply and pay all applicable fees.
Lawful Presence in United States	Colorado law requires that only persons lawfully present in the United States may be issued a license, certificate, registration or permit. If you are a sole proprietorship, you must complete the attached Affidavit of Eligibility. When requested, you must produce valid identification.
Application Requirements	A non-refundable, annual motor vehicle stamp fee of \$50.00 per vehicle is required. The stamp fee may be paid by credit card during the online process or in person via cash, money order, or check (made payable to the Colorado Public Utilities Commission). All fees are non-refundable.
	If you need further information or assistance, please call (303) 894-2000 and select option 4.
Criminal History Check	Colorado law requires drivers for a limited regulation passenger carrier (except fire crew transport) to clear a fingerprint-based criminal history record check. Information on that process is available at www.colorado.gov/dora/limitedreg , under Fingerprints.
Business Structure	- Sole Proprietors must execute the Affidavit of Eligibility during the online process.
Structure	 All other business structures must attach one of the following documents certified by the Colorado Secretary of State: Certificate of Good Standing, or
	Certificate of Existence or Certificate of Incorporation.
	- Information submitted to the PUC must be identical to the records of the Secretary of State.
Trade Name	To operate under a trade name, the applicant must include a <i>Certificate of Assumed Trade Name</i> or a <i>Certificate of Fact of Trade Name</i> issued by the Colorado Secretary of State's Office.
Designated Agent	A designated agent is either a person or legal entity such as a corporation, upon whom service may be made of any lawful notice, order, process, or demand. The designated agent, if a person, shall be at least 18 years of age. The addresses of the designated agent shall be in the state of Colorado. A motor carrier is cautioned to obtain prior written approval from the person or legal entity it is appointing as its designated agent. The Colorado Secretary of State cannot be a designated agent. For-hire services are available and can be found on the Internet.
Insurance Requirements	Insurance filings must be submitted by your insurance company or general agent online at: https://www.dora.state.co.us/pls/real/PUC_INS_Web.Logon. Paper copies are not accepted. Information submitted to the PUC must be identical to the records of the Secretary of State.
Motor Vehicle Liability Coverage Acceptable Forms	 NARUC FORM E (Uniform Motor Carrier Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability Certificate of Insurance), or NARUC FORM G (Uniform Motor Carrier Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability Surety Bond), or Certificate of Self-Insurance issued by the Commissioner of the Division of Insurance pursuant to § 42-7-501, C.R.S., or A written decision, order, or authorization from the FMCSA approving the self-insurance plan or other security that is still in full force and effect.
Minimum Limits	\$500,000 minimum for vehicles with a seating capacity of 8 or fewer. \$1,500,000 minimum for vehicles with a seating capacity of 9 through 15, inclusive. \$3,000,000 minimum for vehicles with a seating capacity of 16 through 32, inclusive. \$5,000,000 minimum for vehicles with a seating capacity of 33 or more.
Vehicle Inspection form	Each motor vehicle that will be operated under this permit must be inspected within 20 days before the permit application is filed*. The inspection must be done by an inspector who meets the qualification requirements in 49 C.F.R. Section 396.19**. An Annual Vehicle Inspection Report that shows each vehicle passed the inspection must be attached to the application. A sample of the Annual Vehicle Inspection Report is available at www.colorado.gov/dora/limitedreg , under Vehicle Forms. *any vehicles that are added to the fleet after the permit has been issued must also pass inspection in accordance with Commission rules. **vehicle inspections and vehicle inspection forms must be completed by a certified
Medicaid Client Transport	mechanic or inspector. Existing carriers that transport passengers who receive Medicaid must provide proof that it is a current Medicaid provider. Prospective Medicaid provider - provide completed NMT/NEMT Provisional Agreement and a copy of Provider Enrollment Application email from Colorado Medicaid containing the application tracking number (ATN).