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Background 
Federal Medicaid law, 42 U.S.C.§ 1396d(r), requires state Medicaid programs to provide Early 
and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic, and Treatment (EPSDT) for members under 21 years of 
age. Within the scope of EPSDT benefits under federal law, Health First Colorado (Colorado’s 
Medicaid program) is required to cover any service for members age 20 or younger that is 
medically necessary “to correct or ameliorate a defect, physical or mental illness, or a 
condition identified by screening,” whether or not the service is covered under the Colorado 
State Medicaid Plan. “Ameliorate” means to improve or maintain the member’s health in the 
best condition possible, compensate for a health problem, prevent it from worsening, or 
prevent the development of additional health problems. Even if the service will not cure the 
member’s condition, it must be covered if it is medically necessary to improve or maintain 
the member’s overall health. The services covered under EPSDT are limited to those within 
the scope of the category of services listed in federal law at 42 U.S.C. § 1396d(a).  
 
This means that EPSDT benefits include medically necessary treatments that a recipient 
under 21 years of age needs to stay as healthy as possible, and Health First Colorado must 
provide or arrange for (directly or through referral to appropriate agencies, organizations, or 
individuals) corrective treatment. EPSDT benefits are more robust than the adult Medicaid 
benefit package and include a separate medical necessity definition for services rendered to 
or requested for members under the age of 21, see 10 CCR 2505-10 § 8.280.4.E. 
 
EPSDT makes short-term and long-term services available to all members under 21 years of 
age, without many of the limits Medicaid imposes for services for members over the age of 
21. The services must be prescribed by the member’s treating provider(s) and prior 
authorization may be required for some services. 
 

EPSDT Fast Facts 
1. No Medicaid Wait List for EPSDT Services.  

Medicaid cannot impose any waiting list and must provide coverage for treatment for 
members under 21 years of age. However, Health First Colorado cannot guarantee that 
Medicaid providers will not have scheduling delays.  
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2. No Monetary Cap on the Total Cost of EPSDT Services. 

A member under 21 years of age, who is eligible for Medicaid, is entitled to receive 
services without any monetary cap, provided that the services meet EPSDT’s medical 
necessity criteria. 

3. No Upper Limit on the Number of Visits, Hours, or Units under EPSDT. 

Medically necessary EPSDT services are not subject to Medicaid limits on the number of 
visits, hours, or units of a service. However, for Medicaid limits to be exceeded, 
providers must document why it is medically necessary to exceed the limits in order to 
correct or ameliorate a defect, physical or mental illness, or condition. Prior 
authorization is allowed for services but must not impede the delivery of necessary 
services. 

4. Coverage for Services That Are Never Covered for Members 21 Years of Age and 
Older. 

Medically necessary services within the scope of 42 U.S.C. § 1396d(a) are covered under 
EPSDT. Provider documentation must demonstrate that the service is medically necessary 
to prevent, diagnose, evaluate, correct, ameliorate, or treat a defect, physical and 
mental illness, or condition. 

5. There is no requirement to make special requests for EPSDT coverage.  

EPSDT describes a core set of Medicaid benefits for individuals under the age of 21. 
Members and their providers are not required to cite or mention EPSDT to have requests 
reviewed under the EPSDT medical necessity standard.  

Important Information about EPSDT Coverage 
1. Members under 21 must be afforded access to the full scope of EPSDT services, including 

administrative case management, which includes providing lists of providers and a 
description of benefit categories in the Member Handbook.  
 

2. Health First Colorado will cover treatment that members under 21 years of age need 
under federal law and this EPSDT policy. 
 

3. EPSDT services need not be services that are covered under Health First Colorado’s or its 
managed care entities’ clinical coverage policies or service definitions. 

 
4. If the requested service, product, or procedure requires prior approval, the fact that the 

member is under 21 years of age does NOT eliminate the requirement for prior approval. 
 
5. Health First Colorado is required to make available a variety of providers who are 

qualified and willing to provide EPSDT services. 
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6. Consistent with federal law, Health First Colorado contracts with all providers qualified 
and willing to provide EPSDT services. 

 
7. When vendors and contractors review covered Medicaid service requests for prior 

approval or continuing authorization (Utilization Review or UR) for a member under 21 
years of age, the reviewer will apply EPSDT criteria to the review. Regarding services 
requiring prior authorization, EPSDT operational principles include the following: 

 
A. Coverage reviews, including medical necessity reviews: 

1) Requests for EPSDT services do NOT have to be labeled as such. Any request for 
services for a member under 21 years of age is a request for EPSDT services. The 
decision to approve or deny the request will be based on the member’s medical 
need for the service to prevent, diagnose, evaluate, correct, ameliorate, or 
treat a defect, physical or mental illness, or condition. 

2) The specific coverage criteria (e.g., particular diagnoses, signs, or symptoms) 
in clinical coverage policies or service definitions do NOT have to be met for 
members under 21 years of age so long as the service is medically necessary to 
prevent, diagnose, evaluate, correct, ameliorate, or treat a defect, physical 
or mental illness, or condition. 

3) Specific numerical limits (number of hours, number of visits, or other limitations 
on scope, amount or frequency) in clinical coverage policies, service definitions, 
or billing codes do NOT apply to members under 21 years of age if more hours or 
visits of the requested service are medically necessary to prevent, diagnose, 
evaluate, correct, ameliorate, or treat a defect, physical or mental illness, or 
condition. 

4) Out-of-state services are not covered if similarly effective services to prevent, 
diagnose, evaluate, correct, ameliorate, or treat a defect, physical or mental 
illness, or condition are available anywhere in the state of Colorado. Services 
which require prior authorization will be denied reimbursement if not prior 
approved.  

5) Vendors and contractors must consider any request for Medicaid services for a 
member under 21 years of age under EPSDT criteria when the request is made in 
accordance with the Health First Colorado’s prior authorization policies.  

6) Requests for prior approval for EPSDT services must include documentation 
showing that the service is medically necessary as defined in 10 CCR 2505-10 § 
8.280.4.E. Prior approval requests require current information from the 
requesting qualified provider.  

7) Health First Colorado retains the authority to determine how an identified type 
of equipment, therapy, or service will be provided, subject to compliance with 
federal law.  

8) Health First Colorado will take into account a number of factors, including the 
opinion of the treating physician and sufficient access to alternative services.  

9) Services will be provided in the most economical manner, as long as the 
determination process does not delay the delivery of the needed service, and 
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the determination does not limit the member’s right to free choice of Health 
First Colorado enrolled providers who provide the approved service.  

10) If the member is enrolled in a Managed Care Entity, the member also has the 
right to free choice within the managed care entity’s network of providers.  

11) It is not sufficient to cover a standard, lower cost service instead of a requested 
specialized service if the lower cost service is not equally effective in that 
individual case.  

12) Requests for prior approval of services are to be decided with reasonable 
promptness, usually within 15 business days from receipt of all required or 
requested information.  

13) No request for services for a member under 21 years of age will be denied, 
formally or informally, until it is evaluated under EPSDT. 
 

B. Denial notice requirements and appeal rights: 
1) If services are denied, reduced, or terminated, proper written notice with 

appeal rights must be provided to the member and copied to the provider.  
2) Denials of service requests for children and youth under the age of 21 must 

describe that EPSDT requirements were considered during the review process.  
3) As with all Health First Colorado benefit denial notices, denial notices for 

individuals under the age of 21 must comply with federal and state accessibility 
standards, including the Americans with Disabilities Act and the Affordable 
Care Act’s language accessibility requirements.  

4) The notice must include reasons for the intended action, citation that supports 
the intended action, and notice of the right to appeal. Such a denial can be 
appealed in the same manner as any Medicaid service denial, reduction, or 
termination. 

5) The member has the right to continued benefits for services currently provided 
pending appeal. This includes the right to reinstatement of services pending 
appeal if there was less than a 30-day interruption before submitting a re-
authorization request. 

 
EPSDT Criteria 
It is important to note that the service can only be covered if all criteria specified below are 
met. 
 
1. EPSDT services must be coverable services within the scope of those listed in the 

Medicaid statute at 42 U.S.C. § 1396d(a). For example, “maintenance” and 
“rehabilitative services” are covered by EPSDT, even if the particular maintenance or 
rehabilitative service requested is not listed in Health First Colorado clinical policies or 
service definitions.  
 

2. The service must be medically necessary to prevent, diagnose, evaluate, correct, 
ameliorate, or treat a defect, physical or mental illness, or a condition diagnosed by the 
member’s physician, therapist, or other licensed practitioner. By requiring coverage of 
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services needed to prevent, diagnose, evaluate, correct, ameliorate, or treat a defect, 
physical or mental illness, EPSDT also requires payment of services that are medically 
necessary to sustain, maintain or support, rather than improve, cure or eliminate health 
problems, to the extent that the service is needed to prevent, diagnose, evaluate, 
correct, ameliorate, or treat a defect, physical or mental illness, or condition.  

 
3. The requested service must be determined to be medical or behavioral health in nature. 
 
4. The service must be safe. 
 
5. The service must be effective. 
 
6. The service must be generally recognized as an accepted method of medical practice or 

treatment. 
 
7. The service must not be experimental/investigational. 
 
8. Health First Colorado may cover services in the most cost-effective mode so long as the 

less expensive service is equally effective and actually available. Health First Colorado 
may not deny medically necessary treatment to a member based on cost alone but may 
consider the relative cost effectiveness of alternatives as part of the prior authorization 
process.  

 
Additionally, consistent with federal and state law, Health First Colorado will only cover 
services if they are provided by an enrolled or contracted Health First Colorado provider for 
the specific service type. This may include an out-of-state provider who is willing to enroll if 
an in-state provider or service is not available. 
 
EPSDT and Managed Care 
Health First Colorado requires its contractors – including its managed care entities, which 
manage benefits including behavioral health, oral health, and pharmacy services – to comply 
with EPSDT. In Colorado, managed care entities (MCEs) must make available to all enrolled 
children the entire scope of services included in EPSDT services that is appropriate for 
treating or ameliorating diagnoses covered within their contract. This means that: 

 
1. Regional Accountable Entities (RAEs) are responsible for providing EPSDT benefits related 

to the prevention, diagnosis, evaluation, correction, amelioration, or treatment of 
mental health and substance use disorder diagnoses covered within their contract. 
 

2. Health First Colorado is responsible for providing EPSDT benefits for all diagnoses not 
covered under contracts with Regional Accountable Entities for members not enrolled 
with Denver Health Medicaid Choice or Rocky Mountain Health Plans Prime. 
 

3. Denver Health Medicaid Choice and Rocky Mountain Health Plans Prime are responsible 
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for covering their enrolled members’ state plan benefits, including EPSDT benefits. These 
organizations follow Bright Futures Recommendations for Preventative Health Care for 
well care. They are required to coordinate any needed services that are found during any 
screening or diagnostic visit.  

 
4. The Department is responsible for training managed care entities and organizations about 

EPSDT each year.   
 
Additionally, the MCEs in collaboration with their network providers are responsible for 
providing care coordination, sometimes referred to as administrative case management, for 
any member, including EPSDT benefits for all children and youth enrolled in Health First 
Colorado. 
 
Colorado requires through contract that MCEs follow the state’s medical necessity 
definitions established in rule (10 CCR 2505-10 §§ 8.076.1.8 and 8.280.4.E.). Each year, 
Health First Colorado reviews the utilization management policies and procedures of its 
managed care entities for the annual Mental Health Parity Report, including an analysis of 
the medical necessity definitions used by each entity. Furthermore, Health First Colorado’s 
External Quality Review Organization annually reviews a sample of service denial notices to 
determine whether each MCE has implemented and followed its own written policies, 
procedures, and organizational processes related to utilization management regulations. 
 
As a further step to provide consistency across the delivery system and proper 
implementation of the children’s benefit package, Health First Colorado requires its 
contracted MCEs to educate members and providers about EPSDT requirements. Through 
regular deliverables, Health First Colorado reviews managed care entities’ activities to: 
 

1. Inform managed care network providers about EPSDT; 
 
2. Offer trainings to managed care network providers on EPSDT at least every 6 months; 

and 
 

3. Outreach EPSDT-eligible members and their families within 60 days of enrollment and 
at least one time annually. 

 
Informing Members and Providers about EPSDT 
In accordance with 42 C.F.R. § 441.56(a), Health First Colorado “provides for a combination 
of written and oral methods designed to inform effectively all EPSDT eligible individuals or 
their families about the EPSDT program,” including their providers.  EPSDT policy 
instructions are posted on the Health First Colorado and RAE webpages. Health First 
Colorado makes information about EPSDT available to enrollees in the Health First Colorado 
Member Handbook, also in accordance with 42 C.F.R. § 438.210(a)(4). The MCEs send a 
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welcome letter to all members or their families that explains how to access member 
handbooks. 
 
Furthermore, the MCEs are responsible for:  
 

1. Annually informing EPSDT eligible members who have not utilized EPSDT services in 
the previous 12 months in accordance with the American Association of Pediatrics 
“Bright Futures Guidelines” and “Recommendations for Preventive Pediatric Health 
Care.” 

 
2. Collaborating with contracted providers to outreach EPSDT eligible members to 

ensure children receive regularly scheduled examinations of physical and mental 
health, growth, development, and nutritional status in accordance with the American 
Association of Pediatrics “Bright Futures Guidelines.” 

 
3. Any provider or member/family needing assistance to understand or receive EPSDT 

services, should contact the MCE in which the member is enrolled. 
 
EPSDT Coverage and Waiver Programs 

1. HCBS Waiver services are available only to participants in the waiver programs and 
are not a part of the EPSDT benefit. 

 
2. Any member enrolled in a waiver program can receive BOTH waiver services and 

EPSDT services.  
 

3. EPSDT services must be provided to members under 21 years of age in a waiver 
program under the same standards as other under-21 members receiving Medicaid 
services.  

 
Prior Authorizations for Covered Services  
Should the service, product, or procedure require prior approval, the fact that the member 
is under 21 years of age does not eliminate the requirement for prior approval. If prior 
approval is required and if the member does not meet the clinical coverage criteria or needs 
to exceed clinical coverage policy limits, providers should submit documentation to the 
appropriate vendor or contractor with the prior approval request that shows how the service 
at the requested frequency and amount is medically necessary and meets all EPSDT criteria, 
including to prevent, diagnose, evaluate, correct, ameliorate, or treat, physical or mental 
illness, or condition. The General Provider Information Manual contains instructions for 
requesting prior authorization for services paid under fee-for-service. Should further 
information be needed, the provider is required to produce requested information. 
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Non-Covered Services and EPSDT 
1. Requests for non-covered services are requests for services, products, or procedures that 

are not included in the Health First Colorado State Plan but are coverable under federal 
Medicaid law for members under 21 years of age.  
 

2. Service requests for non-covered state Medicaid plan services, and requests for a review 
when there is no established review process for a requested service, should be submitted 
to HCPF_EPSDT@state.co.us email box. The form for these requests is listed as the EPSDT 
Request Form for Non-Covered State Medicaid Plan Services for Members under Age 21 on 
the Department’s Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic and Treatment web page.   

 
3. Requests where there are established review processes should be submitted to the 

appropriate system, such as Coloradopar.com for State Plan services and other EPSDT 
coverage. 

 
A review of a request for a non-covered state Medicaid plan service includes a determination 
that ALL EPSDT criteria specified in these instructions are met. 
 
If a provider is not sure where to send a prior authorization request, they should contact the 
Regional Provider Support Representative for the Health First Colorado program. Contact 
information can be found at https://hcpf.colorado.gov/regional-provider-support. 
 
For More Information about EPSDT 
Important additional information about EPSDT and prior approval is found in the Basic 
Medicaid Billing Guide, sections 2 and 6, and on the Department’s EPSDT provider page.  
 
Basic Medicaid Billing Guides 
https://hcpf.colorado.gov/gen-info-manual 
 
EPSDT Program Page  
Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic and Treatment (EPSDT) | Colorado Department of 
Health Care Policy & Financing 
 
Additional Information: 
EPSDT Request Form for Non-Covered State Medicaid Plan Services for Members under Age 21 

mailto:HCPF_EPSDT@state.co.us
https://hcpf.colorado.gov/sites/hcpf/files/EPSDT%20Request%20for%20Coverage%20Form.pdf
https://hcpf.colorado.gov/sites/hcpf/files/EPSDT%20Request%20for%20Coverage%20Form.pdf
https://hcpf.colorado.gov/early-and-periodic-screening-diagnostic-and-treatment-epsdt
https://hcpf.colorado.gov/regional-provider-support
https://hcpf.colorado.gov/gen-info-manual
https://hcpf.colorado.gov/early-and-periodic-screening-diagnostic-and-treatment-epsdt
https://hcpf.colorado.gov/early-and-periodic-screening-diagnostic-and-treatment-epsdt
https://hcpf.colorado.gov/sites/hcpf/files/EPSDT%20Request%20for%20Coverage%20Form.pdf
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