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 Did You Know?
Member eligibility verification is available 
electronically, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. 
Eligibility information is updated daily, except for 
weekends and State holidays. 

 

All Providers 

Fingerprint Criminal 
Background Check (FCBC) 

As a reminder, high-risk providers (and any person 
who has ownership, or a controlling interest of 5% 
or more of a high-risk provider type) need to 
undergo an FCBC. Providers must submit 
fingerprints within 30 days of a request from the 
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), 
the Department of Health Care Policy & Financing 
(the Department), Department agents or 
designated contractors. 

On September 24, 2018, the Department of Public 
Safety implemented the Colorado Applicant 
Background Services (CABS) program. Instead of 
obtaining and submitting fingerprint cards from 
local law enforcement agencies, individuals must 
go to an IdentoGo location or to a Colorado 
Fingerprinting location to meet the requirements 
of the FCBC for high-risk provider types. More 
information is available on the Employment & 
Background Checks web page of the Colorado 
Bureau of Investigation (CBI) website. 

To ensure that the fingerprint background reports 
are being sent to the Department for review, the 
individual must choose the correct code when 
making the appointment with IdentoGo. The code 
that must be used is: Medicaid - Department of 
Health Care Policy and Financing-service code 
25YQG9*. 
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http://colorado.gov/hcpf
https://www.identogo.com/locations
http://www.coloradofingerprinting.com/
http://www.coloradofingerprinting.com/
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/cbi/employment-background-checks
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/cbi/employment-background-checks
https://www.colorado.gov/cbi
https://www.colorado.gov/cbi
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*Note: If the wrong code is chosen for the background check and the results go to a 
different department, the report is unable to be shared between departments due to 
privacy requirements. The individual will be required to pay the fees to obtain 
another report. 

For more information, refer to the Fingerprint Criminal Background Check Frequently 
Asked Questions (FAQs), available on the Provider FAQ Central web page under the 
Fingerprinting drop-down section. 

 

Dental Providers 

Verifying Member Eligibility and Appealing Claim Denials for 
Eligibility 

Providers are reminded to verify member eligibility prior to rendering services. Records of eligibility should 
be retained for billing purposes. It is critical for providers to always check the eligibility response at each 
visit as eligibility may change. Obtaining prior authorization is not a guarantee of eligibility. 

Health First Colorado (Colorado's Medicaid Program) Provider Web Portal 

The Provider Web Portal is managed by DXC Technology (DXC) and is the system of record for member 
eligibility, not the DentaQuest Portal.  

Providers are required to verify eligibility for each date of service through DXC either via the Provider Web 
Portal or via batch X12N 270.  

For more information on how to verify member eligibility in the Provider Web Portal, refer to the Verifying 
Member Eligibility and Co-Pay Provider Web Portal Quick Guide, available on the Quick Guides and Webinars 
web page. 

Appealing Claim Denials for Eligibility 

If a claim is denied for eligibility by DentaQuest, the provider may appeal by submitting proof of eligibility 
from DXC. The appeal process is documented under section 7.00 of the Health First Colorado Dental Plan 
Program Office Reference Manual (ORM), available on the Colorado State Dental Plans web page of the 
DentaQuest website.  

Refer to the DentaQuest Office Reference Manual for more information. 

Contact DentaQuest at 1-855-225-1731 with any questions regarding this process. 

 

Durable Medical Equipment, Prosthetic, Orthotic 
and Supply (DMEPOS) Providers 

Claims Must Match Documentation 
DMEPOS providers are reminded that delivery documentation such as delivery tickets and shipping invoices 
must match the date of service billed and entered on claims pursuant to state and federal audit requests. 

https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/hcpf/faq-central
https://colorado-hcp-portal.xco.dcs-usps.com/hcp/provider/Home/tabid/135/Default.aspx
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/sites/default/files/Member%20Eligibility%20021318_0.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/sites/default/files/Member%20Eligibility%20021318_0.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/hcpf/interchange-resources
https://www.colorado.gov/hcpf/interchange-resources
http://www.dentaquest.com/getattachment/State-Plans/Regions/Colorado/Provider-Page/CO-Medicaid-ORM.pdf/?lang=en-US
http://www.dentaquest.com/getattachment/State-Plans/Regions/Colorado/Provider-Page/CO-Medicaid-ORM.pdf/?lang=en-US
http://www.dentaquest.com/state-plans/regions/colorado/dentist-page/
http://dentaquest.com/state-plans/regions/colorado/
http://www.dentaquest.com/state-plans/regions/colorado/dentist-page/
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Geographical Reimbursement Rates 
Codes subject to the Medicare Upper Payment Limit (UPL) require reimbursement to be paid at the 
geographical rate. The Department has set rates according to the regions that Medicare has designated for 
Colorado, to include the following four regions: 

• Non-Rural 
• Rural 

o Zip codes associated with the Rural regions 
• Competitive Bid (Denver-Aurora-Lakewood) 
• Competitive Bid (Colorado Springs) 

o Zip codes associated with the Competitive Bid areas 

Effective January 1, 2018, the competitive bid area (Denver-Aurora-Lakewood) 
interim rate has been used during Department work on the Colorado interchange 
system to implement rates according to region. As a result, claims will be 
reprocessed to reflect the appropriate rate. 

Effective March 12, 2019, claims billed for codes subject to the UPL are 
suspending for Explanation of Benefits (EOB) 0000 – “This claim/service is pending 
for program review.” All affected claims with dates of service on or after January 
1, 2018, will be reprocessed at the correct regional rate.  

 

Modifiers 
NU (New Purchase) - The Department has not enforced the usage of the NU modifier though it should be 
used in all applicable situations. With the implementation of the DME UPL fee schedule, the NU modifier will 
be required on the UPL codes for the claim to price at its New Purchase rate. 

UE (Used Purchase) - All claims for used equipment must include the UE modifier. The DME UPL fee schedule 
details the maximum allowable for used equipment. 

 

Updated Prior Authorization Request (PAR) Requirements for 
Prosthetics & Orthotics, Effective April 1, 2019  

Prosthetic and orthotic PAR requirements originally scheduled to become effective November 1, 2018, were 
delayed. As a result, prosthetic and orthotic PAR requirements will become effective April 1, 2019. 

Prosthetic and orthotic PARs will be reviewed for medical necessity by the Department’s PAR vendor, 
eQHealth Solutions. Contact the ColoradoPAR Provider Helpline at 1-888-801-9355 or visit the ColoradoPAR 
website with any questions on prior authorization or for more information. 

Refer to the prosthetic and orthotic utilization code list below for a complete list of prosthetic and orthotic 
codes that will require a PAR, effective April 1, 2019. 

Contact HCPF_DME@state.co.us for more information. 

https://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Medicare-Fee-for-Service-Payment/FeeScheduleGenInfo/index.html
https://dmecompetitivebid.com/palmetto/cbic.nsf/CBAMap
http://www.coloradopar.com/Home.aspx
http://www.coloradopar.com/Home.aspx
mailto:HCPF_DME@state.co.us
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The following codes will not have changes to their PAR requirements: 

Prosthetic Codes Orthotic Codes 
L5312 L8031 L8047 
L6880 L8032 L8048 
L6881 L8039 L8049 
L6882 L8040 L8499 
L6890 L8041 L8505 
L6895 L8042 L8507 
L6900 L8043 L8509 
L6905 L8044 L8510 
L6910 L8045 L8610 
L6915 L8046  
L8030   

 
 
 
 

E1840 L3070 L3300 L3510 
E1841 L3080 L3310 L3520 
L0112 L3090 L3320 L3530 
L0113 L3100 L3330 L3540 
L0130 L3140 L3332 L3550 
L0140 L3150 L3334 L3560 
L0150 L3160 L3340 L3570 
L0160 L3170 L3350 L3580 
L0170 L3215 L3360 L3590 
L0172 L3216 L3370 L3595 
L0174 L3217 L3380 L3600 
L0180 L3219 L3390 L3610 
L0190 L3221 L3400 L3620 
L0200 L3224 L3410 L3630 
L0220 L3225 L3420 L3640 
L3000 L3230 L3430 L3649 
L3001 L3250 L3440 S1040 
L3002 L3251 L3450  
L3003 L3252 L3455  
L3020 L3253 L3460  
L3030 L3254 L3465  
L3031 L3255 L3470  
L3040 L3257 L3480  
L3050 L3260 L3485  
L3060 L3265 L3500  
    

 

 

Home and Community-Based Services (HCBS) 
Developmental Disabilities (DD), Supported Living 

Services (SLS) and Children’s Extensive Support 
(CES) Providers 

House Bill (HB) 18-1407 Implementation 
The Department is currently working to implement HB 18-1407 rate increases effective March 1, 2019. HB 
18-1407 requires the Department to implement a 6.5% increase to reimbursement rates for designated HCBS 
services provided to individuals receiving services through the DD, SLS and CES waivers. The increase applies 
to: 

• Group Residential Services and Supports 
• Individual Residential Services and Supports 
• Specialized Habilitation 
• Respite 
• Homemaker Basic 
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• Homemaker Enhanced  
• Personal Care 
• Prevocational Services 
• Behavioral Line Staff  
• Community Connector  
• Supported Community Connections  
• Mentorship 
• Supported Employment (Job Development and Job Coaching) 

The identified HCBS fee schedules have been updated to reflect the 6.5% increase to non-negotiated rates 
and were posted to the Provider Rates & Fee Schedule web page under the HCBS Rate Schedule drop-down 
section on March 1, 2019. The Spending Plan Authorization Limits (SPALs) have been updated to include the 
6.5% increase and are posted on the fee schedules. The 6.5% increase to services listed above resulted in an 
increase to the SPAL amounts.  

General Information  

Rate increases, effective for dates of service on or after March 1, 2019, were implemented in the Colorado 
interChange on March 7, 2019, for the DD, SLS and CES waivers in accordance with HB 18-1407, Stabilization 
of Direct Support Professional Workforce Stakeholder Engagement. It is recommended that providers submit 
charges based on usual and customary rates, when applicable. Claims with dates of service on or after March 
1, 2019, will be reprocessed by DXC at the new rates in the coming weeks. Providers may also resubmit 
claims directly if they prefer. For more information, refer to the visit the HCBS Rates Information & 
Resources drop-down section of the Provider Rates & Fee Schedule web page. 

Contact Victoria Martinez at Victoria.Martinez@state.co.us for more information. 

 

Hospital and Dialysis Providers 

Billing Guidance for End-Stage Renal Disease as an Emergency 
Medical Condition 

As a reminder, effective February 1, 2019, the Department considers End-Stage Renal Disease to be an 
emergency medical condition. Coverage under this policy is limited to care and services necessary in the 
treatment of End-Stage Renal Disease for recipients of Emergency Medicaid, including dialysis treatment at 
enrolled dialysis treatment centers. 

The Department has received a number of claims recently without the 
emergency indicator. As a reminder, claims submitted for recipients of 
Emergency Medicaid without the appropriate emergency indicator will deny. 

To indicate an emergency when billing: 

• CMS-1500/835P: Use field 24C (EMG) 
• UB-04/837I: Indicate Admission Type 1 (Emergency) or 5 (Trauma) 

Contact Jess Pekala at Jessica.Pekala@state.co.us with any policy questions. 

 

https://www.colorado.gov/hcpf/provider-rates-fee-schedule
https://www.colorado.gov/hcpf/provider-rates-fee-schedule
mailto:Victoria.Martinez@state.co.us
mailto:Jessica.Pekala@state.co.us
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Hospital Providers 

Inpatient Hospital Review Program (IHRP) Implementation 
Notification 

The Department must implement an evidence-based hospital review program to ensure that the utilization 
of hospital services is based on a recipient’s need for care, according to the Senate Bill 18-266 titled 
Controlling Medicaid Costs. Visit the Controlling Medicaid Costs Initiatives web page for additional 
information. 

Prior Authorization Requests (PARs) will be required for inpatient hospital services for dates of service 
beginning May 15, 2019. Providers were able to submit PARs starting March 18, 2019. 

The IHRP will include industry standard review processes for fee-for-service non-behavioral health or non-
maternity related admissions, including: 

• Preadmission Certification including preauthorization for planned, elective, holiday or weekend 
admissions with guidance on length of stay and care settings. For unplanned admissions under 
urgent/emergent circumstances, the provider will be required to enter/request a review within one 
business day after member is stabilized per the Emergency Medical Treatment and Active Labor Act 
(EMTALA) definition. 

o EMTALA reg at 42 USCS § 1395dd, “(B) The term "stabilized" means, with respect to an 
emergency medical condition described in paragraph (1)(A), that no material deterioration of 
the condition is likely, within reasonable medical probability, to result from or occur during 
the transfer of the individual from a facility.” 

• Continued Stay and Complex Case Reviews including review of authorized admissions with greater 
than a four-day length of stay to ensure there are no early discharges that might potentially result in 
readmissions or inappropriate medical services. 

The goals of the IHRP include: 

• Improving the quality of care for Health First Colorado members 
• Facilitating better care planning and care transitions  
• Ensuring services occur in appropriate care settings with the optimal length of stay based on 

members’ needs 
• Monitoring hospitals to ensure appropriate billing practices 
• Providing timely, accurate information and tools to partners who can then reach out to members who 

require extensive care 

The IHRP will provide daily data feeds to Regional Accountable Entities with 
member diagnosis and treatment plans, highlighting opportunities for care 
coordination and case management for patients who are at risk for re-
admission and in need of care transition support. 

The Department has expanded its partnership with the prior authorization 
vendor, eQHealth Solutions, which already supports PARs for select outpatient 
and surgical procedures. Training on the use of eQSuite® and the new IHRP is 
now available on the Inpatient web page of the ColoradoPAR website, and the 

Inpatient Hospital Review Program (IHRP) Questions and Answers has been posted to the website to provide 
additional information.  

https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/hcpf/controlling-medicaid-costs-initiatives
http://coloradopar.com/Inpatient.aspx
http://www.coloradopar.com/Home.aspx
http://www.coloradopar.com/Portals/2/2019/1%20IHRP%20QA%20document_%202.28.19%20%20links%20work.pdf
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Guidelines for providers on time frames for each type of request are listed below: 

Type of Request Guidelines for Providers 

Scheduled, non-emergent 
admissions 

Submitted review prior to admission 

Unscheduled, non-emergent 
admission 

Submitted review within one business day of 
admission 

Unscheduled, emergent admission Submitted review within one business day of 
stabilization of patient per EMTALA definition 

Concurrent Review No later than day four of inpatient admission 

Pended Question Response time 1.5 business days (for example, if a review was 
pended to provider on Thursday afternoon, the 
provider would have until Monday morning, prior to 
12 noon, to respond before review is denied for lack 
of information.) 

Peer-to-Peer Review Providers may request within five business days of 
the Medical Necessity Denial 

Reconsideration for a PAR denial Providers may request within five business days of 
the denial 

 

The Inpatient Hospital Review Program (IHRP) Implementation Notification, available on the Provider News 
web page under the Hospital – General drop-down section, was previously sent to all inpatient providers via 
email February 27, 2019. To receive any future communications regarding IHRP, sign up by going to the 
Provider News web page and clicking “sign up here” in the opening paragraph. Follow the instructions to 
select which communications to receive.  

Contact HCPF_HospitalReview@ state.co.us with any questions regarding this policy. 

Contact eQHealth at 1-888-801-9355 with any questions regarding PAR submissions. 

 

General Updates 
Inpatient Hospital Per Diem Rate Group 

Web Page 

A new web page has been created to house the Inpatient Per Diem Rates. Providers are encouraged to visit 
the Inpatient Hospital Per Diem Reimbursement Group web page. 

There are no meetings currently scheduled. Past meeting materials are available on the Hospital 
Stakeholder Engagement Meetings web page.  

Psychiatric Hospital Providers – Billing Clarification 

As a reminder, the Department has two sets of rates for Psychiatric Hospital providers, Step 1 and Step 2. 
The Step 1 rate is paid during days 1 through 7 of the member’s inpatient stay when billed with revenue 

https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/sites/default/files/Inpatient%20Hospital%20Review%20Program%20%28IHRP%29%20Implementation%20Notification%202-27-2019.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/hcpf/provider-news
https://www.colorado.gov/hcpf/provider-news
https://www.colorado.gov/hcpf/provider-news
https://visitor.r20.constantcontact.com/manage/optin?v=001S8e9mo0MpsE86DXgcWe4GkDAjM7AJsvlWnu_x2Rq4lJLrRo_JIR6VH_FPl-PSk69nMuCPyl-pMQhm1PeAN36FMGYk9hWzpfrgLNOYNso0Hs=
mailto:HCPF_HospitalReview@hcpf.state.co.us
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/hcpf/inpatient-hospital-diem-reimbursement-group
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/hcpf/hospital-stakeholder-engagement-meetings
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/hcpf/hospital-stakeholder-engagement-meetings
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code 0114. The Step 2 rate is paid from day 8 through the remainder of care at an acute level when billed 
with revenue code 0124. Providers must bill the first 7 days of a member’s inpatient stay at psychiatric 
hospitals using revenue code 0114 and the remainder of the stay using revenue code 0124. This methodology 
is outlined in 10 CCR 2505-10 8.300.5.D.1.a. Using the correct revenue code allows the Colorado 
interChange to calculate payments with the appropriate step-down rate.  

Contact Raine Henry at Raine.Henry@state.co.us or 303-866-4493 with any questions. 

Outpatient Hospitals 

Payment Reform Survey 

The Department is planning to conduct a survey regarding its payment reform efforts for Outpatient Hospital 
Payment. The intent of the survey is to obtain input from the hospital provider community regarding how 
the Department directs its resources. This survey is also intended to capture information from a broader set 
of hospitals than the survey distributed in late 2018. 

To stay updated on the distribution of the survey, please sign up for the Hospital Stakeholder Engagement 
Meeting newsletter mailing list below. 

Contact Andrew Abalos at Andrew.Abalos@state.co.us or 303-866-2130 with any questions. 

Observation Payment Clarification 

The Department has received questions regarding the payment for observation services on institutional 
outpatient hospital claims paid through the Enhanced Ambulatory Payment Grouping (EAPG) methodology. 
The Department has not identified any issues in its claims processing engine relating to such payments and 
concludes that payment calculation is functioning as designed. Updating payment for observation services on 
the institutional outpatient hospital claim is being considered as a payment reform effort and will be a topic 
on the upcoming Payment Reform survey. 

Contact Andrew Abalos at Andrew.Abalos@state.co.us or 303-866-2130 with any questions regarding EAPG 
rates or the EAPG methodology in general.  

All Hospital Providers 

Bi-Monthly Hospital Stakeholder Engagement Meetings 

The Department will continue to host bi-monthly Hospital Engagement meetings to 
discuss current issues regarding payment reform and operational processing. The 
next meeting is scheduled for Friday, May 3, 2019, 9:00 a.m.- 12:00 p.m. MT at 
303 E 17th Ave, Denver, Conference Room 7B & 7C. To see dates for all 2019 
Hospital Engagement meetings, refer to the calendar available on the Hospital 
Stakeholder Engagement Meetings web page. 

Sign up to receive the Hospital Stakeholder Engagement Meeting newsletters. 

Visit the Hospital Engagement Meetings web page for more details, meeting 
schedule and past meeting materials. 

Contact Elizabeth Quaife at Elizabeth.Quaife@state.co.us with any questions and/or topics to be discussed 
at future meetings. Advance notice will provide the Rates team time to bring additional Department 
personnel to the meetings to address different concerns. 

https://www.sos.state.co.us/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=2920&deptID=7&agencyID=69&deptName=2505,1305%20Department%20of%20Health%20Care%20Policy%20and%20Financing&agencyName=2505%20Medical%20Services%20Board%20(Volume%208;%20Medical%20Assistance,%20Children%27s%20Health%20Plan)&seriesNum=10%20CCR%202505-10%208.300
mailto:Raine.Henry@state.co.us
mailto:Andrew.Abalos@state.co.us
mailto:Andrew.Abalos@state.co.us
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/hcpf/hospital-stakeholder-engagement-meetings
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/hcpf/hospital-stakeholder-engagement-meetings
https://visitor.r20.constantcontact.com/manage/optin?v=001HfxrbpGNWZ0lZnPp6t3PG2s9XPNl8ZvgFdjsKvSnhIy8z9JmHyp6DeoLJ3saT6x0SeqRR1ub149uoXxe1ok4jTzfMSQ0BN7S5vcLiRO7gdY%3D
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/hcpf/hospital-stakeholder-engagement-meetings
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/hcpf/hospital-stakeholder-engagement-meetings
mailto:Elizabeth.Quaife@state.co.us
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Pharmacy Providers 

340B Drug Pricing Program 
Pharmacies which participate in the 340B Drug Pricing Program must choose either to provide only 340B-
purchased drugs (carve-in) or to provide no 340B-purchased drugs (carve-out) to Health First Colorado 
members. Providers that choose to carve-in must: 

1. Have the National Provider Identifier (NPI) number listed on the HRSA 340B Medicaid Exclusion 
File. 

2. Submit the 340B acquisition cost as the ingredient cost (NCPDP Field #409-D9) on each claim. 
3. Submit claims with “20” in the Submission Clarification field and “05” or “08” in the Basis of 

Cost Determination field.  

November 1, 2018, the Department notified providers when:  

• The pharmacy NPI number is listed on the HRSA 340B Medicaid Exclusion File and the submitted 
ingredient cost on the claim exceeds the 340B ceiling price.   

Effective May 1, 2019, the Department will deny claims when: 

• The pharmacy NPI number is listed on the HRSA 340B Medicaid Exclusion File and the submitted 
ingredient cost on the claim exceeds the 340B ceiling price. 

How to resolve denied claims:  

• Pharmacies must resubmit the claim with the appropriate 340B acquisition cost in the submitted 
ingredient cost field. 

• If the pharmacy still receives a denial after submitting the correct 340B acquisition cost, then 
contact the Magellan Help Desk at 800-424-5725. 

Contact Kristina Gould at Kristina.Gould@state.co.us with any questions. 

 

Pharmacy Acquisition Cost Survey 
The Department has contracted with Myers and Stauffer to conduct quarterly surveys of pharmacy 
acquisition costs for prescription drugs. The Department strongly encourages the participation of pharmacy 
providers to help ensure that pharmacy rates incorporate market conditions 
specific to Colorado. Surveys will be sent via postal mail on April 1, 2019, to a 
sampled group of pharmacy providers.  

Invoices can be submitted via email, mail or fax. All submitted invoice data will 
remain strictly confidential. 

General questions about the survey process can be directed to the Myers and 
Stauffer Pharmacy Help Desk at 800-591-1183 or pharmacy@mslc.com. 

 

mailto:Kristina.Gould@state.co.us
mailto:pharmacy@mslc.com
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Pharmacies and All Medication-Prescribing 
Providers 

April Preferred Drug List (PDL) Announcement  
The following drug classes and preferred agents become effective April 1, 2019: 

Atypical Antipsychotics (oral) 

Aripiprazole Clozapine Latuda (2nd Line) Olanzapine 

Quetiapine Risperidone Ziprasidone   

CGRP Inhibitors 

Emgality 

Growth Hormones 

Genotropin Norditropin 

Insulins (Mixtures) 
Humalog 50/50 vial Humalog 75/25 vial Humulin 70/30 vial Novolog 70/30 vial/pen 

Insulins (Long-acting) 

first line- Lantus Levemir 

Insulins (Intermediate-acting) 

Humulin N vial 

Insulins (Rapid-acting) 

Novolog vial/pen 

Insulins (Short-acting) 

Humulin R vial Humulin R U-500 vial 

Intranasal Rhinitis Agents 

Azelastine Budesonide Fluticasone (generic Rx 
Flonase) 

Ipratropium 

Triamcinolone (generic 
Nasacort) 

Note: brand Nasonex and its generic mometasone will be non-preferred. 

Leukotriene Modifiers 

Montelukast tab/chewable 

Statins/Statin Combinations 

atorvastatin lovastatin pravastatin rosuvastatin 

simvastatin 

Bile Salts 

Ursodiol tablet and capsule 

Other Lipotropics 

Colestipol tab Cholestyramine Colesevelam tab Ezetimibe 

Fenofibrate tab Gemfibrozil Niacin ER Omega-3 (generic Lovaza) 

Multiple Sclerosis Agents 

Aubagio (2nd Line) Avonex Betaseron Copaxone 20mg 
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Gilenya (2nd Line) Tecfidera (2nd Line) 

Neurocognitive Disorder Agents 

Donepezil 5mg tab Donepezil 10mg tab Donepezil ODT 

Exelon patch Memantine tab 

Anti-Parkinson's Agents 

Amantadine cap/syrup Benztropine Carbidopa/Levodopa IR Carbidopa/Levodopa ER 

Pramipexole IR Ropinirole IR Selegeline cap Trihexyphenidyl 
tab/elixir 

Ophthalmic Allergy Agents 

Cromolyn Ketotifen Lastacaft 

olopatadine 0.1% (generic Patanol) Pazeo 

Ophthalmic Glaucoma Agents 

Alphagan P Azopt Brimonidine Combigan 

Dorzolamide Dorzolamide/Timolol Latanoprost Lumigan 

Timolol Travatan Z 

Sedative Hypnotics 

Eszopiclone Zaleplon Zolpidem IR Temazepam 15mg 

Temazepam 30mg Triazolam 

Topical Corticosteroids (Low Potency) 

Hydrocortisone cream/oint/lotion Derma-Smoothe oil Desonide 0.05% cream 

Topical Corticosteroids (Medium Potency) 

Betamethasone Dipropionate 0.05% 
cream/lotion 

Betamethasone Valerate 0.1% 
cream/oint 

Fluticasone 0.05% 
cream/oint 

Mometasone 0.1% cream/oint/solution Triamcinolone 0.025%, 0.1% cream/oint/lotion 

Topical Corticosteroids (High Potency) 

Betamethasone Dipropionate/Propylene Glycol 
0.05% cream 

Fluocinonide 0.05% 
gel/solution 

Triamcinolone 0.5% 
cream/oint 

Topical Corticosteroids (Very High Potency) 

Betamethasone Dipropionate/Propylene Glycol 
0.05% oint 

Clobetasol Propionate 0.05% cream/gel/oint/solution 

 

Drug Utilization Review Updates 
Recent Changes to Coverage of Prescription Topical Corticosteroids 

Effective April 1, 2019, topical corticosteroids are a new drug class on the Health First Colorado preferred 
drug list (PDL). The preferred and non-preferred topical corticosteroids listed on the PDL are grouped in four 
separate classes based on potency: Low Potency, Medium Potency, High Potency and Very High Potency. For 
all of the preferred products listed in these classes, no prior authorization is required. 

Based on clinical recommendations supporting use of the lowest effective potency of topical corticosteroid 
for the shortest duration that achieves efficacy for treatment, all medications listed in the “High Potency” 
and “Very High Potency" corticosteroid classes are subject to coverage limitations based on duration of use. 
Claims for “High Potency” corticosteroids will deny if exceeding a limitation of four weeks for 
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uninterrupted, continuous therapy; and claims for “Very High Potency” corticosteroids will deny if 
exceeding a limitation of two weeks for uninterrupted, continuous therapy. 

Coverage and prior authorization criteria for the topical corticosteroids are available for reference on the 
Pharmacy Resource web page.  

Pharmacy and Therapeutics Committee Meeting 

Tuesday, April 2, 2019 

1:00 - 5:00 p.m. MT 

303 E 17th Ave 

11th Floor Conference Rooms 11A, 11B, 11C 

The meeting agenda can be found on the Pharmacy and Therapeutics (P&T) 
Committee web page.  

 

Physician Services 

Changes to Sleep Study and Pulmonary Testing Procedure Codes 
Effective April 1, 2019, several procedures related to sleep studies and pulmonary testing will require that a 
physician, advanced practice nurse or physician’s assistant either perform or supervise the procedure. The 
supervising provider must appear on the claim as the rendering provider when the procedure is performed 
by a provider other than ones identified above. The supervision must be within the scope of practice of the 
provider in the State of Colorado. 

Contact Richard Delaney at Richard.Delaney@state.co.us for additional information. 

 

Place of Service (POS) 19 and 22 for Hospital-Based Clinics 
In January 2016, CMS updated the current POS code set by adding a new POS code 19 for “Off Campus-
Outpatient Hospital” and revised POS code 22 from “Outpatient Hospital” to “On Campus-Outpatient 
Hospital”. 

POS 19: Off Campus-Outpatient Hospital 

Descriptor: A portion of an off-campus hospital provider-based department which provides diagnostic, 
therapeutic (both surgical and nonsurgical) and rehabilitation services to sick or injured persons who do not 
require hospitalization or institutionalization. 

POS 22: On Campus-Outpatient Hospital 

Descriptor: A portion of a hospital’s main campus which provides diagnostic, therapeutic (both surgical and 
nonsurgical) and rehabilitation services to sick or injured persons who do not require hospitalization or 
institutionalization. 

Physicians and practitioners who perform services in a hospital outpatient place of service shall use, at a 
minimum, POS code 19 (Off Campus-Outpatient Hospital) or POS code 22 (On Campus-Outpatient Hospital). 

https://www.colorado.gov/hcpf/pharmacy-resources#PDL
https://www.colorado.gov/hcpf/pharmacy-and-therapeutics-committee
https://www.colorado.gov/hcpf/pharmacy-and-therapeutics-committee
mailto:richard.delaney@state.co.us
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Physicians shall continue to use POS code 11 (Office) when services are performed in a separately 
maintained physician office space in the hospital or on the hospital campus.  

Contact Richard Delaney at Richard.Delaney@state.co.us for additional information. 

 

Policy Update Requiring a Prior Authorization Request (PAR) for 
Back Surgery and Other Select Surgical Codes 

Effective April 1, 2019, back surgery and other select surgical codes require a PAR through the Department’s 
PAR vendor, eQHealth Solutions. Codes requiring a PAR will be noted on the Par’d Surgical Procedures web 
page of the ColoradoPAR website. The PAR can be requested utilizing the online 
PAR portal, eQSuite®.  

Visit the ColoradoPAR website for more information, including training 
opportunities for utilizing eQSuite, the specific codes requiring a PAR, and 
other provider resources.  

Contact the ColoradoPAR Program at co.pr@eqhs.org or 888-801-9355 with any 
questions regarding the prior authorization process.  

Contact Chris Lane at Christopher.Lane@state.co.us with any surgical policy 
questions.  

Contact HCPF_UM@state.co.us with any questions regarding the Utilization Management Program and PARs. 

 

Unlisted Surgical Code Pricing and Billing Bilateral Procedures 
Pricing for Unlisted Surgical Procedure Codes 

Providers are reminded that a solution has been implemented to correct the pricing for unlisted surgical 
procedure codes. Codes were priced at 50% of billed charges as an interim solution. Now that the solution is 
implemented for manually priced surgical services, all claims will be priced with the correct methodology. 
Providers are reminded to attach the Unlisted Surgical Procedure Code Form to each claim for processing via 
the Provider Web Portal, as detailed in the November 2018 Provider Bulletin (B1800423). 

Billing Bilateral Procedures 

Providers are reminded that effective May 1, 2018, the use of modifier 50 to report bilateral procedures was 
changed to reflect National Uniform Billing and Coding standards.  Previously, the Department required 
bilateral procedures be reported on two (2) lines, with modifier 50 added to the second line. Beginning May 
1, 2018, bilateral procedures should be reported on one (1) line by adding modifier 50 to the appropriate 
procedure code, using one unit of service. 

Reimbursement methodology for bilateral procedures, as well as other requirements in the Medical and 
Surgical Services Billing Manual, available on the Billing Manuals web page under the CMS 1500 drop-down 
section, will remain unchanged.  

Contact Christopher Lane at Christopher.Lane@state.co.us for additional information. 

mailto:Richard.Delaney@state.co.us
http://www.coloradopar.com/PardSurgicalProcedures.aspx
http://www.coloradopar.com/PardSurgicalProcedures.aspx
http://www.coloradopar.com/Home.aspx
http://www.coloradopar.com/Home.aspx
mailto:co.pr@eqhs.org
mailto:Christopher.Lane@state.co.us
mailto:HCPF_UM@state.co.us
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/sites/default/files/Unlisted%20Procedure%20Code%20Form.pdf
https://colorado-hcp-portal.xco.dcs-usps.com/hcp/provider/Home/tabid/135/Default.aspx
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/sites/default/files/Bulletin_1118_B1800423.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/sites/default/files/CMS1500_Medical_Surgical%20v1_7_0.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/sites/default/files/CMS1500_Medical_Surgical%20v1_7_0.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/hcpf/billing-manuals
mailto:Christopher.Lane@state.co.us
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Speech Therapy Providers 

Prior Authorization Required for Outpatient Speech Therapy 
Effective April 1, 2019, the outpatient speech therapy benefit will require prior authorization for CPT codes 
92507, 92508, 92526 and 92609.  

Claims submitted for dates of service on or after April 1, 2019, will be denied unless there is an approved 
Prior Authorization Request (PAR) on file for the services being billed. Evaluation services will not require a 
PAR.  

The Speech Therapy Billing Manual, available under the CMS 1500 drop-down section of the Billing Manuals 
web page, has been updated to reflect the new authorization requirements.  

A “Speech Therapy PAR Frequently Asked Questions” drop-down section has been added to the Outpatient 
Speech Therapy Benefit web page. This section addresses common concerns about the prior authorization 
process.    

The Department’s prior authorization vendor, eQHealth Solutions, will be reviewing the PARs via the online 
PAR portal, eQSuite®. For information about getting access to the PAR Portal and available training 
opportunities, visit the ColoradoPAR website. Contact hcpf_UM@hcpf.state.co.us with any additional 
questions about the PAR process 

Contact Alex Weichselbaum at Alex.Weichselbaum@state.co.us with any questions regarding policy. 

 

Provider Billing Training Sessions 

April and May 2019 Provider Billing Training Sessions 
Providers are invited to participate in training sessions for an overview of Health First Colorado billing 
instructions and procedures. The current and following months’ workshop calendars are shown below.  

Who Should Attend? 

Staff who submit claims, are new to billing Health First Colorado services, or 
need a billing refresher course should consider attending one or more of the 
following provider training sessions.  

The UB-04 and CMS 1500 training sessions provide high-level overviews of claim 
submission, prior authorizations, navigating the Department’s website, using 
the Provider Web Portal, and more. For a preview of the training materials 
used in these sessions, refer to the UB-04 Beginning Billing Workshop and CMS 
1500 Beginning Billing Workshop, available on the Provider Training web page 
under the Billing Training and Workshops drop-down section. 

Specialty training sessions provide more training for that particular provider specialty group. Providers are 
advised to attend a UB-04 or CMS 1500 training session prior to attending a specialty training. For a preview 
of the training materials used for specialty sessions, visit the Provider Training web page and open the 
Billing Training and Workshops drop-down section. 

For more training materials on navigating the Provider Web Portal, refer to the Provider Web Portal Quick 
Guides available on the Quick Guides and Webinars web page. 

https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/sites/default/files/CMS1500_Speech%20v1_8_0.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/hcpf/billing-manuals
https://www.colorado.gov/hcpf/billing-manuals
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/hcpf/outpatient-speech-therapy-benefit-0
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/hcpf/outpatient-speech-therapy-benefit-0
http://www.coloradopar.com/
mailto:hcpf_UM@hcpf.state.co.us
mailto:Alex.Weichselbaum@state.co.us
https://www.colorado.gov/hcpf/
https://colorado-hcp-portal.xco.dcs-usps.com/hcp/provider/Home/tabid/135/Default.aspx
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/sites/default/files/2018%20Institutional%20Beginning%20Billing%20Workshop%20UB-04%20vers%201.6.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/sites/default/files/2018%20CMS%20Beginning%20Billing%20011218%20Ver%201.7.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/sites/default/files/2018%20CMS%20Beginning%20Billing%20011218%20Ver%201.7.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/hcpf/provider-training
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/hcpf/provider-training
https://www.colorado.gov/hcpf/interchange-resources
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Note: Trainings may end prior to 11:30 a.m. MT. Time has been allotted for questions at the end of each 
session. 

April 2019 

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday 
31 1 2 3 4 5 6 

 
 
 
 

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday 
7 8 9 10 11 

CMS 1500 
Provider 
Workshop 

9:00 a.m. – 
11:30 a.m. 

MT 

12 13 
 

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday 
14 
 

15 16 17 18 
UB-04 

Provider 
Workshop 

9:00 a.m. – 
11:30 a.m. 

MT 

19 20 

May 2019 

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday 
5 6 7 8 9 

CMS 1500 
Provider 
Workshop 

9:00 a.m. – 
11:30 a.m. 

MT 

10 11 

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday 
12 13 14 15 16 

 
 
 
 

17 18 

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday 
19 20 21 22 23 

UB-04 
Provider 
Workshop 

9:00 a.m. – 
11:30 a.m. 

MT 

24 25 

https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/1097099696084800259
https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/1097099696084800259
https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/1097099696084800259
https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/8608271544236585731
https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/8608271544236585731
https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/8608271544236585731
https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/965357312843082507
https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/965357312843082507
https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/965357312843082507
https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/965357312843082507
https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/1609974591929143563
https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/1609974591929143563
https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/1609974591929143563
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Live Webinar Registration 

Register for a live webinar by clicking the title of the desired training session in the calendar above and 
completing the webinar registration form. An automated response will confirm the reservation. Do not 
register via these links if planning to attend a training session in person at the DXC office (see instructions 
below for RSVPing to attend in person).  

For questions or issues regarding webinar registration, email co.training@dxc.com with the subject line 
"Webinar Help." Include a description of the issue being experienced, name and contact information (email 
address and phone number), and the name and date of the webinar(s) to be attended. Allow up to 2-3 
business days to receive a response. 

In-Person Training Registration 

Providers who would like to attend a training session in person should RSVP to co.training@dxc.com by noon 
the day prior to the training, with the subject line "In-Person RSVP." Please include attendee name(s), 
organization, contact information (email address and phone number), and the name and date of the training 
session(s) to be attended. Allow up to 2-3 business days to receive a confirmation for in-person training 
reservations. Do not send an RSVP via email unless planning on attending in person. 

In-person training sessions will be held at the following address: 

DXC Technology Office 
Civic Center Plaza 

1560 Broadway Street, Suite 600 
Denver, CO 80202 

Parking and Transportation 

Free parking is not provided, and parking is limited in the downtown Denver area. Commercial parking lots 
are available throughout the downtown area. The daily rates range between $5 and $20. Carpooling and 
early arrival are recommended to secure parking. Whenever possible, public transportation is also 
recommended. Some forms of public transportation include the Light Rail and Free MallRide. 

 

Upcoming Holidays 

Holiday Closed Offices/Offices Open for Business 

Memorial Day – Monday,  
May 27, 2019 

State Offices, DentaQuest, DXC and the ColoradoPAR Program will be 
closed. The receipt of warrants and EFTs may potentially be delayed due 
to the processing at the United State Postal Service or providers’ 
individual banks. 

 

  

mailto:co.training@dxc.com
mailto:co.training@dxc.com
http://www.rtd-denver.com/LightRail_Map.shtml
http://www.rtd-denver.com/FREEMallRide.shtml
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DXC Contacts 
DXC Office 

Civic Center Plaza 
1560 Broadway Street, Suite 600 

Denver, CO 80202 

Provider Services Call Center 
1-844-235-2387 

DXC Mailing Address 
P.O. Box 30 

Denver, CO 80201 
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