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Did You Know?

A spreadsheet of provider types with associated
manuals can be found on the Billing Manuals web
page. This can be found at the top of the page as a
link titled “Which billing manual should | use based
on my provider type?”

All Providers

Deficit Reduction Act of 2005 (DRA)
due November 1, 2022

Section 6032 of the Deficit Reduction Act requires
providers who meet the definition of entity and who
make or receive annual Medicaid payments of $5
million or more to establish and disseminate certain
written policies for preventing and detecting fraud,
waste and abuse. The entities must also provide
information to employees and contractors about the
Federal False Claims Act and other applicable
federal and state false claims laws, the
administrative remedies for false claims and
statements, and the “whistleblower” protections
afforded under such laws.

Improve health care equity, access and outcomes for the people we serve
while saving Coloradans money on health care and driving value for Colorado.


http://colorado.gov/hcpf
https://hcpf.colorado.gov/billing-manuals
https://hcpf.colorado.gov/billing-manuals
https://www.cms.gov/Regulations-and-Guidance/Legislation/LegislativeUpdate/Downloads/DRA0307pdf
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Federal Fiscal Year 2022 (FFY2022) providers who are subject to Section 6032 must submit the
DRA Declaration FFY2022 form, a copy of the employee handbook or Code of Conduct
containing the written polices, the rights of employees to be protected as whistleblowers and
a copy of policies and procedures for detecting and preventing fraud, waste and abuse.

The completed DRA Declaration and all required documents listed above must be emailed to
hcpf_draact2005@state.co.us no later than November 1, 2022.

Contact Eileen Sandoval at hcpf_draact2005@state.co.us with questions related to the DRA.

Member Billing

Health First Colorado (Colorado’s Medicaid Program) members cannot be billed for services
covered by Health First Colorado.

Providers cannot bill members in the following circumstances:

e Third-Party Liability (TPL) co-pays and deductibles - Providers
cannot bill members for the difference between commercial
health insurance payments and the billed charges. The
provider also cannot bill members for co-pay or deductibles
assessed by the TPL (commercial insurance).

¢ Delayed Notification of Eligibility from the member - Providers must verify
eligibility within 365 days of the date of service. Providers must not solely rely on
the member to provide eligibility information but must verify through batch
submissions or the provider web portal.

e Claim denials - Timely filing, place of service invalid, contract invalid, no valid
prior authorization or other denials for the line item or the entire claim are not
valid reasons to bill the member.

e Provider is not enrolled with Health First Colorado - Once the services have been
rendered to the member, the provider must enroll with Health First Colorado in
order to receive payment. The provider may not bill the member if they choose to
not enroll.

Providers shall not send overdue Health First Colorado member accounts to collection
agencies unless the billing is for a non-covered service and the member has reneged on a
written payment agreement.

If providers treat members aged 20 and under and it is determined that a non-covered service
or item is medically necessary at that time for the member, a request may be submitted to
Health First Colorado to cover that service or item for that child/youth/young adult.

Visit the Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic and Treatment (EPSDT) web page,
Exceptions, Forms and Processes section for more information, or contact the utilization
management vendor for more information.
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Visit the Policy Statement: Billing Health First Colorado Members for Services web page for
more information.

New Provider Participation Agreement (PPA) Will Go into Effect on
December 1, 2022

The Provider Participation Agreement (PPA) exists to define the Department of Health Care
Policy & Financing’s (the Department) expectations and outlines some of the state and
federal requirements applicable to providers who perform services and submit billing,
transactions, and/or data to the Colorado Medical Assistance Program.

The Department has updated the PPA to comply with changing state and

federal requirements, and to clarify the Department’s expectations of how
— providers should comply with those requirements. These revisions will go
— into effect for all currently enrolled and future providers on December 1,
2022.

No action on the provider’s part is required for the revised PPA to go into
effect. It is the provider’s responsibility to review and assess the implications of any
modifications to the PPA. Submission of a claim for reimbursement, continuing to provide
covered services to members, or continued enrollment as a provider in the program
constitutes acceptance of any modifications of the PPA.

The revised PPA can be found on the Provider Forms web page under "Provider Enrollment &
Update Forms".

Updates to the Addresses Panel during Revalidation

Providers currently cannot update service location information in the Addresses panel on a
revalidation application in the Provider Web Portal.

Providers will soon be able to edit all information in the Addresses panel for the service
location address during revalidation in the Web Portal. When a revalidation application is
approved, providers will be able to view the updated service address information in the
provider’s record.

Visit the Revalidation - Provider Web Portal Quick Guide for more information.

Contact the Provider Services Call Center with questions on these changes.
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All Providers who Submit Prior Authorization Request
(PARs) ColoradoPAR

General Updates
Requesting Modifications to Existing PARs

It is not necessary to create a “New” case in the PAR portal (Atrezzo®) to request a Revision
to an existing PAR. Use the “Action” drop-down on the previously approved case and then
select “Request Authorization Revision” to request a modification to the existing PAR.

Contact Kepro Customer Service at 720-689-6340 or send email to coproviderissue@kepro.com
with questions about submitting modifications to existing PARs.

Kepro Atrezzo® System Training

Kepro is holding monthly Atrezzo® system training sessions. The next
sessions will be held on October 26, 2022, at 8:30 a.m. and 12:00 p.m. @
Announcements with sign up information will be sent.

O 0O
Ensure the correct email address is used when registering to receive the 00A
registration invite, which will contain links to join the event or to
cancel registration. Email coproviderregistration@kepro.com with
questions regarding training.

Upcoming changes: Questionnaires for Medical and Diagnostic Imaging PARs

The utilization management vendor, Kepro, will be adding additional required questionnaires
to Physician Services and Diagnostic Imaging PARs to assist providers with submitting all
required information, thereby decreasing pends for additional information. These changes will
occur during the month of October, and the questionnaires will become a required part of
submitting PARs for medical and imaging services. Contact Kepro at
coproviderissue@kepro.com with questions about submitting PARs or filling out
questionnaires.

Therapy (PT/OT/ST) Providers

Outpatient Therapy Prior Authorization Requests (PARs)

When requesting services for 12 months, the Billing Manual states: The therapist's plan of
care must be reviewed, revised if necessary, and signed, as medically necessary by the
member's physician, or other licensed practitioner of the healing arts within the
practitioner’s scope of practice under state law at least once every 90 days. The care plan
may not cover more than a 90-day period, or the time frame documented in the approved
IFSP. However, 12-month PARs are reviewed for medical necessity, and the Plan of Care
or Order must align with the request. In addition, it is not required to make a 12-month
request.

Contact Kepro Customer Service at 720-689-6340 or email coproviderissue@kepro.com with
questions about submitting PARs for therapy services.
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Behavioral Health Providers

Peer Provider Forum

The Behavioral Health Administration (BHA) and the Department are extending an invitation
to a provider forum for organizations pursuing licensure as a Recovery
Support Services Organization (RSSO) as well as any other entities

currently providing peer services on October 19, 2022 (see invitation
E below). This forum was created to provide state level support for
providers related to BHA licensing, Medicaid enrollment, billing and

coding, and other topics. This is to ensure providers have the needed
knowledge, communication pathways, and resources to serve well as
opportunities for peer support professionals to support Coloradans are
expanded. Contact hcpf_peerservices@state.co.us with questions about peer services.

Peer Services Provider Forum
When: Wednesday Oct 19, 2022, 2:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m. (MT - Denver)

Register in advance for this meeting

A confirmation email containing information for joining the meeting will be received after
registration.

Durable Medical Equipment, Prosthetics, Orthotics and
Supplies (DMEPOQOS) Providers

Bed Rail Policy Update

Bed rails will only be approved for hospital beds for member safety and to reduce the risk of
negative outcomes. Bed rails must also be from the same manufacturer as the bed on which
they will be installed. This update will be published in the DMEPOS Billing Manual.

Contact Haylee Rodgers at Haylee.Rodgers@state.co.us with questions.

Family Planning Providers

Family Planning Expansion Benefits

Effective July 1, 2022, Health First Colorado covers family planning services for eligible non-
citizens and family planning and related services for individuals within the 133%-260% federal
poverty level (FPL) income bracket.
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FP and 32 Modifiers

Providers must use the FP and 32 modifiers for family planning-related services on the claim.
Family planning-related services are services provided pursuant to a family planning visit and
do not require a prior authorization or co-pay. Reference the Family Planning Benefit
Expansion for Special Populations Billing Manual for more information on what is considered a
family planning-related service.

Pharmacy Claim Billing

Effective November 1, 2022, Health First Colorado will implement

a list of family planning-related drugs that will be covered by the

family planning benefit and not require prior authorization. If the —
medication is not on the list, the provider will have to submit a —
prior authorization request (PAR) and confirm that the drug was p—
prescribed in relation to a family planning visit. This change will

reduce incorrectly paid claims to ensure program integrity without

inhibiting access to care.

Federally Qualified Health Centers (FQHCs) and Rural Health Centers (RHCs)

Federally Qualified Health Centers (FQHCs) and Rural Health Centers (RHCs) are instructed to
follow common billing practices when submitting a claim for members on the Family Planning
Benefit Plan and EMS Benefit Plans. Family planning and family planning-related services
should have the appropriate modifiers (FP or FP+32), and additional services provided at the
visit should be added to the cost report. Concerns regarding denied claims or incorrect
information should be sent to hcpf_maternalchildhealth@state.co.us.ok.

Learn more and stay engaged with new Family Planning benefits:

e Providers can learn more about program information and updates by joining the
monthly Provider Question & Answer sessions:

Wednesday, October 5, 2022, at 11:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.
Video call link: https://meet.google.com/pgm-ygdi-bds
Or dial: (US) +1 413-398-2446 PIN: 404 148 895#

Providers and stakeholders can sign up for a monthly newsletter.

All questions and feedback can be sent to hcpf_maternalchildhealth@state.co.us.
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Home and Community Based Services (HCBS)

HCBS-IDD Providers Requiring Program Approval: Additional
Enrollment Information Required

Effective October 1, 2022, Home and Community Based Services (HCBS) providers enrolling in
specialties that require program approval in order to become a Program Approved Service
Agency (PASA) must attach their approved PASA applications from the Department of Public
Health and Environment to their enrollment applications. New enrollment applications will be
returned to providers and change applications will be denied if PASA applications are missing
from enrollment applications.

Contact the Provider Services Call Center with any questions.

Hospital Providers

Co-Pay Rate Update

Effective July 1, 2022, the co-pay amount for non-emergency services rendered in an
outpatient emergency department has changed from $6 to $8.

Providers are reminded that to collect this copayment they must:

o Determine that the medical condition does not meet
the threshold for emergency care services, as defined
at 10 C.C.R. 2505-10, Section 8.300.1.1

e Inform the member that the condition does not
require emergency care services .

e Inform the member of the amount of their cost
sharing obligation for non-emergency services provided in the emergency room

e Provide the member with the name and location of an available and accessible
alternative non-emergency services provider

o Determine that the alternative provider can offer services to the member in a timely
manner with the imposition of a lesser cost sharing amount or no cost sharing if the
member is otherwise exempt from cost sharing

e Provide a referral to coordinate scheduling for treatment by the alternative provider.

Refer to 10 C.C.R. 2505-10, Section 8.754.2 for more information.
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General Updates
All Hospital Providers

Inpatient Hospital Base Rate Methodology Draft

Hospital stakeholders are strongly encouraged to review the DRAFT Inpatient Hospital Base
Rate Model that was uploaded to the Inpatient Hospital Payment web page in August.
Hospitals are also encouraged to check the Inpatient Hospital Payment web page in the event
a new model is deposited based on resulting feedback prior to the new October and regularly
scheduled November Hospital Engagement Meetings. Hospital stakeholders will be notified
through the newsletter of any new models that are deposited. Use the link under the Hospital
Stakeholder Engagement Meetings section below to sign up if not already subscribed.

Contact Diana Lambe, Andrew Abalos, and Kevin Martin with any input or questions on the
model.

Hospital Stakeholder Engagement Meetings_

Bi-monthly Hospital Engagement meetings will continue to be hosted to discuss current issues
regarding payment reform and operational processing. Sign up to receive the Hospital
Stakeholder Engagement Meeting newsletters.

e An additional All-Hospital Engagement meeting is scheduled for Friday, October 7,
2022, from 9:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. MT and will be hosted virtually. This meeting is
specifically designed to receive feedback from hospital stakeholders on the new
Inpatient Base Rate Model due to be instituted on July 1, 2023.

Visit the Hospital Engagement Meeting web page for more details,
meeting schedules and past meeting materials. Calendar Year 2022
meetings have been posted.

Contact Tyler Samora at Tyler.Samora@state.co.us with any questions or
topics to be discussed at future meetings. Advanced notice will provide
the Rates team time to bring additional Department personnel to the
meetings to address different concerns.

Outpatient Hospitals

Transition to Enhanced Ambulatory Patient Grouping (EAPG) version 3.16

On July 6, 2022, approval was received from Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS)
to implement version 3.16 of the EAPG methodology, effective January 1, 2022. As of July 28,
2022, the new methodology and the associated hospital base rates were implemented into
interChange, with claim adjustments beginning soon after. The adjustments are expected to
continue through October.

Visit the Outpatient Hospital Payment web page for information relating to the outpatient
hospital base rates and EAPG weights
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Line Level Denials for National Correct Coding Initiative (NCCI) and National Drug Code

(NDC)

As discussed in the September Hospital Engagement meeting, most claims processing through
EAPG version 3.16 are paying as expected. However, there are a few trends in payment
discrepancies that are coming from line level denials relating to NCCl or NDC errors. Visit the
Centers for Medicaid & Medicare Services website or refer to the Department’s monthly
provider bulletins to view any updates related to NCCI edits.

COVID-19 Vaccination Status Denials

In the August and September Hospital Engagement Meetings, the Department discussed
outpatient hospital claims that were incorrectly denying due to the inclusion of COVID-19
vaccination status diagnosis codes that were effective April 1, 2022. COVID-19 vaccination
status diagnosis codes are no longer causing denials to outpatient hospital claims with the
implementation of version 3.16. Consistent with the discussion on these denials in the August
Hospital Engagement Meeting, the Department will not resubmit any claims that did not pay
due to this error. Providers are expected to resubmit claims for which payment is expected.
Contact Tyler Samora and Andrew Abalos if any help is needed in identifying claims that
denied for this reason.

Billing Manual Updates

The Inpatient/Outpatient Billing Manual will have language added which
describes processes for coding multiple drugs with the same Healthcare
Common Procedure Coding System (HCPCS) and multiple National Drug
Codes (NDCs), as well as clarification around payment policies for
observation stays through the Enhanced Ambulatory Patient Grouping
(EAPG) methodology. Review the updates to the Billing Manual and
contact Tyler Samora and Andrew Abalos with any questions.

Rural Health Clinics

Bi-monthly Rural Health Clinic Engagement meetings will continue to be hosted to discuss
current issues regarding payment reform and operational processing.

e The next Rural Health Clinic Engagement meeting is scheduled for Thursday,
November 3, 2022, from 12:30 p.m. to 1:30 p.m. and will be hosted virtually. The
meetings are now held on Zoom.

Visit the Rural Health Clinic Engagement Meeting web page for more details, meeting
schedules and past meeting materials.

Contact Andrew Abalos at Andrew.Abalos@state.co.us with any questions or topics to be
discussed at future meetings. Advanced notice will provide the Rates team time to bring
additional Department personnel to the meetings to address different concerns.
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Substance Use Disorder - Opiate Antagonist
Effective July 8, 2022, HB 22-1326 Section 50 was implemented, which stipulates that a

Hospital and Emergency Department Providers

hospital or an emergency department shall receive reimbursement for the cost of an opiate
antagonist when dispensed upon discharge to a Health First Colorado member.

Providers must bill for the service provided and must include the National Drug Code (NDC) of
the opiate antagonist dispensed to the member. The table below provides guidance for the
covered services.

HCPCS Billing Units Effective
HCPCS | NDC (Per package Rate D End Date
. ate
dispensed)
G1028 | 59467067901 | 1 $125.00 07/08/2022 12/31/2999
00093216568 | 1 $116.50 07/08/2022 12/31/2999
G2215 00781717612 | 1 $116.50 07/08/2022 12/31/2999
45802081184 | 1 $116.50 07/08/2022 12/31/2999
69547035302 | 1 $116.50 07/08/2022 12/31/2999

Contact Tyler Samora at Tyler.Samora@state.co.us with questions.

Hospitals, Freestanding Birth Centers, Physician Services,
Clinics, Hospitals, Women's Services

The Department accepts and processes emergent requests from
medical providers for newborns that need intensive medical care for:

The Emergent Add-A-Baby Request Process

The Add-A-Baby process was implemented to offer medical providers an alternative way to
add a needy newborn(s) to an eligible mother’s medical assistance case only if the need is for
intensive medical care. Mothers must be eligible for medical assistance at the time of the
baby’s birth for an emergent request.

e Border

e Synagis

¢ Neonatal Intensive Care Unit (NICU)

Emergent requests can be submitted only through the Health First Colorado Add-A-Baby
Emergent Request Form. This link is for medical providers only. Requests submitted by non-

medical providers or by the parent will not be processed.
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PLEASE NOTE: Do not fax the outdated Medicaid Add-A-Baby Request Form, as it is
outdated and will not be processed.

Helpful Tips for Providers:

e Before submitting a request, verify with the parent(s) that they have not submitted
newborn information to the county or through PEAK® or the Health First Colorado App
to add the baby.

e Let the parent(s) know a request has been submitted to add the newborn and not to
add the newborn again through the county, PEAK® or the Health First Colorado App.

e If arequest has already been submitted by the parent to the county or through PEAK®
or the Health First Colorado App, do not submit another emergent request. Submitting
another request will cause a delay in approval of benefits and a delay of provider
payments.

e Make sure to review the request form for accuracy before submitting the request.

e Do not use this form to get a member ID for the newborn. Providers can get the
member ID through the Provider Web Portal.

e Providers can verify a newborn’s eligibility through the Provider Web Portal. Providers
can search with two of the following: name, Social Security Number (SSN) or date of
birth (DOB). This information can be found on the Eligibility verification section in the
Provider Web Portal (see Verifying Member Eligibility Quick Guide).

Non-Emergent Requests

It is requested that providers work directly with the parent’s county department of human
services or Medical Assistance (MA) Sites when a request is needed to add non-emergent
newborns for mothers eligible for Medical Assistance. Parents can also contact their county
department of human services or can add the newborn through PEAK® or the Health First

Colorado App.

Email hcpf_add-a-baby@state.co.us for more information on how to submit an Emergent Add-
A-Baby Request.

Pediatric Behavioral Therapy Providers

Electronic Visit Verification (EVV) Update

Electronic Visit Verification (EVV) is an electronic system that verifies
~ Home & Community-Based Services (HCBS) visits by documenting six
F &) points of data, including the type, date and location of service; the

é — individuals receiving and providing the service; and the time service
— begins and ends. On August 3, 2020, EVV became mandated by Colorado
Code of Regulation 2505-10 8.001, and on February 1, 2022, the EVV pre-
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payment claim edit was activated, further described in Operational Memo 21-075.

Pediatric Behavioral Therapies (PBT) - Telehealth Requires EVV

Effective October 1, 2022, PBT services performed by Telehealth/Telemedicine in the
following places of service will require EVV prior to claims processing. If EVV is incomplete or
not present, the claim will not pay.

e (02 - Telehealth Provided Other than in Patient’s Home
e 10 - Telehealth Provided in Patient’s Home

PBT providers are not eligible for the Live-In Caregiver EVV Exemption, and claims billed using
the CMS 1500 billing methodology, Place of Service (POS) 99, requires EVV.

Providers are responsible to ensure that the member’s location is correctly captured when
services are rendered by Telehealth/Telemedicine. Guidance on Telehealth/Telemedicine,
Alternate Location, and Methodology can be found in the EVV Program Manual.

Many EVV technologies automatically record the location of the caregiver providing services
through Telemedicine/Telehealth. The location in the EVV record must indicate the location
of the member receiving services through Telemedicine/Telehealth. Provider Agencies may

utilize the Alternate Location methodology as needed.

Newly enrolled PBT providers are not automatically enrolled in the EVV Program and are
responsible to submit the EVV Attestation form for EVV enrollment. In addition, a 30-day
grace period is given from the EVV requirement after enrollment to complete EVV setup.

Additional Information

The EVV Program Manual is updated regularly. EVV stakeholder meetings
are held monthly; more information on these meetings can be found on
the EVV stakeholder workgroup webpage. Visit the Electronic Visit
Verification web page for information about EVV.

Contact the Provider Services Call Center with questions regarding
billing.

Contact Sandata Technologies by phone at 855-871-8780, or email
cocustomercare@sandata.com with questions regarding the State EVV Solution or connecting
a Provider Choice EVV System.

Contact the Department’s EVV team at evv@state.co.us with all other EVV policy-related
questions.
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Pharmacies and AUl Medication-Prescribing Providers

Brand Name Medication Favored Over Equivalent Generic

Certain brand name products are managed by favoring them over the
generic equivalent non-preferred medications. Brand name required
(BNR) medications are listed on the Brand Favored Product List,
accessible from the Pharmacy Resources web page.

Pharmacies may contact Magellan Rx Management Pharmacy Call Center
at 1-800-424-5725 for assistance, if needed, available 24 hours a day, 7
days a week.

Brand Suboxone Film remains favored over generic buprenorphine-naloxone film and does
not require a Prior Authorization. Refer to the Appendix P, BUPRENORPHINE CONTAINING
PRODUCTS section, for more details.

Family Planning for Expanded Eligibility Population and Pharmacy
Claims

Effective July 1, 2022, members within the expanded income eligibility category (with an
income up to 260% of the federal poverty level [FPL]) were eligible to receive family planning
and family planning-related medications at a $0 co-pay.

REMINDER:

e Members within this eligibility category are eligible to only receive family planning
and family planning-related services. If the medication has been determined to be
family planning or family planning-related, it should be documented in the
prescription record.

e If a medication is denying and is not a family planning or family planning-related
medication, it is not a covered service for this population and providers should not be
entering “6-Family Plan” code on the claim.

Contact Korri Conilogue at Korri.Conilogue®@state.co.us with any questions.

Preferred Drug List (PDL) Announcement of Preferred Products

The full listing of preferred drugs are published on the PDL, available from the Health First
Colorado Pharmacy Resources web page.

Changes were made for the following PDL classes, effective October 1, 2022:

PDL class Moved to Preferred Moved to non-preferred
Contraceptives, Oral - Ethinyl Estradiol/Drospirenone
Extended Cycle tablet
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PDL class Moved to Preferred Moved to non-preferred
Camrese 0.15-0.03-0.01 mg
tablet
Contraceptives, Oral - Low | Kalliga 28-day tablet Tarina FE 1-20 tablet
Dose Monophasic
Glucagon, self- Bagsimi Spray Gvoke Syringe and Pen
administered Zegalogue Autoinjector Glucagon 1 mg emergency
kit (Amphastar)
Diabetes Management Jentadueto tablet
Classes, Non-Insulins - Jentadueto XR tablet

DPP-4 Inhibitors and
Combinations
Prenatal Vitamins/Minerals | Taron-C DHA Capsule

No changes were made for the following PDL classes:
e Androgenic Agents - Topical, Injectable, Oral
e Anti-Hyperuricemics
e Bone Resorption Suppression and Related Agents
e Benign Prostatic Hyperplasia (BPH) Agents
e Contraceptives, Oral - Biphasic
e Contraceptives, Oral - Continuous
e Contraceptives, Oral - High Dose Monophasic
e Contraceptives, Oral - Progestin
e Contraceptives, Oral - Tri Four-Phasic
o Contraceptives, Topical
e Diabetes Management Classes, Insulins:
a) Rapid-Acting
b) Intermediate-Acting
c) Long-Acting
d) Mixtures
¢ Diabetes Management Classes, Non-Insulins:
a) Amylin
b) Biguanides
c) GLP-1 Analogues
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d) Other Hypoglycemic Combinations
e) Meglitinides & Combinations
f) SGLT-2 Inhibitors & Combinations
g) TZDs and Combinations

o Estrogen Agents, Parenteral

o Estrogen Agents, Oral/Transdermal

e Growth Hormones

e Phosphate Binders

e Overactive Bladder Agents

Pharmacy and Therapeutics (P8T) Committee Meeting
Tuesday, October 4, 2022

1:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. (to be held virtually, not in person)

Agenda and meeting information can be found at the Pharmacy & Therapeutics (P&T) web
page.

Pharmacy and Therapeutics (P&T) Committee Member Openings

There are three open positions for the P&T Committee members.

Submissions are being accepted for the following positions: 000

e One physician who specializes in the practice of psychiatry @@%

e One specialty physician

e One member representative

If interested in serving, or know someone who may be interested, submit a CV along with a
completed Conflict of Interest form to:

Colorado Department of Health Care Policy and Financing
Attn: Brittany Schock, PDL pharmacist
Fax to 303-866-3590 or email Brittany.Schock@state.co.us
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Use of Emergency Supply to Allow for Prior Authorization

Prior authorization (PA) requests can be made by a phone call, fax or in real time (ePA) via an
electronic health record (EHR). They are processed within 24 hours of receipt unless
additional information is needed from the provider to render a decision.

If a member needs a PA, a three (3)-day emergency supply is allowed in most cases.
Pharmacies may contact the Magellan Rx Management Pharmacy Call Center via phone at 1-
800-424-5725 (available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week) to request a 3-day override for
emergency situations while a PA is being processed.

Visit the Pharmacy Resources page - Appendix P for more information.

Pharmacy Providers

Total Annual Prescription Volume (TAPV) Reminder

Myers and Stauffer is the contracted vendor responsible for conducting the TAPV survey for
pharmacy providers on behalf of the Department. The prescription volume information
submitted by most pharmacy types will be used to determine their dispensing fee for the 2023
calendar year.

¢ Pharmacies which meet the regulatory definition of a government or rural
pharmacy will have their dispensing fee determined by their pharmacy type and
will not be included in the TAPV surveying process as defined in 10 CCR 2505-10,
Sections 8.800.1 and 8.800.13.

e COVID-19 vaccinations may be excluded from the TAPV count, per guidance
received from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS). This
exclusion will be granted for the September 1, 2021, through August 31, 2022,
reporting volume timeframe only.

Myers and Stauffer will distribute the surveys to pharmacy providers starting October 1, 2022.
Completed surveys must be returned to Myers and Stauffer by October 31, 2022. Survey
materials and submission form templates will be available on the Myers and Stauffer website
on or before October 1, 2022.

Pharmacy providers (other than government or rural pharmacies) which do not participate in
the prescription volume survey will be placed in the lowest dispensing fee tier of $9.31.
Below are the current dispensing fee tiers:

Total Annual Prescription Volume Dispensing Fee
0 - 59,999 TAPV $13.40
60,000 - 89,999 TAPV $11.49
H9o,ooo - 109,999 TAPV $10.25
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Total Annual Prescription Volume Dispensing Fee
110,000+ TAPV $9.31

Rural Pharmacy $14.14
“Government Pharmacy $0.00

Surveys can be completed online by visiting the Myers and Stauffer website and clicking the
%2022 Colorado TAPV Survey” link located under the Total Annual Prescription Volume Survey
section.

e Website URL: https://myersandstauffer.com/client-portal/colorado/

Contact Myers and Stauffer at pharmacy@mslc.com with questions about the survey or for
alternative submission methods.

If a survey request is not received and the location does not qualify as a rural or government
pharmacy, contact the Myers and Stauffer Pharmacy Help Desk at 800-591-1183 or at
pharmacy@mslc.com to request a survey form.

REMINDER: Providers must ensure that the address, contact person, telephone number
and email address of a provider’s location (where goods and services are rendered) is up
to date in the Department’s enrollment system pursuant to 10 CCR 2505, Section
8.130.1.C.

e Provider enrollment assistance is available by contacting the Provider Services Call
Center.

Contact Kristina Gould at Kristina.Gould@state.co.us with questions related to this guidance.

Physician-Administered Drugs (PAD) Providers

Prior Authorization Update

Effective October 1, 2022, a select number of additional physician-administered drugs (PADs),
listed below, will be subject to prior authorization (PA) requirements. These codes are in
addition to the PADs that have required PA since January 18, 2022.

Provides should ensure that any Health First Colorado member due to receive any of the
following PADs have an approved PA on file prior to administration.

All PAD PA procedures, clinical criteria, and additional PADs subject to PA can be found on
Appendix Y: Physician Administered Drug Medical Benefit Prior Authorization Procedures and
Criteria, accessible via the PAD Resources webpage.

Page 17


https://urldefense.proofpoint.com/v2/url?u=https-3A__myersandstauffer.com_client-2Dportal_colorado_&d=DwMGaQ&c=sdnEM9SRGFuMt5z5w3AhsPNahmNicq64TgF1JwNR0cs&r=iELSxwwabwpuXP14Sy6gnDUMWhu4OQ1vwISSWpvL738&m=Eq1HivZbLBSaYIV9Ki7t1bugDxB9yOcg2lHzXSwGfch59d0eV9Q_QCuWqb0yJXN3&s=U_YNzc_fzgiY_46bvfN4nbsHgcI3_0e67TdZCrZecyI&e=
mailto:pharmacy@mslc.com
mailto:pharmacy@mslc.com
https://www.sos.state.co.us/CCR/NumericalCCRDocList.do?deptID=7&agencyID=69
https://hcpf.colorado.gov/provider-help
https://hcpf.colorado.gov/provider-help
mailto:Kristina.Gould@state.co.us
https://hcpf.colorado.gov/physician-administered-drugs
https://hcpf.colorado.gov/physician-administered-drugs

B2200483

October 2022

Additional information regarding PAD PA requirements can be found via ColoradoPAR: Health
First Colorado Prior Authorization Request Program and the Physician Administered Drug

Provider Resources web page.

All other PAD questions can be directed to HCPF_PAD@state.co.us.

Drug Class HCPCS Drug Name
JO178 Eylea (aflibercept)
J0490 Benlysta (belimumab)
Lupus Agents
J0491 Saphnelo (anifrolumab)
Multiple Sclerosis J0202 Lemtrada (alemtuzumab)
Agent
Pompe Disease J2796 | Nplate (romiplostim)
Agents P P
J0221 Lumizyme (alglucosidase alfa)
Pompe Disease : -
Aeents J0219 Nexviazyme (avalglucosidase)
J3241 Tepezza (teprotumumab)
J1303 Ultopmiris (ravulizumab)
J3032 Vyepti (eptinezumab)

Quarter 4 Rate Update 2022

The Physician Administered Drugs (PAD) rates for the fourth quarter of 2022 have been
updated. The new rates are effective October 1, 2022, and are posted to the Provider Rates &
Fee Schedule web page under the Physician Administered Drug Fee Schedule section.

Contact Tyler Collinson at Tyler.Collinson@state.co.us with any questions about PAD rates.

Physician Services, COVID Vaccine Providers

COVID-19 Bivalent Booster Vaccines

Effective August 31, 2022, bivalent boosters of the COVID-19 vaccine are a covered benefit.
The following Common Procedure Terminology (CPT) COVID-19 vaccine booster codes are now
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available: 91312, 91313, 0124A and 0134A. Claims with a date of service of August 31, 2022,
or later will be reprocessed.

Effective September 12, 2022, monovalent COVID-19 vaccine boosters are no longer a covered
benefit. The following CPT codes will close, and claims with dates of service of September
12, 2022, or later will deny: 0004A, 0034A, 0054A, 0064A and 0094A.

Contact Christina Winship at Christina.Winship@state.co.us with any questions.

Physician Services

Global Surgery Modifier Update

The use of modifier -FT to report unrelated critical care services (CPTs 99291, 99292) during a
global surgical period will be recognized for dates of service beginning October 1, 2022.

Refer to the Medical/Surgical Billing Manual for additional details.

Contact Chris Lane at Christopher.Lane@state.co.us with any questions.

Provider Billing Training Sessions

October and November 2022 Provider Billing Webinar-Only
Training Sessions
Providers are invited to participate in training sessions for an overview of Health First

Colorado billing instructions and procedures. The current and following months’ workshop
calendars are shown below.

Who Should Attend?

Staff who submit claims, are new to billing Health First Colorado services, or need a billing
refresher course should consider attending one or more of the following provider training
sessions.

The institutional claims (UB-04) and professional claims (CMS 1500)
o | : training sessions provide high-level overviews of claim submission, prior
“_’ authorizations, navigating the Department’s website, using the Provider
® ol Web Portal and more. For a preview of the training materials used in
' ' these sessions, refer to the Beginning Billing Training: Professional
Claims (CMS 1500) and Beginning Billing Training: Institutional Claims
(UB-04) available on the Provider Training web page under the Billing
Training - Resources drop-down section.

For more training materials on navigating the Provider Web Portal, refer to the Provider Web
Portal Quick Guides available on the Quick Guides web page.
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Note: Trainings may end prior to 11:30 a.m. MT. Time has been allotted for questions at the

end of each session.

October 2022

Sunday

Monday

Tuesday

Wednesday

Thursday

Friday

Saturday

1

10

11

12

13
Beginner
Billing
Training:

Professional

Claims (CMS

1500)
9:00 a.m. -

11:30 a.m.
MT

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27
Beginner
Billing
Training:

Institutional

Claims (UB-
04)
9:00 a.m. -
11:30 a.m.
MT

28

29

30

31
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November 2022

Sunday

Monday

Tuesday

Wednesday

Thursday

Friday

Saturday

1

2

3

5

10

Beginner
Billing
Training:
Professiona
| Claims
(CMS 1500)
9:00 a.m. -
11:30 a.m.
MT

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

Beginner
Billing
Training:
Institutiona
| Claims
(UB-04)
9:00 a.m. -
11:30 a.m.
MT

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

Live Webinar Registration

Register for a live webinar by clicking the title of the desired training session in the calendar
above and completing the webinar registration form. An automated response will confirm the
reservation. For questions or issues regarding webinar registration, email
co.training@gainwelltechnologies.com with the subject line “Webinar Help.” Include a

description of the issue being experienced, name and contact information (email address and
phone number), and the name and date of the webinar(s) to be attended. Allow up to 2-3

business days to receive a response.
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Frances Xavier
Cabrini Day, Monday,
October 3

Upcoming Holidays

State Offices and the ColoradoPAR Program will be closed.
Capitation cycles may potentially be delayed. The receipt of
warrants and EFTs may potentially be delayed due to the
processing at the United State Postal Service or providers’
individual banks. Gainwell Technologies and DentaQuest will be
open.

Veterans Day, Friday,
November 11

State Offices and the ColoradoPAR Program will be closed.
Capitation cycles may potentially be delayed. The receipt of
warrants and EFTs may potentially be delayed due to the
processing at the United State Postal Service or providers’
individual banks. Gainwell Technologies and DentaQuest will be
open.

Thanksgiving Day,
Thursday, November 24

State Offices, Gainwell Technologies, DentaQuest and the
ColoradoPAR Program will be closed. Capitation cycles may
potentially be delayed. The receipt of warrants and EFTs may
potentially be delayed due to the processing at the United
State Postal Service or providers’ individual banks.

Day After Thanksgiving,
Friday, November 25

State Offices and the ColoradoPAR Program will be closed.
Capitation cycles may potentially be delayed. The receipt of
warrants and EFTs may potentially be delayed due to the
processing at the United State Postal Service or providers’
individual banks. Gainwell Technologies and DentaQuest will be
open.

Gainwell Technologies Contacts

Provider Services Call Center

1-844-235-2387

Gainwell Technologies Mailing Address

P.O. Box 30
Denver, CO 80201
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